Access World NewsSearch current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
Austin American Statesman, 1989-presentThe major newspaper for Austin, the capital city of Texas. Provides thorough coverage of international, national and local news, with focus on issues affecting Austin and the Central Texas region. Also covers Texas-Mexico border issues, local news from Travis and Williamson counties, and local events and business.
Dallas Morning News, 1984-presentA leading source of news for northeastern Texas and parts of southern Oklahoma, known for its extensive coverage of news in the Dallas-Ft. Worth area, as well as issues and events affecting the entire state, reporting of national issues and coverage of late-breaking news from around the world.
Factiva.comFull-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources.
Newsbank / ReadexThe Newsbank portal provides access to a large number of current and historical newspapers, as well as several other collections of historical documents.
Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus provides a full-text digital collection of the world's major news content. It includes millions of articles from newspapers, newswires and news magazines. In addition, it offers television and radio transcripts and ongoing daily updates from popular news sources.
You must register for an account using your SHSU (.edu) email address
Step 1: Navigate to AccessNYT.com
Step 2: Search for and select "Sam Houston State University"
You will be redirected to the NYT registration page.
Step 3: Click "Create Account" and complete fields; use your @shsu.edu email address
Step 4: Verify your account (you will receive a confirmation email)* *The confirmation email may be routed to your spam folder. You must click the link in this email to complete the registration.
Existing New York Times ID
If you have previously registered your @edu email address on The New York Times site, you will click the "Already have an account?" Log in here" link for Step 3.
New York Times (2008-Recent) - ProQuest Digitized NewspapersThis digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the New York Times without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Full-page, greyscale images are full-text searchable and offer keyword highlighting. Available issues will be approximately 3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
Texas Reference CenterTexas history, diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, etc. Books, journals, biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas, with Texas and national news coverage.
How to Create an Account for Digital Access to the Wall Street Journal
Step 1. Click the link to go to a new page where you can create your account.
Step 2. Click on the drop-down window in the "Select Account" box.
Step 3. Select either Student, Staff or Professor.
Step 4. Create your password (This should be a new password. Do NOT use your SHSU password).
Step 5. Click the "I agree to all terms..." box.
Step 6. Click on the "Create" box.
A U.S. business and finance-focused, international daily newspaper based in New York City, featuring online coverage of breaking news and current headlines from the US and around the world as well as photos, videos, detailed analysis and in-depth original reports. The subscription is provided by the University.
Wall Street Journal (2008-Recent) - ProQuest Digitized NewspapersThis digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the Wall Street Journal without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Full-page, greyscale images are full-text searchable and offer keyword highlighting. Available issues will be approximately 3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
World News Connection Archive, 1995-2013Provides access to unfiltered press dispatches from around the world, methodically translated into English by the US Government, for the entire history of the World News Connection (Nov 1995 Dec 31, 2013)
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series II: Leaders, Writers, and ThinkersProvided by the Department of Foreign Languages. Focuses on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains hundreds of rare books, over 3,000 newspaper issues (including rare anarchist newspapers), and over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscripts. Content is mostly Spanish, some English.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980Hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including both Spanish-language papers and papers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.