Tech Services Portal

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 2 July 2024 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Susan/Tanya 

• ALA 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey    

• Trent:  

• Archives Space update  

• Meeting with Sam Houston Museum today to talk about their contentDM 

• Donation: TDCJ executions AP collection  

• Upcoming tour for Public Services – August 7, 2024, at 2pm  

• Rainey: 

• continuing barcoding 

• WPA index 

• Upcoming plans for oversized books, etc. 

• Morgen worked with our intern on the Sexton Papers, building an organization plan. She had him work on digitizing the Civil War collection 

• Barbara 

• Donations 

• New person – Hanah Kissell 

Michelle/Sarah 

• Michelle working on finishing a book review for TSQ and final edits for grant proposal application with Trent and Erin  

• Making steady progress with ongoing digitization projects and preservation efforts. 

• Looking at new software and applications to work into our workflows 

• Corz checksums – more efficient (I think) 

• Adobe Premiere Pro – transcription and captioning 

• Oral History Metadata Synchronizer – making oral histories more accessible, searchable 

• Will be making a YouTube channel for SHSU Digital Collections 

• Would require working with IT for server space. 

Molly 

•  EZproxy 

• Beginning stages of migrating to hosted (new IP and will have a new proxy prefix) hopefully go live before 8/21 

• Working on OReilly 

• Sirsi 

• Test server backup – testing a new Reserve desk for Erin for Permanent Reserves in Closed Stacks 

• Set COM up with Workflows – looking into using MobileStaff as a self check out kiosk 

Zach/Lucy 

• Zach: 

• Tracking, reviewing, and processing sub invoices. Approximately 80% of annual invoices paid with less than two months remaining in FY. 

• Vendor meetings: PQ/O’Reilly; EBSCO; T&F 

• Securing pricing for CDC Wishlist Items (3 of 51 remaining). Maintaining expense and surplus projections via Banner balancing 

• Working with Elsevier to finalize new COM CK & CK Pharmacology agreement 

• Kanopy PDA – routing of notifications to Cataloging. 

• Trials: 

• Current trial in place for COM/LWW Health Library Clerkship 

• Upcoming 3-day trial beginning 7/8 for Paratext Base Inventory of Research Databases (BIRD) resource 

• Lucy 

• Re-examining the games procedures with Access Services 

• Will be out at for jury duty July 8th  

Brett 

• Working on a new UI design in LibGuides 

• Exploring new features in LibAnswers 

• New automation including priority levels, automatically tag tickets based on keywords or phrases, assign tickets to users based on tags 

• Finished a month's long training in python data analysis 

• Monthly Meetings with Web Advisory Group 

• Audit will start next week  

• 3 weeks to review each webpage 

• webpage statistics 

Lisa 

• At ALA 

Michael 

• Department Management  

• Faculty  

• Staff  

• Systems  

• Working on licensing and IT security issues on Alma.  

• CORAL Workflow audit 

• Collection Development  

• INVENTORY 

• Please take time to do some inventory 

• Pulling together data for ordering 

• Going over CD Libguides 

• Reporting 

• Documentation 

• Research 

Eric 

Vacations 

Hanson – July 28 – Aug 10 

McCrary – Vacation Sept. 23rd – Oct. 2nd 

Brett - Vacation Sept. 30th-Oct. 8th 

Thompson - Out July 3 - 5th  

Susan Elkins – Conference June 27- July 3.  Vacation in late August.  

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 4 June 2024 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Brett 

• Working with Web dev committee on redesigning A-Z list 

• Working with Christina S. on new libguide design for COM 

• First meeting with University Web Advisory Group Link 

• Completed a course on coding in R 

• Went to Code4Lib Conference 

• Coding Project has been published on Github Link 

• I have left the Display Committee. The new chair will be Michelle. 

Susan/Tanya 

• Updated MARC records for eBook & eVideo packages that must be downloaded and added to the collection 

• Working on original cataloging training and assigning subject headings to ETDs.   

• Working on procedures for withdrawn to remove from catalog, OCLC, and EDS.   

• Question about reserves that have a comment that says in 208 Workroom.  Do we want to remove it from the reserve and change the location to closed stacks? Change location to closed stacks?  Is there a way to pull all the Permanant reserves with that comment?  

• Question about who is responsible for the pocket part? 

• Our understanding is the Bridget was to take over this. 

• Working with inventory.  Still getting items that have nothing wrong with them. Questioning if this is an equipment or training issue.  

• Working out a new time approval process.  

• Out at conference – June 27- July 3.  Vacation in late August. 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey    

• New Archives Assistant starts July 1st 

• Public History Intern starts today 

• Meeting today with TARO for Archives Space Demo 

• New Donations: Rollyson & Shukla 

• Microfilm Reader install soon 

• Whatley Bible collection update 

• Trent out 6/5-6/11 

Rainey:  

• Continued barcoding project 

• assisted a few patrons with research requests – one with genealogy and another with finding more information on an artist. We didn’t have much, but I was able to recommend the University of Houston Special Collections 

• Burnout Newsletter 

• Mae Wynne McFarland Research Collection transcriptions 

• Vacation June 14-18 

Michelle/Sarah 

• Project Updates: 

• We’re coordinating with Trent/Special Collections to receive a born-digital collection.   

• Prison Rodeo Programs are done scanning! We are working to get the rest online and begin promoting the collection.  

• Making steady progress with other ongoing projects. 

• Michelle @ TCDL 5/20 - 5/23 

• @ POWRR Institute 6/4 - 6/7 

Molly 

• Sirsi 

• Test server still down. IT is working with vendor 

• EDS 

• Full rebuild 5/30 - trying to clarify with EBSCO if it was processed 

• EZproxy 

• OCLC suggested not to do any cleanup of the config file to migrate to hosted 

• Usage  

• Compiling data for collection development meeting 

• CELUS – waiting for IT approval 

Zach/Lucy 

• Discussing better ways to handle missing parts/playability/wear & tear with the games collection. Will eventually get with Kristina on setting up an inventory and periodic checks with games to see if we need to replace parts.  

• Cleaning up and investigating outstanding orders  

• Procurement policies and procedures training session (every 2 years)  

• Lucy June 13 @ 8:30  

• We also have a new purchaser for our department Kim Tibiletti @ GOBI 

• Vendor meetings (Elsevier, PQ, T&F and EBSCO) 

• License/Agreement Review (OCLC/Illiad; IEEE)  

• Invoices (Processing; Dedicated Acq E-mail Address) 

• COM (Ovid – revised several subscription periods to consolidate term dates/invoicing; Elsevier – making progress re. acquiring new pricing and agreement for Clinical Key and Clinical Key Pharmacology subs) 

Lisa 

• Policy reviews – Workload & NNT faculty promotion 

• Selection cheat sheet CollectionDevelopmentCheatsheet.docx 

• EBSCO Migration  

• Interests from multiple subjects in PQ/non-EBSCO options   

• Reviewing/re-uniting book series (browsing/Juv/PS) 

• July 8-on: Subject Refreshers/Orientation for new librarian(s) 

Michael 

• Department Management  

• Department Potluck – June 6 (This Thursday) 

• Faculty  

• Staff  

• Systems  

• Working on licensing and IT security issues on Alma.  

• Continuing working on eResource problems form 

• CORAL Workflow audit 

• Collection Development  

• Pulling together data for a CDC meeting  

• Reporting 

• Documentation 

• Research 

Eric 

Vacations 

Hanson – July 22 – Aug 10 

McCrary - June 4 – 7 

Brett - Vacation Sept. 30th-Oct. 8th 

Thompson - Out July 3 - 5th  

Susan Elkins – Conference June 27- July 3.  Vacation in late August.  

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 2 April2024 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Scheduling meeting with LSP references.  

Molly 

• EZproxy 

• Shibboleth Authentication 

• Changed to IPv4 (was IPv6 if available) to fix issues with Capital IQ 

• Moving to hosted over Summer  

• Stanza Clean up – proxying free resources? 

• Volunteers to help? 

• Upcoming meeting with Zach, Brett, Molly, and Michael to look at vetting our resource lists. 

• Sirsi 

• Removing from OPAC display 100, 600, 647, 651, 700, 758 subfield 1, which is the URI for headings 

• Will have to reindex – will send out date 

• Finally got the blocked users API to work with the Banner script for circulation 

• IT is investigating cookie error message in OPAC 

• Usage 

• Google Data Analytics professional certificate through SHSU Online 

Zach/Lucy 

• ZV and Lucy - Balancing Work: Checking/verifying subscription and SO paid invoices, contacting vendors, synchronizing payments and invoice records across files/systems 

• ZV – Licensing: IEEE and Mintel 

• ZV – Working on various pricing and trial requests 

• ZV - Cataloging Transition Training: Approximately three sessions remaining 

• ZV: DPTAC; staff reviews; search committee, etc. 

Brett 

• Working on changing GA4 account to lib_lts 

• CSS style documentation 

• All of Us Program has 7 teams of researchers 

• Library Python Project is almost complete 

• Purchase new cork boards to replace fabric backing on Dan Rather display cases 

Susan/Tanya (Cataloging) 

• Art department secretary Kelsey Morris resigned and has been replaced by Kate Duke.  Kate will need to be trained by Tanya to use the spreadsheet, barcode cataloged items, and print labels. 

• ProQuest E-book PDA was added to Engine Orange.   

