Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
"Hot Topics" / Controversial Topics / Pro-Con Arguments
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Original, in-depth reporting and analysis on news and social issues.
Browse by Topic or Report type (e.g. by pro/con viewpoints covered, or by publication date)
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC) This link opens in a new window
Covers current events and social issues, including different viewpoints, scholarly articles, statistics, news, images, videos, etc.
Browse by topic or use Advanced Search option to find specific types of sources.
Website presenting pro and con arguments to debatable issues in a straightforward, nonpartisan, freely accessible way
Current Events, News, & Statistics
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Search current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Graphs, charts, statistics from media, politics, and business surveys, polls, or studies, include some examples of infographics
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
International Current Events & Cultures
A to Z World Culture This link opens in a new window
Provides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
Factiva.com This link opens in a new window Full-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources.
Ask a Librarian
CALL 936-294-1614 or