Digital Resources at SHSU

Explore the digital exhibits showcasing materials from NGL's Special Collections and University Archives.

More exhibits coming soon!

Texas Prison Rodeo Programs Collection

The Texas Prison Rodeo, which ran from 1931 to 1986, was billed as "the wildest show of its kind ever staged," and was the first prison rodeo in the U.S. What started as a form of recreation and entertainment for the inmates, prison staff, and their families during the depression, soon drew in spectators from across the state by the thousands. Starting in the 1950s, the Texas Prison Rodeo regularly had well-known stars and entertainers performing before the crowds, including Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Dolly Parton, and George Strait; and was featured in the 1980 film "Urban Cowboys," starring John Travolta and Debra Winger. For just over 50 years, the prison rodeo was an October Texas tradition, but in 1986 the rodeo closed its gates for the last time.

Beginning in 2022, SHSU's Newton Gresham Library and The Texas Prison Museum collaborated to digitize the museum's collection of Texas Prison Rodeo souvenir programs. During the project, The Texas Prison Museum provided physical copies of the rodeo programs to Newton Gresham Library for digitization and digital preservation. The Texas Prison Rodeo Program collection contains programs for the annual Texas Prison Rodeo from 1938 to 1986.

This digital exhibit aims to highlight the collection of Prison Rodeo programs and related items in our Special Collections Room, provide a brief history of the prison rodeo, and guide users to additional sources for continued research.