• Finished a cataloging class 

• Working on Teaching Awards submission for 3 awards 

• Out of Office April 8-10 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey      

• Trent: 

• Special Collections and University Archives Microfilm Reader 

• Simmons University Intern, Laurel, has completed her internship 

• New intern with Dr. Doleshal’s Public History Class to start Summer I  

• Rainey: 

• Wild Dog Collection 

• Morgen started in Special Collections April 1st 

• Taught bookbinding to Morgen, Jess, and our intern, Laurel 

• Assisted several patrons recently with country records, specifically Anderson County 

• Assisted students from Dr. Doleshal’s class with research method 

• Barbara         

•    Donations by the truck load and box load 

•    Jude from the SHMM, donated 30 years of her business of   video-photography tapes and the equipment to view them.  200 SVHS and digital camera recordings.  

• 13 boxes of reports, correspondence, etc from the vault in University Advancement.  They are remodeling. Archives picked and paced all the materials.  

• Doctorial students and their reports 

• Morgan now in Spec. Coll. Formed committee to hire another metadata assistant.  Posting has gone up and 13 applicants so far. 

•  

Michelle/Sarah 

• Lots of new for Michelle! 

• Current focus on workflow efficiency, project prioritization, and communication/project tracking 

• Worked with Christina Seeger on guidelines for uploading to ScholarlyWorks 

• Ended up making it general guidelines that have been added to the LibGuide ScholarlyWorks page 

• Met with a contact from ContentDM about an upcoming revamp 

• Researching alternatives for ABBYY FineReader (Adobe, Tesseract...) 

• Campus IT is beginning upgrades to the Archivematica servers. 

• Have a meeting with Mikey at Sam Houston Memorial Museum Wed. 4/3 

• Current Project Highlights 

• Alcaldes 

• 1910-1929 on ContentDM 

• Currently scanning: 1930 - 1939 

• Prison Rodeo Programs 

• 1938-1963 on ContentDM 

• Currently scanning last batch: 1980s 

• Special Collections & Archives 

• Wrapping up a few Thomason Room collections 

• About to start scanning collection of Outlook Club books 

Lisa 

Michael 

• Reporting  

• Department Management 

• Faculty 

• FES Reviews 

• Staff 

• March 1, 2024 – April 15, 2024 Systems 

• Systems 

• CDC 

• Documentation 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 12 February 2024 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey      

• Special Collections & University Archives Spring Intern 

• Class instruction – Two classes in the last week  

• ArchivesSpace update 

• Trent will be out the week of Spring Break  

• Rainey: 

• continuing barcoding 

• patron research  

• hosting class on yellow fever 

Molly 

• ITAC meeting until 2 pm 

• Ticket with IT on PQ Ebook issue 

• Cookie not holding user ID or being blocked, vendors suggested something IT updated around Nov 17 

• EzProxy 

• Synced dev server with prod 

• May try to test out shibboleth authentication 

• Cleaning up config file to prepare for migration to hosted 

• Statistics (LibInsights) 

• Pulled all SUSHI stats for 2023 (Databases & EJournals Counter5) 

• Working on inputting non-SUSHI 

Zach/Lucy 

• ZV - Banner Access/Training: Navigation, Finance 101, Intro to Budget. Scheduling for Bearkat Buy, P-Card (backup to Lucy), and Payment Works sessions. 

• ZV - Invoice Processing and Logistics Review 

• Reviewing and receiving renewal invoices from late December through current day. 

• Establishing contacts with vendor reps. 

• Familiarizing myself with Acquisitions document organizational structure, deadlines, general processing times. 

• Beginning work on identifying essential data points for critical reports and corresponding areas of vulnerability (e.g., missed invoices/e-mails, delays in invoice receipt and/or payment; limited invoice anticipation based on prior renewal dates, etc.). 

• ZV - Upcoming Budget Training/Balancing with MH 

• ZV - License Agreement Review with MH: Licenses in queue for review include IEEE and MCLS Web of Science 

• ZV - Acquisitions Unit Meetings: Meetings scheduled with Acquisitions team through 2024 for bi-weekly 1:1 meetings, and monthly unit meetings. 

• ZV - Cataloging Training/Transition with SE: Meeting with Susan 2-3 times per week to cover cataloging tasks and processes. 

Brett 

• Started all of us program 

• Working on python project with external librarians 

• Started a new process of using Github for version control of webpages 

• FES 

Susan/Tanya (Cataloging) 

• Uploading Ebook and E-videos records to EDS Custom Catalog 

• Removed holdings from OCLC and records from the Catalog for Discards 

• Working on Nominations for Excellence in Teaching awards 

• FES and Watermark 

Vacant/Sarah 

• Scan of business journals 

• New request for TDL to host an Education Journal (Journal of Action in Education) 

• Working with Christina Seager on the deposit policies and workflows for COM 

• Created a new collection on Content DM for Prison Rodeo Programs. 

• Digitization Lab updates: 

• DT Atom is up and running again—we’re working to catch up on the backlog of digitization requests 

• Theses project is on-going: 

• Catching up on ABBYY/OCR processing of digitized theses 

• Continuing to scan theses 

• African American Oral History transcription project is nearing completion; the majority of the interviews have been transcribed and are in either the first or second stages of review 

• Last batch of Prison Rodeo Programs are in the process of being digitized 

• Working through digitizing the 1930s Alcalde set 

• DI Metadata updates: 

• Carlie has nearly completed the Afro-Am Portfolio Collection metadata, (should be finished by early-mid week, next week) 

• This collection would be a nice to spotlight (link: Collection Overview) (Social Media/Elissa and/or Display Comm.?) 

• Rebecca has uploaded the Alcaldes through 1929, and will continue as images become available (link: Alcaldes Digital Collection) 

• Rebecca started going through the Prison Rodeo Program metadata and preparing it for CONTENTdm upload 

Lisa 

• Search updates  

• 26 applicants 

• Ebook errors 

• ~60 since Dec (38 virtual & est. 20+ F2F) 

• Necessity of keeping track going forward 

• Subject coverage for ABC – Tyler purchasing for IMC 

• Minor office relocations 

• Stop start keep – Collection development  

• Will (re)introduce CD profile to R&I 

• Send name Folder to of approval profile 

• Workshops going well 

Michael 

• Reporting  

• IPEDS/ACRL stats gathering instrument distributed.  

• Department Management 

• Faculty 

• Head of Digital Initiatives position offered to Michelle McCrary and preliminarily accepted. Paperwork moving through system. 

• FES due Friday 

• Training with Zach V on budget. 

• Staff 

• March 1, 2024 – April 15, 2024 Systems 

• Thursday 22 February three/two sessions on Alma. Lunch provided. 

• Working with SIRSI on their visit. Preliminarily they requested March 18 due to COSUGI being the first week of March.  

• Documentation 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 9 January 2024 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Zach-Susan/Tanya (Cataloging) 

• Tanya medical leave — temporary shifted staff responsibilities; student worker supervision moving to SS. 

• Loading e-collection updates in preparation of spring semester (PDA and subscription e-books). 

• Cataloging transition training/meetings with SE. 

Susan/Sarah 

• Published the ETD from December 2023 and sent information on Thesis and Dissertation to ProQuest and Cataloging. 

• Completed Year end 2023 stats reports for Dspace.  Send authors with items in Scholarly Works @ SHSU an email with their download numbers.  Prepared the spreadsheets for next year. 

• Working with faculty who have emailed me over the break to ask for assistance.   

• Starting to work on FES documentation for 2023 

• Digitization Lab: 

• Working on yearly lab figures (project accounting) 

• Updating project guidelines 

• Gathering images for the Color Our Collections project (w/ Special Collections) 

• Lab students to return next week 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey      

• Trent: 

• Recent researchers and upcoming class instruction for the Spring Semester  

• Committee work and FES  

• Archives update 

• Rainey: 

• Finished up adding the Charles Jones books to the best of my ability. I will need to send several to her to work on when she returns. 

• Continuing barcoding project       

Molly 

• PQ Ebooks 

• Statistics 

• 2023 e-resources 

• Circs by title 

•  

Zach/Lucy 

• Getting caught up with deliveries from the break.  

• Showing Zach how some processes in BKB and Banner work  

Brett 

• Working on A-Z UI updates 

• Reviewing LibAnswer FAQ 

• Building a Library site search 

• All of Us program updates 

Lisa 

• Compiling stats 

• Spring orientations 

• Spring ref & workshop scheduling 

• Watermark testing 

• Searches update 

Michael 

• Reporting  

• Collecting data for 2023. Usage, fiscal, etc.  

• Department Management 

• Faculty 

• Official change over was January 1. Putting last touches on documentation to make it complete.  

• Training Zach on Head of Acquistions and Serials Job Duties 

• Coordinating with Zach on training Susan on Head of Cataloging duties 

• Job ad for Head of Digital Initiatives Posted on University page  on Dec 20.  

• Staff 

• Systems 

• Communicating with Clarivate and SIRSI about further demonstrations of software to targeted groups, primarily Tech Services staff. Will be communicating with staff on scheduling demonstrations. 

• SIRSI, CORAL, EZProxy , and Archivematica servers all need to be replaced and moved from LINUX 7 to LINUX 9. EZProxy will likely be moved to cloud based product. Other three will get extended maintenance contracts while the library decides where we’re moving with systems.  

• Documentation 

• Request from Access services of “Who to Contact” list.  

