Special Collections

As the "treasure room" of the Newton Gresham Library, SHSU Special Collections--housed in the Thomason Room--is home to such rare books and fine bindings as have come to this institution over its many years of existence. SHSU Special Collections also collects and maintains subject specialties such as Texana, Civil War, criminal justice, avant-garde poetry and local history. 

For more information on the physical collection contact Trent Shotwell at 936-294-3290

University Archives

The mission of the University Archives is to collect, preserve, and maintain materials related to the history of the past and present of Sam Houston State University. The archives collections is made up of historical and recent items, including but not limited to: yearbooks from 1910 on, the school newspaper, The Houstonian, bulletins and catalogs for undergraduate and graduate students, presidential papers from the various Sam Houston State University presidents, historian and professor, J. L. Clark Collection of Texas materials, student handbooks and directories, newsletters, Alumni Association related materials, university reports, Texas State University System Board of Regents reports, historic photographs from across the years, commencement videos and commencement programs, blue prints, the C. C. Springfield negatives collection and many more items.

For more information on the physical collection contact Barbara Kievit-Mason at 936-294-3699

View the physical collection FINDING AIDS

Many of these exclusive collections and items have been digitized and are available to view on:

SHSU Digital Collections

Special Collections - Thomason Room

University Archives

Prison Rodeo Programs

Breitenbach Mexican Mask Collection

Texas Military Veteran Video Oral Histories​

Alcaldes - SHSU Yearbooks

Browse All Collections