This link opens in a new windowSpecialized encyclopedias and dictionaries provide an excellent starting point for research, including both definitions and brief overviews. You can find these types of resources by adding encyclopedias or dictionaries after your subject term when you search the Library catalog.
Dictionary of marketing communications
HF5412 .G68 2004 - Reference
Dictionary of media and communication studies
P87.5 .W38 2003 - Reference
Encyclopedia of new media : an essential reference to communication and technology
QA76.575 .E5368 2003 - Reference
International encyclopedia of communication
P87.5 .I58 2008 (12 volume set) - Reference
World press encyclopedia : a survey of press systems worldwide
PN4728 .Q53 2003 (2 volume set) - Reference
A Communicative Approach to Conflict, Forgiveness, and Reconciliation by
A Communicative Approach to Conflict, Forgiveness, and Reconciliation: Reimagining Our Relationships synthesizes communication and psychology scholarship that focuses on rebuilding ourselves and our relationships when things go "wrong". It provides fresh insights into the burgeoning body of forgiveness research, with an emphasis on community application and reconciliation. Written by award winning scholars in forgiveness communication, the book makes forgiveness and reconciliation research accessible to students in courses focused on personal relationships, conflict, and family studies.
Intercultural Communication by
This handbook takes a multi-disciplinary approach to offer a current state-of-art survey of intercultural communication (IC) studies. The chapters aim for conceptual comprehension, theoretical clarity and empirical understanding with good practical implications. Attention is mostly on face to face communication and networked communication facilitated by digital technologies, much less on technically reproduced mass communication. Contributions cover both cross cultural communication (implicit or explicit comparative works on communication practices across cultures) and intercultural communication (works on communication involving parties of diverse cultural backgrounds). Topics include generally histories of IC research, theoretical perspectives, non-western theories, and cultural communication; specifically communication styles, emotions, interpersonal relationships, ethnocentrism, stereotypes, cultural learning, cross cultural adaptation, and cross border messages;and particular context of conflicts, social change, aging, business, health, and new media. Although the book is prepared for graduate students and academicians, intercultural communication practitioners will also find something useful here.
Latina/o/x Communication Studies by
Latina/o/x Communication Studies: Theories, Methods, and Practice spotlights contemporary Latina/o/x Communication Studies research in various theoretical, methodological, and academic contexts. Leandra H. Hernández, Diana I. Bowen, Sara De Los Santos Upton, and Amanda R. Martinez have assembled a collection of case studies that focus on health, media, rhetoric, identity, organizations, the environment, and academia. Contributors expand upon previous Latina/o/x Communication Studies scholarship by examining identity and academic experiences in our current political climate; the role of language, identity, and Latinidades in health and media contexts; and the role of social activism in rhetorical, environmental, organizational, and border studies contexts. Scholars of communication, Latin American Studies, rhetoric, and sociology will find this book particularly useful.
Fundamental Theories of Business Communication by
This book examines the major business communication theories, delving into their relationships and practical applications. Many business communication studies lack a strong theoretical grounding--a deficit that creates difficulties for researching business communication phenomena and building upon previous studies. The book addresses this issue by cataloging and briefly describing the major business communication theories, as well as giving a typology of these theories to better integrate them. This book provides value to business communication researchers (who can use it to build upon and develop their work), experts in practice (who can apply it to improve business communications), and academics (who can use it to enhance their instructional designs). It also offers insights into new developments on the business communication theory horizon.
Black pioneers in communication research
P91.5 .U5 J33 2006 - Main
Family communication sourcebook
HQ536 .F3645 2006 - Main
Statistical methods for communication science
P93.7 .H39 2005 - Main (also CD-ROM at Library Service Desk 2nd Floor)
Bacon's magazine directory : directory of magazines, newsletters
Z286 .P4 B33 2008 - Reference
Bacon's newspaper directory : directory of daily and weekly newspapers news services syndicates
Z286 .N48 B33 2008 - Reference
Bacon's radio directory : directory of radio stations programming contacts
HE8664 .B33 2007 - Reference
Bacon's TV/cable directory : directory of TV/cable stations programming contacts
HE8700.8 .B33 2007 - Reference
Broadcasting & cable yearbook
TK6540 .B863 2009 - Library Service Desk
Editor & publisher international year book
PN4700 .E42 2008 (3 volume set) - Reference
International directory of little magazines & small presses
PN161 .I57 2008-09 - Reference
Guides, handbooks, and manuals are simple yet comprehensive sources of information on a topic within a discipline. You can find these types of resources by adding handbooks or manuals after your subject term when you search the Library catalog. (The official subheading is “Handbooks, manuals, etc.”)
American ways : a guide for foreigners in the United States
E158 .A46 2003 EB - Electronic Book
Assessing media education : a resource handbook for educators and administrators
P91.3 .A853 2006 - Main
Cambridge handbook of personal relationships
HM1106 .C36 2006 - Main
Companion to Greek rhetoric
PA3265 .C66 2007 - Main
Handbook of research on educational communications and technology 3rd ed.
LB1028.3 .H355 2008 - Reference
Handbook of sports and media
GV742 .H35 2006 - Reference
How to say the right thing every time: communicating well with students, staff, parents and the public
LB1033.5 .R36 2009 - Main
Managing television news: a handbook for ethical and effective producing
PN4784 .T4 S54 2007 - Main
Oxford handbook of film and media studies
PN1994 .O93 2008 - Main
When words collide: a media writer's guide to grammar and style
PE1112 .K435 2008 - Reference
Search a selection of print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other Reference books.
These subject headings can be used when searching the Library catalog to find books about some frequently studied communication topics.
The numbers in brackets are call number ranges, which indicate the general areas in the library where books on these subjects are shelved.
Communication Studies
Communication
[P87--P96]
Communication in education
[LB1033.5]
Communication in organizations
[HD30.3]
Communication in personnel management
[HF5549.5.C6]
Communication in the family
[HQ518; BF637.C4]
Debates and debating
[PN4177--PN4191]
Intercultural communication
[HG345.6--Anthropology]
[HM1211—Social psychology]
[P94.6-.65—General]
Interpersonal communication
[BF637.C45; HM1166]
Nonverbal communication
[P99.5--P99.6]
Oral communication
[P95]
Oral interpretation
[PN4145--PN4151]
Oratory
[PN4001--4355]
Public speaking
[PN4121--PN4130]
Rhetoric
[P301; PN171.4--PN229; PE1402--PE1497]
Rhetoric, Ancient
[PA3265]
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System