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 12 December 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Librarian Job Duties Changes in TS Department 

Brett  

• Working with Kristina on Game Collection Libguide 

• Attended Webinar on Research Data Services that had some really good ideas 

• Joined a project group among librarians for python 

• Finishing up the Alcaldes Landing page with Susan and Trent 

• Assisting the Student Health Center with their Staff webpage 

Susan/Sarah 

• Working with CrossRef and TDL to resolve DOI issues with the Journal of Instructional Techniques in Finance 

• Created a new stats report for the IR and entered data for 2023 in Lib Insights.  Documentation is in progress 

• Working with Brett on Alcaldes Website and Content DM Custom Landing page.  

• Created an Embargo list for Electronic Thesis & Dissertations and found another embargoed dissertation that was visible in Proquest database.  Created a support ticket.   

Zach/Tanya  

• LibTicket Status: Issues associated with IT updates generated significant spike in reported access issues. Number of reported issues increased by 42% over past several weeks. Most issues were associated with PQ e-book linking out of EO, and have been addressed with temporary workaround instructions. Ticket inflow has returned to normal avg. this week due to semester end. 

• C&M Unit Policy Review: Completed review and weeding of older workflow and processing policy documents in shard drive. Remaining policies to be transferred to Teams. 

• Sirsi E-Resource Link Updates: Collocated all Sirsi e-resource links with http structure for update to https (approximately 90k). Updating in batch loads – 70% complete. 

• ProQuest E-book Link Testing: Continued unit assistance to Molly in testing. 

• CORAL Queue: Continued efforts to review Coral queue — clearing out old processed resources and queuing resources that still require processing. 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey 

• Trent 

• Charles Jones Event 

• Working with TDCJ to have several of the tables in THR fixed 

• Out January 3rd – 5th  

• Upcoming presentation for Walker Co. Genealogy Society on Jan. 20th  

• Rainey:  

• Charles Jones’ books – adding to catalog with lots of help from Tanya! 

• Learning more about cataloging books in general. 

• Barcoding project 

• working with Michelle on the Thomason collection 

• Barbara –  

•  Training for Jess and Morgen.   

•  Finished Donald Coers Collection – Tanya cataloging from collection 

Molly 

• Still working with IT to resolve the security issues (PQ Ebookcentral & Privacy error) 

• EBSCO 

• Changing mapping to remove the e-gov docs in the Print Books limiter in Engine Orange 

• Working on OneDrive errors 

• Preparing to pull usage for 2023 

• Looking at CELUS for usage stats 

• CORAL server end of life (EOL)  

• Cleaning up proxy stanzas 

Lucy 

• Processing the Lost/Paid reports 

• Christine has been handling incoming books; 

• Change funds for Circ desk and Copy services are being turned over to the Cashier’s Office for the holiday break by the 20th.  

Lisa 

• Instruction Librarian Search 

• 2023 Pub Services Stats 

• Revising workshop content, incl. website suggestions  

• PACE restructuring  

• Spring Orientations 12/13 (new), 1/9 (transfer), 1/12 (Intl & GUIA) 

• Inaugural Academic Integrity Week (2/19-23) 

Michael 

• Reporting  

• 2022 Usage harvests completed. 

• Preparing for January and the commencement of 2023 Usage harvesting 

• Investigating CLEUS Software 

• Department Management 

• Faculty 

• See beginning announcement 

• Working on paperwork to finalize the job duties changes 

• Training Librarians in new job duties 

• Working on the posting  

• Staff 

• Systems 

• LSP leadership group identified ExLibris Alma and SIRSIDynix  BlueCloud as LSP’s to further investigate in 2024 

• Still planning a CORAL workflows meeting to streamline the workflows. 

• Documentation 

• Working on getting Collection Development Documentation up to date 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 16 Nov 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Angela/Lucy 

• Angela’s last day is 12/1/23 (last day in person 11/30) 

• Setting up trial for Roper iPoll 

Brett  

• Finishing updates to A-Z list for new UI 

• Collecting website analytics and creating documentation 

• Finished MLA CE course in python 

Susan/Sarah 

• RAMP a site that collects download stats will be closing at end of year, will need to create a new workflow for collection of overall downloads and views. 

• Finished a class on Library of Congress Subject Headings 

• IT has contacted me about Upgrades to the server housing Archivmatica 

• Created draft of Journal MOU for all SHSU hosted journals to sign 

• Took Phase One camera to Houston to be serviced 

• Working with Brett and Trent on Alcaldes Website 

• Will be out of the office December 18 - January 2 

• Digitization Lab: 

• Nearing the end of the Rodeo Programs digitization project. We have 1 more batch of 6 issues* to digitize after the current set. 

• Continued work on Thesis Project OCR backlog. 

• Continued work on collection/materials digitization & other projects. 

• Creating and/or revising/updating digitization projects workflow documentation. 

• Anticipating fewer students and/or a cutback on hours for the next few weeks, (holiday week, the week before finals, and finals week). 

Zach/Tanya  

• OCLC Synchronization: Semesterly holdings synchronization complete. Seeing reduced instances of anomalies; no reports of material request errors from ILL this semester. 

• Inventory Project: The C&M Unit has met to discuss the renewed inventory project; review cataloging procedures for inventory items transferred to Tech Services; and assess strategies for handling any issues we may encounter. Developed central unit Excel document to record issues encountered, which I’ll use to track frequency of reoccurring problems and relay feedback to Crystal/Stacks for discussion and review as needed. We’ve encountered several instances of false “Item not in Catalog” or “Location Error” reports, but thus far the process appears to be working well overall. Will continue to track and monitor as the project progresses. 

• Closed Stacks Dehumidifier Status: Received report that the Closed Stacks central dehumidifier unit is functioning properly. Conducted test with SS to measure humidity levels without use of mobile units. Humidity levels remained at high levels during this time (57-70%). Mobile units have been turned back on – will send test data to Michael for review. 

• LibTicket Report: Ticket inflow continues to remain relatively low, with roughly 1-3 reported issues per week. From 10/01 - 11/15, 17 tickets have been resolved and closed. Currently 8 unresolved issues (6 new, 2 old). Most reported issues are being resolved same-day; however, we’re encountering several EDS issues that require coordination with EBSCO. 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey 

• Trent  

• Donor event December 5th 

• Mostly committee work & meetings (Faculty development leave, FES review committee, etc.) 

• Article accepted for the Journal of South Texas 

• Rainey: 

• continuing barcoding project 

• working with Michelle on Thomason Collection – it is a mess and we want to try and fix it 

• adding display locations to Special Collections books  

• Michelle has put a lot of time and effort into redoing the Thomason collection displays. I encourage anyone interested to come see them 😊  

• Barbara  

• Archives has hired a new LA II, Archives Assistant named Jess Welsch, she will start on December 1st. 

• Morgen our newer LA II, Metadata Assistant is doing great and learning quickly.  

• Drop phone line 

• Molly 

• Engine Orange (EDS) Issues  

• OneDrive saving still not working 

• Currently turned off 

• Getting EBSCO a log in for troubleshooting 

• Online GovDocs are included in “Print Books” filter 

• Have EBSCO case open 

• Usage Stats 

• 2022 DBs and EJournals 95% complete (waiting on vendors) 

• Adding prices to 2023 to be ready to pull down stats in January 

• Need to meet with ZV for EBooks stats 

• Inventory 

• Spreadsheet for report tracking  

Lisa 

• Job description reviews 

• R&I Librarian – completed 

• Instruction Librarian – underway 

• Clinical librarians – pending 

• Student of concerns reporting change, see Students of Concern (shsu.edu) 

• Upcoming: R&I Usage stats collection  

• Events: Majors fair completed, Silent Disco tonight (n=100), almost Midnight Breakfast upcoming (Tue 12/5) 

Michael 

• Reporting  

• Working with Molly to complete collection of usage stats 

• Investigating CLEUS Software 

• Department Management 

• Staff 

• Will take over supervision of acquisitions staff again.  

• Faculty 

• Re-examining the Acquistions and Serials Librarian job description 

• Plan to have a search ready to go the first week in January 

• FES Revisions turned in, will be applicable in this upcoming FES review. 

• Inventory  

• Inventory officially going again 

• Systems 

• Will be conviening the LSP group together after Thanksgiving to plan next steps with the investigation of adopting new software. 

• Still planning a CORAL workflows meeting to streamline the workflows. 

• Documentation 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 10 Oct 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Strategic Plan 

• Comments in by Friday 

• University Strategic Plan Website 

• Preliminary Library Strategic Plan Document 

• FES Update (meeting this afternoon) 

Molly 

• Out Sick 

• Working to arrange LSP vendor visits 

• Oct 30 – EBSCO – FOLIO 

• Nov 14 – SIRSI/Dynix - BlueCloud 

• Working with Access Services on Inventory 

•  

Angela/Lucy 

• StatPearls trial 

• Upcoming Trellis trial 

• Renewals 

• Angela, Michael, Dianna and Susan S. presenting at TLA District 8 meeting in November 

• Troubleshooting access to Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Criticism 

• Fund disbursements 

Brett  

• On Vacation 

• Working on GA reports for 2023 

• Working on various library website pages 

• Building map 

• Grant with Lisa Connor, Susan Stickland, and Christina Seegar 

Susan/Sarah 

• Texas Digital Library upgraded us to Dspace 7. Doing some test and submissions to work out the kinks 

• Upgraded to Viero 4.2.5 everything seems to be running smoothly. Attended Vireo Users Group Meeting to talk about the future of development 

• Meet with Brett and Trent about a custom web page to house the Alcaldes yearbooks.  Scanning and uploading is an ongoing process 

• Any request for accessible documents will be done on demand 

• Sent out 3rd quarter download  

•  

Zach/Tanya  

• CORAL processing: Recent additions to queue in processing; working through older items to clear out/mark completed or process where needed 

• OCLC Synchronization  

• Purchasing/Procurement Delay: Streaming license; cataloging materials  

• TC: HFAB work; Gov-Docs with Laurie (standing orders; false deliveries) 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey 

• Trent - 

• Working on a donation and event for local artist Charles Jones  

• Finishing up Rodeo Program digitization project. TPM has offered an additional digitization project  

• Presided over ETHA session on Friday 10/06 

• Rainey –  

• Continuing work on barcoding project.  

