Research Guides: Agricultural Sciences Resources: General Agriculture Resources

Librarians

A team of Librarians is here for help:

Lead Ag Librarian: Susan Strickland
Ag Business & Mktg: Lisa Shen
Ag Education: Misty Shattle
Ag Mech & Tech: Stacy Johnson
Sciences, Equine, & Vet: Stacy Johnson

Ask a Librarian

During normal library hours, research help is available via chat, text, email, or by phone.

https://library.shsu.edu/

Chat: /askalibrarian/

Text/SMS: 936-229-3764

Email: library@shsu.edu

Call: 936-294-1614

Need something the Library doesn't have?
Request it via Interlibrary Loan

Interested in personalized help?
Requests a One to One.

General Agriculture Databases

Databases in Agricultural Science and those that include articles on Agricultural topics:

AGRIS This link opens in a new window AGRIS (International System for Agricultural Science and Technology) is a global public database providing access to bibliographic information on agricultural science and technology. AGRIS contains over 8 million bibliographic references on agricultural research and technology & links to related data resources on the Web, like DBPedia, World Bank, Nature, FAO Fisheries and FAO Country profiles.
Biological Abstracts (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Citation and abstracts only to all biological sciences, including animal science, botany, and horticulture.
Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO) This link opens in a new window Global information, data, and statistics (in 6 languages) on food, food security/fighting hunger, nutrition, and sustainable management of agriculture, forestry, and fisheries.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window Citations and abstracts, with some linking out to full text articles, from environmental journals.
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window JSTOR Plant Science provides access to foundational content vital to plant science – plant type specimens, taxonomic structures, scientific literature, and related materials. It may be useful for those researching, teaching or studying agroculture, botany, ecology, and conservation studies.

National Agricultural Library

National Ag Safety Database This link opens in a new window - Provides a national resource for the dissemination of educational and research materials to the agricultural safety and health community. - Educates workers and managers about occupational hazards associated with agriculture-related injuries, dea
National Ag Safety Database (NASD) was developed with funding from the National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). The information contained in NASD was contributed by safety professionals and organizations from across the nation.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window Provides some full-text articles in all sciences. To focus on Agriculture: select Applied Science & Technology or Biology & Agriculture from the selection box labeled "Subject Area" on the bottom right of the main search page.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC) This link opens in a new window Library of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window Provides citation and abstracts, plus some full-text to articles in all sciences, including agriculture, and veterinary science and medicine.

Looking for Ag Journals?

Opt 1: Check out this link for the Ag Journal Finder. Use the filters on the page to refine the results by subject or type.
Opt 2: Search in Engine Orange for the topic you're interested in. Then use the filters on the page to limit to specific formats or source types. Using this method you'll notice multiple journals included in your results; whereas in Opt 1 you'd have to search one journal at a time.

Additional Databases

General Science Full Text This link opens in a new window General Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new window Gale In Context: Environmental Studies includes case studies, news articles, reference materials, academic journals and videos.
- This link opens in a new window
Marcive Web Docs This link opens in a new window Provides access to citations and cataloging information for publications issued by the U.S. Government Printing Office. This includes U.S. government agencies and their departments. MARCIVE indexes Senate and House hearings, agency-sponsored studies, fact sheets, maps, handbooks, subject bibliographies, and conference proceedings dated 1976 to the present.
National Center for Pharmaceutical Crops (NCPC) This link opens in a new window Established in 2004, the NCPC is a pioneer in pharmaceutical crop research in the United States. Pharmaceutical crops are any used for the "extraction or preparation of therapeutic substances such as drugs, active pharmaceutical ingredients, vaccines and antibodies as well as other therapeutic solutions.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
Science Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Science Citation Index (Web of Science) provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of science disciplines, from 1984 to the present. The index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Science Online This link opens in a new window Science magazine (1997-current issue), plus ScienceNOW and additional news, multimedia, and other content.

A-Z List of SHSU Database Subscriptions

Annual Reviews Science Collection This link opens in a new window Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others. There will be new password requirements beginning 1/10/17.

Other options:
- Directory of Open Access Journals
- SAGE Open
- Elsevier Open Access