• Recently presented with Sunday at the ETHA 

• Classes toured 

• Library Council – upcoming meeting 

• Mae Wynne McFarland transcription 

• Mary Vick Papers 

• Barbara –  

• Morgen is learning ContentDM quickly. She is working on a scrapbook and learning SHSU history at the same time. 

• Archives was working with a researcher all last week on materials relating to Dana Andrews brother, Steve Forrest.  

• Archives have picked 3 candidates and will start interviewing this week. 

• Alumni donor who helped fight Old Main Fire donated 32 photos, his HFD name tag, and his copy of City of Huntsville Resolution No. 82-2 for helping fight the fire. 

Lisa 

• Personnel 

• Billings Supervisor (LAII) Maddison Roberson starts next Mon 

• Instruction Librarian: TBD, late fall/early spring 

• Workshops – ongoing (27 sessions taught, about 20 more to go) 

• FES & T&P 

• 1 & 3 revised & reviewed 

• 4 revisions pending 

• DPTAC external member options 

• R&I migrated from T to Teams (LibGuide content unchanged) 

Michael 

• Budget 

• FY2024 Budget delivered to Trina, should be set in the coming days 

• FY2024 Firm Order budgets being put into SIRSI 

• Setting up meeting with College of Osteopathic Medicine about COM funds. 

• Reporting  

• Working with Molly to complete collection of usage stats 

• Department Management 

• Staff 

• Are staff working on the skeleton crew hours?  

• Paths to document form 

• MSTeams>NGLTechServices>General>Document Library>Leave and Scheduling Forms>Comp Time Accrual Form 

• Browser of Choice> https://myshsu.sharepoint.com/sites/NGLTechServices >Documents>Leave and Scheduling Forms 

• CommonDrive>NGL>Forms>Comp Time Accrual 

• Faculty 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Most Unit Documentation moved 

• LibGuides – Work on documentation in LibGuides? 

• Inventory – working to get inventory moving again. 

• Michael Out Oct. 16 – 17, November 7 – 10 (Charleston Conference) 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 12 Sept 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Strategic Plan 

• University Strategic Plan Website 

• Preliminary Library Strategic Plan Document 

• Ask of Units – Begin thinking about aligning work in unit with the strategic plan.  

• Will be asking Units to envision how their current work fits into strategic plan. 

• Think aspirationally - what work could your unit be doing that would help advance the library’s and university’s strategic plan? 

• Faculty will have an opportunity to discuss strategic plan in  

Trent/Barbara/Rainey 

Trent -  

• Metadata Assistant for Archives has been hired  

• Posting for Archivist’s Assistant will go up soon 

• Recently met with SFA to discuss county records 

• Donations, class instruction, and presentations  

Rainey –  

• Continuing barcoding project 

• Creating collections – Freemason pamphlets and les Maîtres de l'affiche publications 

• New student hire – waiting for her to finish with orientation 

• Working with Sunday on ETHA presentation – In the Art of Texas: A Survey of Texas Artistic Talent 

Molly 

Angela/Lucy 

• Balancing Sirsi for FY23 

• Renewals of databases/serials 

• Examining CORAL workflow 

• Angela taking over Kanopy orders, Christine taking over PDA orders 

Brett  

• All of Us program complete, looking at 2nd round of funding 

• Removed EBSCO dbs from AZ list 

• Multiple  

• presentations coming up 

• Finished data science libguide 

• Out Oct 2 - 10 

Susan/Sarah 

• New Journal wants to issue DOIs. Need to set up how they will pay for them or if the library will pay for them. 

• Set up new collection for Alcaldes in ContentDM with page level descriptions. Will work with Trent and Brett to create Custom landing page to the collection that is more user friendly than ContentDM 

• The 1910 Alcaldes is 1.6 GB. If there are 90 years it will take 144GB of ContentDM storage 

• Beto Digital collection metadata is complete. I will be saving this born digital collection to our cloud storage 

• Received copies of the 2023 Budget they are waiting to be scanned. 

• Uploaded Summer 2023 ETDs to DSpace, ProQuest, and cataloging 

• Finally resolved the embargo errors in ProQuest 

• Finished Poster on Pitcairn Islands Research Station for OSRP event 

Zach/Tanya 

• Cataloging & Metadata unit policies weeding, updates and migration to MS Teams 

• EDS Custom Catalog: EBSCO’s setup complete; now building records profile and resolving against Sirsi and primary EDS catalog 

• TexShare Database Updates: all cancelations updated in EDS at database, package title, and periodical title levels. Still seeing carryover access in cancelations. 

• LibTicket Management: no spikes or new trends; low volume 

• JuvYA literature assistance; transition preparations 

• CORAL processing/updates and queue processing  

• New ETD files in processing queue 

Lisa 

• Orientation & Welcome Week wrap-up 

• Orientation tabling: Few hundred 

• Commuter Kat Lounge: approx. 150  

• BKO Library Tours: 239  

• Resource Fair: 150   

• Upcoming: HSI week 9/15, Sat@Sam 9/23, Bearkat Family Wknd 9/29 

• Workshop  

• 152 students attended, 4 types, 54 more sessions scheduled 

• Personnel Updates 

• Instruction Librarian: Subject librarians confirmed, rest goes to Lisa S, search pending for late fall 

• Evening Ref Staff (LAII, PT) – Starts tomorrow 

• Billings Supervisor (LAII, FT) – Review underway 

• DPTAC composition 

Michael 

• Budget 

• FY2024 Budget lines sent from  

• Reporting  

• Working with Molly to complete collection of usage stats 

• Department Management 

• Staff 

• Meeting this afternoon in Staff Lounge on Skeletal Crew Policy, Prohibited Technology use, and Strategic Plan. 

• Working on reporting documentation with Director’s office. 

• Faculty 

• Planning meeting for Faculty to review FES 3 standards 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Most Unit Documentation moved 

• LibGuides – Work on documenation in LibGuides? 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 8 Aug 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Zach/Tanya 

• Original Cataloging – working through backlog; TD embargo truck completed; modern OC 70% completed; historical OC 20% completed  

• TexShare Database Cataloging 

• Alternate EDS Catalog Build/Testing: (non-owned EB & EV) 

• Streaming Video orders/licensing 

• CORAL Queue: working through tasks queue 

• TC: Staff training (music; juv-lit) 

• TC: Arts Dept Training, Assistance 

• SS: Stephen helping with CS portable dehumidifiers (main unit unoperational) 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey 

• Trent  

• Personnel Update 

• Summer Intern Update 

• Working with SFA on county records  

• Fall Update  

• Rainey 

• Continuing barcoding project 

• Working with Michelle to revamp the Special Collections displays. 

• “New” collection – H. G. Wells materials. 

• Michelle  

• Wagamon metadata progress 

• Trained Rebecca on creating metadata and using ContentDM 

Molly 

• EDS/Catalog Sync Wednesday/Thursday 

Angela/Lucy 

• Budget spreadsheet overhaul 

• Wishlist fulfillment/troubleshooting 

Brett  

• A-Z list updates 

• Niche Academy database widgets 

• Data Science libguide 

• All of Us Research Program 

• Joined two university committees 

Susan/Sarah 

• Reviewing documentation and metadata projects 

• Having issues uploading the LEMIT paper to Dspace 

• Rebecca is training with Michelle on uploading to ContentDM 

•  

• Digitization Lab: 

• Started scanning the 1930s Alcaldes 

• Continued work on T/D scanning, Rodeo Programs, and Special Collections scanning 

• Coordinating with SpC (Michelle) to refine the scanning instructions document 

• Updating/revising project guides & workflows 

• Note: All students will be returning in the fall; increased output anticipated 

• Note 2: Sarah will be out September 11th – 15th 

Lisa 

• Bearkat Kickoff (Aug 13-17) – Commuter Kats (12-7pm) & Library Tours (2-3pm) on Mon, Tue, & Wed 

• Subject responsibility changes   

• New PACE Liaison program  

• READ scale for ref/consult stats recording  

• IDEA short form pilot for Fall 2023 

• Fall Workshop series for English Composition classes 

• Space reservation guidelines & mission statement revision 

Michael 

• Budget 

• Working with Eric and Angela on Fiscal year spending close. 

• Reporting  

• Working with Molly to complete collection of usage stats 

• Department Management 

• Staff 

• Upcoming meeting on comp time accrual and skeleton crew policies. 

• Faculty 

• Working on onboarding with Angela 

• Set meeting for Faculty to review FES 3 standards 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Updating policies.  

• Testing documentation 

• LibGuides – how does this relate to the Cloud based procedures? Update, wipe, correct. 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 9 May 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Susan/Sarah 

• Permanent Embargo after the fact, do we need to get it printed? 

• Print thesis, make sure it is not scanned for repository. Dark archive an electronic copy. 

• Added articles to Scholarly Work @ SHSU for Dr. Stephen Brown 

• Should we use ILL to get copies of articles that are not available online? 

• Investigate best practices 

• Susan Out of office for TCDL May 15-19 

• Digitization Lab:  

• Steady progress with long-term projects: Thesis project, AAOH, and collection scanning 

• Continued, slightly slowed, progress with Alcalde scanning & processing 

• Troubleshooting software communication/exportation issues 

• Researching solutions and alternate methods of processing 

• Cataloging errors & issues with most recent year(s)  

• Working on updating & revising current/on-going project guidelines, procedures, s.o.p., and project workflows 

• Will be replacing outdated documents in MS Teams/OneDrive with the updated materials once available 

• Digitization students: 

• Though not 100% confirmed (as of today), I anticipate having at least half of the current students throughout the summer months. 

• May potentially see a slight drop in digitization output (on student projects) 

• May see a slight increase in special project(s) output by Sarah 

• Expecting all current students to return in the fall 

Zach/Tanya 

• Holdings Master Project (SS): mapping out four main components/visual chart; component 1 26% completed; goal of 2-4% progress per week 

• Inventory: several questions to Cataloging from Stacks; no increase in processing volume yet (Discovered ref materials that had been designated as discarded, but didn’t get pulled. How to handle?) 

• Staff cross-training: TC wrapping up final SO and comics training components with SS; GovDocs microfiche processing with LB 

• Make sure students who are leaving for the summer but coming back in the fall stay on rolls and keep their wage rate. 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey 

• Rainey – trained with Tanya last week and has restarted the barcoding project.  

• Barbara & Trent to meet with Dr. Olson this Friday  

• Alexis Mize will be interning with Special Collections, University Archives, and Digital Initiatives for Summer II 

• New requested technology items for SpecColl/UA and NGL 

• Personnel Update – SpecColl LAII/Archives LAII  

Molly 

• New EDS UI 

• Marisha out of office until 5/12 - open support case? 

• EZproxy 

• Inventory lists 

Angela/Lucy 

• Angela will be starting soon; Michael, Christine and I have begun working on onboarding tasks 

• Ordering has moved to “in stock” only with Gobi 

• Shelves for game overflow/extended repairs set up in my office  

Brett  

• Accessibility & mobile friendly LibGuides 

• UX methodology and tools 

• EDS UX through WSC 
   

Lisa 

• Midnight Breakfast went well – 300 students 

• Provide recording of BearKat welcome from Library, for virtual tour. 

• How to help public services faculty be more “accountable.” (from 360 review). Feedback mechanism. 

• Think of a mechanism in LibAnswers, Qualtrics or MS Teams to allow for targeted but anonymous feedback.   

• Concerns about timeliness. 

Michael 

• Acquisitions 

• Making Regular Payments 

• Preparing for CDC meetings 

• Preparing to onboard Angela Morse on June 1 

• Electronic Resources 

• CORAL data input 

• Reporting 

• Working on completing the usage data harvest and then moving on to analysis.  

• Department Management 

• Successfully got market adjustments for all eligible TS staff.  

• Job Searches 

• LAII in Special Collections 

• Staff 

• Faculty 

• Met and agreed in principle to telecommuting policy. 

• Doodle poll out to schedule a faculty meeting 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Updating policies.  

• Testing documentation 

• LibGuides – how does this relate to the Cloud based procedures? Update, whip, correct. 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 11 April 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Brett  

• Google Analytics Migration complete 

• Virtual Tour Libguide 

• Elissa training 

• Website updates 
   

Susan/Sarah 

• CV research with faculty – to help fill Scholarly works 

• 51 faculty represented who had downloads of their articles 

• ORSP is looking at a policy about intellectual property and faculty publication. Maybe a need for DI to reach out to make its services known. 

• Digitization Lab: 

• Halfway through with digitizing the 2nd decade of Alcaldes 

• AAOH project is nearly complete: 

• approx. 30 started and/or under review 

• 6 interviews have yet to be started 

• projected completion date: end of summer to end of fall semester 

• Cross-training with other DI folks; lab-time scheduled for hands on/project work. 

Zach/Tanya 

• Inventory processing optimization prep – integration of workflow adjustments for materials returning to stacks 

• OCLC Synchronization (anomaly correction): files downloaded; processing begun 

• Kanopy PDA: auto reintegration of licensed PDA titles expirations into profile. Discussion of potentially separating out single-title additions for bibliographer review / sub fund purchase upon completion of first year license/subscription  

• LibAnswers ticket system: Monthly reported issue totals remain low; avg. initial response time approx. 30 minutes; most issues are being resolved and closed same-day.  

• Periodical Holdings Synchronization Master Project - Progress (Strubing): Project organized into four main components; 23% of first component completed. 

• GovDocs: MARCIVE load numbers decreasing (profile revisions). Seeing some delays in resource shipping. Still receiving some microfiche — all appears to be available online. Discussion of physical processing – need physical resource? 

• New Closed Stacks Discards Location 

Trent/Barbara/Rainey 

• Special Collections personnel update 

• Intern update  

• Trent – SSA conference on April 27-28 

• Dr. Doloshal’s class has done 17 hrs of oral history. 

Molly 

• Inventory pre-processing 

• Might need another set of eyes on spreadsheet 

• Looking at EDS UI change requests 

• COSUGI conference, April 25-27, online 

Open Position/Lucy 

• Working with Bridgit and Crystal about cleaning up standing orders and pocket parts. 

• setting up a meeting with other tech services to go over staff question for upcoming staff interviews 

Lisa 

• Search update (Stacks Maintenace Supervisor LAII) 

• Annual Reviews 

• Learning Loss Forum 

• International Week (April 17-21) 

• Help with Service desk 

• Journal coverage in ECON 

• Lisa out for 4/13 - 4/17 

Michael 

• Acquisitions 

• Making Regular Payments 

• Preparing for CDC meetings 

• Electronic Resources 

• CORAL data input 

• Reporting 

• Working on completing the usage data harvest and then moving on to analysis.  

• Department Management 

• Eric and the Library directors are continuing to work on market and merit issues. HR is also having to work on what their new policy has done. We’ll update you as we can. 

• Job Searches 

• Acquisitions and Serials Librarian search posted 

• Candidates coming Friday 14 April and Monday 17 April. 

• Thanks ahead for participation 

• Staff 

• Annual Appraisals due to be completed tomorrow. 

• Faculty 

• Doodle poll out to schedule a faculty meeting 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Updating policies.  

• Testing documentation 

• LibGuides – how does this relate to the Cloud based procedures? Update, whip, correct. 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 14 March 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Staff Classification Tables 

Open Position/Lucy 

• Discussed with Tanya and Kristina on new arrangement for games, especially doubles, spare parts, and overflow 

• Issues with Houston Chronicle delivery (if we get it, it is often tossed in the parking lot/in the accessible parking which has its own host of issues)  

Brett  

• Google Analytics 

• Springshare Updates 

• Chatbot sandbox? (no) - live test? Not AI, rules based. 

• Conversation with R&I 
   

Susan/Sarah 

• Approving item to be added to Content DM – New Texas Baptist Herald collection 

• Rewrite Job Description 

• Alcaldes Project – Seth will create new project ticket to get the website built 

• Vireo export for ProQuest edited – worked with TDL to fix 
   

Zach/Tanya 

• Acquisition Processes: Documenting any acquisition tasks performed by cataloging staff for potential transfer back to ACQ with hiring of Acq & Ser. Librarian. (Streaming video requests/routing/licensing; E-book special requests; PDA mediation; turn away monitoring) 

• OCLC Synchronization: Developing workflow to perform OCLC synchronization between OCLC and catalog. Identify and remove holdings anomalies both within SIRSI and OCLC. 

• Kanopy – New option to add requested videos to PDA profile (possible application for student requests) 

Trent/Barbara/Open Position 

• Special Collections LA Search Update 

• Masks Exhibit update 

• Several small donations – DAR Alexander Love Anniversary book & Montgomery County cemeteries book 

• Employee Appraisal Reviews  

• Donation from Sam Houston Museum 

Molly 

• EZProxy training 

• ER&L 

• Reports 

• New EDS UI Feedback – please submit 

Lisa 

• Personnel Updates 

Michael 

• Acquisitions 

• Making Regular Payments 

• Preparing for CDC meetings 

• Electronic Resources 

• CORAL data input 

• Reporting 

• Working on completing the usage data harvest and then moving on to analysis.  

• Department Management 

• Job Searches 

• Acquisitions and Serials Librarian search posted 

• 1 candidate 

• Staff 

• Annual Appraisals in process. 

• Faculty 

• Will be discussing a TS faculty telecommuting policy 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Updating policies.  

• Testing documentation 

• LibGuides – how does this relate to the Cloud based procedures? Update, whip, correct. 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 14 February 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Trent/Barbara/Sunday 

• Class instruction update 

• Recent Researchers  

• Oral History Project  

• Barcoding Ongoing 

Open Position/Lucy 

•  Ordering going steady, we have spent out our deposit funds with Gobi.  

• Added a new folder for instruction sheets in the Games Missing Pieces log; will take time to load, but should help mitigate some of the games that come back. 

• Do we buy a new game when something goes missing? 

• Do we get a 3-D printer for pieces. 

Brett  

• Google Analytics 

• Springshare looks to be complete 

• EBSCO is working. Needs to work to filter EBSCO 

• Expanders and Limiters, need to keep working on. 

 
Susan/Sarah 

• Loading collection to the cloud 

• Working on creating some tutorials for Journal software 

• Metadata Workflow 

• Second batch of Alcaldes (1920-1929) is being digitized 

• Reached the half-way point with the Rodeo Programs (overall) 
   

Zach/Tanya 

• Game cataloging backlog nearly caught up. 

• MS Teams policy migration: first round of policies in place for all C&M unit positions 

• JLF holdings update review and synchronization w/PubFinder. ILL interoperation enhancements (SS) 

• Inventory processing: workflow in place and running smoothly. Low volume thus far  

• ZV: FES, Faculty Senate, Scholarship, Original Cataloging (ETD, LEMIT, monographs, games) 

Lisa 

• Marketing & Events Search – Onsite Interview Tue Feb 21 

• Event Updates 

• First-Gen Center Tabling Tomorrow (2/15) 

• Banned Books History Honors Seminar Read-in (3/1) 

• Sat@Sam (3/4, 8a-2p) 

• Islamic Art Celebration (Tue 3/7) 

• International Week (4/17-21) 

• Asia-Themed Book Display with CHSS Diversity Committee 

• Banned Books History Final Presentation (4/26)  

• Question re ER Analytics Que 

• Bearkat Kickoff (Aug 12-17) 

Michael 

• Acquisitions 

• Setting NGL & COM Budgets for FY2024 

• Systems 

• Molly has started work.  

• Work on correcting errors in the item barcodes that were created in the barcoding project. 

• Electronic Resources 

• CORAL data input 

• Reporting 

• IPEDs and ACRL turned in. 

• Working on completing the usage data harvest and then moving on to analysis.  

• Department Management 

• Job Searches 

• Restarting Acquisitions and Serials Librarian search 

• Staff 

• Annual Appraisals are about to begin. 

• Faculty 

• FES – due Feb 15 

• FES reviews scheduled afterwards 

• Will be discussing a TS faculty telecommuting policy 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Updating policies.  

• Testing documentation 

• LibGuides – how does this relate to the Cloud based procedures? Update, whip, correct. 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 10 January 2023 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Library closed on Martin Luther King Day 

Susan/Sarah  

• 2022 download stats sent for Scholarly Works sent out 

• Published December 2022 ETDs and working on downloads for ProQuest and Cataloging 

• Meeting on Friday with Brain Miller with SHSUOnline about possibly new collections in ContentDM or Scholarly Work@ SHSU 

•  

Trent/Barbara/Sunday 

• New Donations: DAR, Mary Whatley, and a collection of Maps  

• Classes are beginning to schedule visits for the Spring and we have had several researchers already  

• TSUS is working on a promotional campaign featuring well-known musical artists from each university in the system.  Archives is working with Mike Foster, video producer, on this.  

• Record Retention questions are coming in for the start of the new year from various departments. 

• James Patton personal collection – look at it next week. 

Open Position/Lucy 

• Updating PaymentWorks with a few vendors 

• Regular ordering; delivering has caught up a little bit from Gobi (we still have outstanding from November)  

• Much thanks to Peter in helping with weed out a lot of the donations 

Zach/Tanya 

• Inventory work, collaboration 

• Component with bibliographers – will be looking at titles on shelves, but not in catalog.  

• Art Department (HVAC) collection – finished, save problem items. Will have to train two new people in the Art Department. 

• Look to set up a system there so they self train. 

• Set a process to process what materials are added to their collection. 

• eJournal package project – add student worker labor to the process.  

Brett  

• Faculty/Staff directory pictures updated 

• Working on new displays for beginning of semester 

• Mapped out library website 

• Tracking Springshare updates  

Lisa 

• Marketing coordinator search update 

• R&I telecommuting 

• Browsing update 

• Genre map (to reduce number of genre) 

Michael 

• Acquisitions 

• Wiley, Sage, and IBISWorld Renewals 

• Balancing budget to begin new year 

• Systems 

• Year end reports 

• Re-Indexing 

• Inventory reports 

• Electronic Resources 

• CORAL data input 

• Reporting 

• Collecting Usage Data 

• Collecting eBook Usage Data 

• Collecting circulation data 

• Prepping for ACRL and IPEDs 

• Department Management 

• Job Searches 

• Systems Librarian offer going to Molly Thompson. Waiting for Provost to approve offer. 

• Faculty 

• FES meetings coming up 

• Will be discussing a TS faculty telecommuting policy 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Updating policies.  

• Testing documentation 

• LibGuides – how does this relate to the Cloud based procedures? Update, whip, correct. 

• TS Head’s meeting 

• Schedule 

• Format 

• Frequency 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 8 November 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Brett  

• Manipulate the Faculty and Staff display on the website. 

• Working on reorganizing the Web Services Committee.  

• Hope to meet next week. 

• Display committee – No More Trent! Rebecca has joined. 

• Will be doing a Native American heritage display. 

• Coffee display 

• Feb – Black History Month Display 

• History of Banned Books Display (not sure when, but student participation) 

• Google Analytics 

• Virtual Tour/Spring Share maps 

• Will be presenting to the Web Services Committee 

• Services to Faculty 

• Records Retention Schedule back up on the website. 

Susan/Sarah  

• Working with Erin & ORCID to get the Affiliations Manger up and running, so we can add employment to their ORCID 

• We are using 86.4% of our Content DM space. (Ask about what increasing the space means) 

• Metadata is continuing to progress. Michelle finished the Smither Genral Store Ledger and is now working to add it to Content DM. 

• Digitization Lab continuing to make progress on projects: Alcaldes, Rodeo Programs, Natural History Museum materials, Transcriptions of oral histories, T&D digitization project, and various collections and materials from Thomason Room/Special Collections & Archives. 

• Book Scanner repaired!! 

Trent/Barbara/Sunday 

• UNT Intern Projects Digital Initiative project? 

• Need to travel to get more prison rodeo programs 

• Barcoding project continues 

• Work in closed stacks  

• Archives personnel update  

• Meeting with DI tomorrow to discuss metadata projects 

• Recent work with class instruction sessions and visiting researchers  

• Today@Sam article for Veterans' Day – Topic JWT 

Open Position/Lucy 

• Ordering has been relatively steady, Gobi is still running slow on print distribution 

• Looking forward to a small donation of some games and books from TAB 

• Games repair processing going smoothly 

• Most of the publishing contacts have been successful, at least we do get responses.  

• Start looking into alternative game storage, especially for boxes that will no longer be able to go on the shelf, or are in general too awkward to go out  

• Large package EBSCO invoices are in and are under review 

• Reviewed donation books policies 

• “instructor copies,” copies marked “not for sale,” will be recycled and not included in property 

• Training Christine to go assist in backlog of donation books 

Zach/Tanya 

• EDS Optimization: Resolved reported full text and linking issues 

• Journal Package Synchronization: Working with Stephen to update ScienceDirect journal packages; ensure Holdings Management holdings accurately reflect purchased/subscribed content 

• TexShare Databases: All new databases now cataloged; in process of being added to A-Z (Brett) and set up in proxy config file. 

• Ticketing System: Working with Stephen to continue ticket backlog reduction. Now down to applicable tickets; all others assigned to respective areas. 

• New Student Onboarding: Hired new student worker. Focusing efforts on game processing. 

• Student Project Management: Integrated new student project queue system; leveraging Teams to facilitate project contribution from all staff, and to more effectively assign projects and monitor progress. 

• Original Cataloging: Wrapping up ETD outliers, LEMIT this week. Clearing out OC trucks in office this week 

• Committee Work: FS, ASP, NGL-FES 

• Scholarship: Wrapping up second JMLA paper submission; anticipated publication this FS. 

Lisa 

• Review of evaluation standards 

• First Year Experience: Common Reader Events (11/15-16) & future planning 

• Marketing & Events Coordinator search 

• Upcoming events: Book Club (11/10), Therapy Dogs (TBD), & Midnight Breakfast 

Michael 

• Acquisitions 

• Large EBSCO Invoice processing 

• Systems 

• Inventory 

• Electronic Resources 

• CORAL data input 

• Department Management 

• Job Searches 

• Systems Librarian posting closes Friday 

• Staff   

• How is telecommuting going? 

• FES standards meeting for faculty 

• 2 Policies turned in, 1 more to do. 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Updating policies.  

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 11 October 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Professional Development Plans (Travel, Sessions) 

• Please have them to me ASAP, so we can submit them to the director’s office.  

Brett  

• Migrating from Universal Analytics to GA4 

• Virtual Tour update 

Susan/Sarah  

• TPILE paper were added to new community in Scholarly Works @ SHSU 

• Add new batch of scanned T&D to Scholarly Work@ SHSU by using SAF creator 

• ProQuest published the embargoed T&D, put in a support ticket to see if the embargo could be added and documents removed from database 

• Asked to be on Conference Committee for Texas Conference on Digital Libraries 

Trent/Barbara/Sunday 

• Barcoding project ongoing  

• New Whatley acquisitions  

• New oldest item in library – manuscript from 1476 

• Continued growth in THR beat/bohemian literature collections (Potts donations) 

• New telecommuting schedule  

• Rainey – Mondays 

• Katie – Wednesdays 

• Sunday – Fridays  

• East Texas Historical Association presentation this week  

• Cheryl will cover afternoon shift (10/13) 

Open Position/Lucy 

• Continued ordering 

• Measure how long it takes to get print orders 

• Set up Games workflow for replacement/repairs of games 

Zach/Tanya 

• Electronic Collections: Synchronization (E-Books, E-Journal Packages) 

• Digital Library: LEMIT, finalizing ETD cataloging updates 

• TexShare Updates: Adding new resources from latest contract 

• Preliminary Enhancement Efforts: Working with Stephen to a) enhance records for ILL needs; b)Enhance outdated a-z SIRSI links for cataloged journals (converting to PubFinder destination) 

• Updating job description and C&M unit policies to reflect telecommuting component 

• JLF – Last accessions and RIC materials processed. RIC discards in Closed Stacks are in the process of being move to blue bins. Catalog holdings updates are ongoing (Stephen) 

• Meetings: Strategic Planning; Faculty Senate 

Tanya 

• Student assistant interview scheduled for Wednesday of this week. 

• Games cataloging progressing at a steady pace. 

• HFAB nearing completion. Jamie needs follow up re: circulation and shelving training - she said that someone contacted her but she then the training was never scheduled. 

• Stephen’s training on print materials is in progress. He’s cataloged two sets of books with me and will be doing a third in his own this week for me to check. 

Lisa 

• At Conference 

• Some upcoming Halloween themed events 

Michael 

• Acquisitions 

• Documenting Procedures and Practices 

• Systems 

• Molly is working to split main collection into smaller batches. 

• Collection Development 

• TexShare 

• Gale and ProQuest are offering credits, not refunds. Looking to use these effectively.  

• Identifying other new, continuing resources. 

• Working to move forward with SCELC ACS package. 

• Electronic Resources 

• A number of new resource records to enter into CORAL 

• Need to modify CORAL workflows 

• Department Management 

• Job Searches 

• Moving forward with Systems librarian posting. 

• Staff policy meeting  

• Any concerns arising? 

• Telecommuting getting set? 

• FES standards meeting for faculty 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Updating policies.  

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 13 September 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Professional Development Plans (Travel, Sessions) 

• Please have them to me ASAP, so we can submit them to the director’s office.  

Zach/Tanya 

• JLF Processing – Record generation for final set – awaiting final RIC confirmations 

• ETD processing caught up. Transitioning to Lemit 

• K-REF materials processed – transitioned out of CS to Main 

• TexShare Cataloging – renewals and removals 

• LibTickets system now down to below 40 – great work Stephen 

• Art Dept. Library moving along – coordinated Circ/Shelving training with Access Services. All books processed – several shelves of DVDs remaining 

• Original Cataloging – several trucks of materials in office area; transitioning to these upon wrapping up JLF 

Brett  

• Stats review 

Susan/Sarah  

• Sarah is hiring some new student workers, waiting for students to come in and do the paperwork and background checks 

• The JWT destroyer collection is now in the cloud along with its metadata need to do additional work to get it into the correct format for bulk upload to ContentDM 

• Working to get Texas Tides collection ready to go through Archivmatica and stored in the cloud. Had some issues with stalled transfers but worked with the server team to resolve them.  

• A new metadata assistant Carlie will start on Friday. She will be working on the Accessibility of the Alcaldes and metadata.  

• No news on Alcaldes website 

• Fixity is now working on Michelle’s computer, and we are running monthly checks on Dark Archive to make sure the files are not corrupt.  

• Sarah out this week. 

Trent/Barbara/Sunday 

• Several donor visits coming up 

• Several classes to visit THR 

• Intern update - social media posts & work for Digital Initiatives  

• Trent getting ready for presentations  

Teri (for some time)/Lucy 

• Working with Teri to balance end of the fiscal year 

• Rolling over to the new FY 

Lisa 

• Resource Fair: 200+ participants, 180+ “swipe-ins, 141 completed passports, with 30+ campus partners 

• Silent Disco: about 100 participants, 4 librarians, 760 libguide views  

• Upcoming: Bearkat Family Weekend (9/16-18), Sat@Sam (9/24) 

• Strategic Planning: Team reports due Nov 15 

• Internal dept planning: Standards review & NGLI teaching load  

Michael 

• Acquisitions 

• Completed Fiscal Close 

• Working to Roll SIRSI acquisitions to be ready to purchase for FY2023 

• Setting up Budget Worksheets for FY2023 

• Working on Budget for FY2023 

• Firm Order Fund Allocations completed 

• Refunds/Credits associated with TexShare change 

• Working to identify continuing funds vs. One time funds 

• Securing funds for JLF 

• Documenting Procedures and Practices 

• Still unable to process payment to Global Data 

• Systems 

• IT will be syncing the SIRSI Dev server with the Prod Server 

• Setting up how to do Inventory for main collection. 

• Collection Development 

• TexShare 

• Moving from EBSCO to Gale 

• Identify EBSCO product that we may want to subscribe to. 

• ERIC 

• Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection 

• Business Source  

• Literary Reference Center 

• Additional ProQuest products 

• AVON now paid by TexShare 

• Health Research Premium Collection 

• Identifying other new, continuing resources 

• Electronic Resources 

• A number of new resource records to enter into CORAL 

• Need to modify CORAL workflows 

• Once License to vet. 

• Department Management 

• Job Searches 

• Librarian jobs on hold until fiscal roll is complete 

• Carlie Chapman begins Friday 

• Staff policy meeting  

• FES standards meeting for faculty 

• Documentation 

• Moving to MS Teams 

• Updating policies.  

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 11 August 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

•  This meeting will be moved to the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 9 a.m. (we can change the time if people want) 

Trent/Barbara/Sunday  

• Worchel cataloging project nearly complete  

• Plaques coming 

• THR barcoding project has commenced 

• Double check the ordering of barcodes 

• Staff Senate/Ombuds info  

• Sept. 13th LSC 241 3:00 – session for interested parties 

• Presentation for the new Ombudsperson. 

• Conflict resolution 

• University policy clarification 

• President White wants more family events on campus 

• New freezer up and running  

• Update from Rainey on Prison Rodeo metadata (2/3 done) 

• Walker Co. Historical Commission/James Patton  

• New item on loan to the Bob Bullock Museum in Austin  

• Sam Houston bust location selected 

• UNT intern starting on Aug. 29th  

• Trent - Several presentations coming up  

Vacant/Lucy 

•  Working on paying final invoices for Firm orders, subs and standing orders 

• Sending out emails for any outstanding orders 

• Preparing for FY2023 deposits 

Zach/Tanya 

• Thesis & Dissertations pre-Spring ‘21 caught up – finalizing fixed field coding in OCLC with loads coming in tomorrow. 25% through Spring ‘21 

• Resolved OCLC complication impacting ILL services pertaining to how e-book records were being displayed to libraries via FirstSearch – E-books showing as “Books”. Working through simplified solution involving review of e-book records in OCLC for purchased materials 

• Art Dept. Collection progressing nicely. Set up student account to assist with processing and checking out. 

• JLF Processing: 95% of Phase 1 work completed (inventorying materials to be claimed; generating lists to send). Have three lists pending with JLF, and 4 pallets of materials ready to ship Sept. 26 (last accession batch).  

• JLF Periodicals Holding Maintenance: Stephen working through list of previously claimed and sent serials to ensure holdings are up to date and accurate across all search venues (OPAC, OCLC & PubFinder/Journal Search) 

• OCLC Synchronization: Working on synchronizing OCLC holdings to OPAC prior to Fall semester. 

• Closed Stacks K Materials – Laurie working through processing Closed Stacks K-Ref Materials tagged to be shifted to Main. Approx. 35% completed. 

Brett  

• A-Z list review 

• Libguides review  

• ILLiad server 

• Display committee updates 

• Rebecca onboarding 

Susan/Sarah  

• Fire resistant cabinet delivered and in place, we are monitoring the temperature and humidity inside the cabinet. This is where the collections are kept when not being scanned 

• New position (metadata assistant) we have nine applications to review 

• Issue of paint in the Digitization Lab 

• ORCid contract paid. I sent in contact information, and I have an orientation meeting tomorrow. 

• Metadata issues- hard to read handwriting will be looking for resources and classes for those who do metadata. Errors in metadata done in the past will see projects sent to special collections for help.  

Lisa 

• Orientations: New students (12 done), Faculty (8/15), International (Aug 19?), & Graduate (8/22) 

• Presentations & Tabling: GUIA (graduate & undergraduate instructor academy) & TLC (teaching & learning conference) 

• Searches: Night circ supervisor (LAII) & Medical Librarian 

• Rebecca Onboarding 

• NGL 225-6: partition walls fixed & computers order arriving next month 

• Voter registration table in main lobby late Aug – Oct 11 

• Resource fair Tue Aug 30, 11:30-1 (contact Fabiola with questions) 

Michael 

• Job Searches 

• Hired Specialist IV – Systems (Molly Thompson) and Specialist V – Acquisitions (Teri Oparanozie).  

• New staff position in Digital Initiatives (LA II FT) 

• We are evaluating the two open Faculty positions. Will look to post in beginning of September. 

• TS Faculty meeting – Continuing work on Department Tenure Standards – Hold early September 

• Staff Policies 

• 5 emergency work from home days per semester. Granted by unit supervisor. We do not want to be granting them same day unless illness. 

• Again, hoping to hold a meeting in September for more talks on staff policies. 

• How is the work in MS Teams going? 

• Systems 

• Working to complete the JUV Inventory Pilot, hope to begin the Main inventory soon. 

• Exploring ILS 

• EDS interface update, EDS update  

• Acquisitions 

• Have all but 1 outstanding invoicing in.  

• Looking to begin invoicing for next year 

• For COM, have sent large invoice up for signatures. 

• Will begin looking to allocate next year’s budget. 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 14 July 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Susan/Sarah  

• A new batch of Prison Rodeo Programs has been delivered, Sarah is working on scanning 1915 Alcaldes, and De’Andre is working on accessibility for 1912 Alcaldes.  We have two years ready to be posted. IT has not created a test website with the viewer yet.  

• Working with Will from the Natural History Museum on the next batch of papers from the Parks collection. 

• Honors Thesis completed and ready to be sent to Honors 

• Texas Tides metadata needs to be put in preservation format, I am working on the 2nd disk 

• New metadata position – working on Job description approval 

• Waiting on fixes for Abby licenses, Fixity Pro, Duracloud Sync, and SAF builder 

• I will be out July 22 & 25-26 

Trent/Barbara/Sunday  

• Worchel cataloging near completion 

• Barcoding project  

• Dana Andrews movie event 

• Barbara – Update on Walker County Treasures site 

• Trent – NGL Artwork update 

• Display Committee update  

• New Freezer for SpecColl & UA 

• Sam Houston Bust coming to NGL 

• Trent presentation for Huntsville Lions club on July 28th  

Vacant/Lucy 

• Gearing up for the end of fiscal year.  

• Getting all invoices in and paid 

• Finishing up ordering for the fiscal year, Christine is reaching out to Gobi to ensure shipments arrive on time. 

• Next bindery shipment will be going out end of August 

• To keep billing straight with fiscal years, and to ease workload on Christine (didn’t have the 55 minimum piece shipment in June, and July is focused on ordering/receiving)  

Zach/Tanya 

• JLF – second of third shipment completed. Third shipment scheduled for Sept, but aiming to wrap up physical processing and record generation by end of July. 

• Thesis & Dissertation Work – nearly completed with backlog. Integrating staff with part of the process to help ensure quick turnarounds for future files. 

• Inventory – assisting with Sirsi inventory steps.  

• JLF Holdings Maintenance – reviewing and updating holdings for all serial materials previously claimed and/or shipped to JLF. Synchronizing holdings across OPAC, OCLC and Engine Orange. 

• Scholarship – wrapping up final JLF paper for submission. 

• Tickets – substantial improvements in ticket backlogs and initial response times. Being monitored and routed by SKS, who is covering first layer of questions pertaining to Books, Ebooks, streaming videos, and Serials. 

• Cataloging with the Art Department 

Brett  

• F&S Services webpage 

• Web services documentation 

• Web services comm. 

• EZProxy 

Lisa 

• Rebecca (CAM R&I librarian) starts on Mon Aug 1 

• Night Circulation (LA II FT) position posted 

• Orientations wrapping up 

• Instructional room tech issues 

• Annual assessment (Anthology aka Campus Labs) due 

• Course Scheduling  

• Watermark  

Michael 

• Job Searches 

• Both Searches have failed. Will be reposting in the next 5 business days. 

• New staff position in Digital Initiatives (LA II FT) 

• Posted Systems Specialist position 

• TS Staff policy implementation meeting – Hoping to have in August 

•  Continuing work on Department Tenure Standards 

• Have held two staff working meetings with MS Teams.  

• Documentation being placed in Teams in Units? 

• Systems 

• Working on Inventory Reports (Zach completed pilot) 

• Exploring ILS 

• EDS interface update 

• EDS update  

• Acquisitions 

• This work taking most of my time. 

• Managing budget 

• Contacting vendors 

• Licensing 

• Working with Christine on EBSCO renewal 

• Working with Lucy on large package renewals 

• Collection Development meeting 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 9 June 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

Brett  

Website updates 

Michelle-training 

Look to see which MS Teams she needs to be added to 

Look for access to Archivematica 

Susan/Sarah  

Alcaldes Project Update: 

Alcaldes are still being digitized (1910-1913/1914* scanned) 

Scanned Alcaldes are going through the remediation/accessibility stage so that they will be web-ready when the Internet Archive Book Reader is ready to go 

1910 Accessibility completed 

IT is still working on getting Internet Archive Book Reader up and running 

Prison Rodeo Programs Update: 

Set 3 digitized; at about 35% completion for the overall project 

Michelle (new metadata assistant) "Orientation" 

Over 50% completion on the African American Oral Histories Project 

Interviewing student applicants to fill vacant positions 

Trent/Barbara/Sunday  

New donations/collections -- Whatley & Beto  

Worchel collection update 

Bates Collection metadata – nearly updated 

New work with Archives Space finding aids -- Spanish Translation for SHSU HSI & Uploading to TARO 

Transfer of Montgomery County Death Records back to county 

Microsoft Teams document migration update 

Vacant/Lucy 

Worked with Michael to ordering CDC approved end of fiscal year databases/archives/journals 

Weekly FNRs. 

Gamer’s Grove purchasing—payment works set up; order process 

Zach/Tanya 

Itemization/Inventory: Barcoding project completed – now transitioning into prepping for inventory process and workflow. Reviewing and establishing proper report/API processes. 

Art Department Collection: Tanya project lead. Have begun assisting Art Department with dept.-specific library collection, which will be in Sirsi and searchable through the OPAC and Discovery Service. Developed procedures and collaborative workflow with Art Dept. rep. Finalizing Sirsi settings. Processing has begun on both ends. 

Also working with mold and other physical damage the books. 

JLF Processing: Stephen project lead – working to scan, box and palletize accessions for first JLF shipment later this month. 15+ boxes completed thus far. ZV role includes overseeing project pace, and using scanned lists to generate JLF-specific records required to import titles into JLF. Will also  update holdings, locations, etc., for shipped items. 

Misc: C&M unit cross-training enhancements; staff integration into portions of T&D work to enhance efficiency; faculty hiring committees 

Lisa 

Searches   

R&I (CAM) librarian – on campus interviews June 13, 14, 17 

Medical librarian (COM) - job ads posted  

ILL & Copy Services LAII – interviews will be completed this afternoon 

R&I Stats updates 

Qs - UTD, student hires 

Steps challenge(d) 

Michael 

Job Searches 

ER Librarian search 

One candidate interviewed on June 6 

One candidate Zoom Screening interviewed on June 8 

Head of Acquisitions and Serials 

All originally identified candidates have withdrawn from the search 

TS Staff policy implementation meeting - Still working on this (or excluding Special Collections & University Archives)  

Beginning to work on Department Tenure Standards, next meeting Thursday 9 June. 

Documentation in the Unit 

Implementation in Units? 

Collection Development 

Journal and DB purchases approved by CDC 

Set up purchasing agreement with Gamer’s Grove 

Systems 

Working on Inventory Reports (Zach working on them now) 

Exploring ILS 

EDS interface update 

EDS update  

Acquisitions 

Working with Christine on EBSCO renewal 

Working with Lucy on large package renewals 

Collection Development meeting 

Eric 

Summer Time Out 

Michael Out June 20 – July 1 

Trent Shotwell – June 13 - 17 

Susan Elkins - Open Repositories June 6 –10 

Teams Notes – Set up a meeting with a doodle poll to begin to coordinate how we will coordinate the setup. 

Cataloging looking at the apps – class notebook, class app, task app 

Digital Initiatives – Planner, Forms, SharePoint; also looking at Project, Milestones, Power BI, Poll Everywhere, OneNote, and Channel Calendar 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 12 May 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

•  Teri O’s Retirement Party Thursday 26 May at 2 p.m. 

Susan/Sarah  

• New Metadata Assistant Search the offer has been accepted pending a background check and she will be starting 6/6 (Susan at conference) 

• Possible new journal converting from print Instructional Techniques in Finance 

• Format Conversions will restart as Danny finished the Texas Tides Metadata 

• Should be publishing ETDs for Spring 22 soon 

• Issue getting another copy of Fixity and allowing others to use the copy on Brett’s old computer 

• TCDL Virtual May 23-26 and Open Repositories June 6 –10 

Trent/Barbara/Sunday  

• UNT Practicum Student Intern for Fall 2022 or Spring 2023 

• James Long Endowment committee update 

• Jim Olson Retirement – May 17th 

• Distinguished Staff Awards – May 23rd  

• Walker County Treasures site 

• Trent out for conference May 17th – 20th  

Teri/Lucy 

• Print serials workflow forms 

• Working with Christine on print serials forms 

• Worked with Stephen on cataloging portion of print serials forms for closed titles and format change. Need to work on title changes and new titles 

• Worked with Michael on adding a new e-journal subscription in EBSCONET, CORAL, and Sirsi (also with Lucy on Sirsi order) 

• Controller’s Office Deadlines for end of FY2022 have been released – will update Michael and Lucy about these 

• Sage and Elsevier journal package renewal updates 

• Lucy on vacation: May 20-27, (Memorial Day May 30th), return May 31 

• Work with Lucy and Gobi to set up EDI ordering for e-book deposit account for FY23 

Zach/Tanya 

• Barcoding/Itemization Project: 90%+ completed; some unit downtime, but overall interval production holding at ~4% 

• Digital Library: approx. 50% backlog ready to upload – working in more over next week. 

• Systems Lead: taking lead in reviewing and archiving reports and system APIs generated over past year/s. Reviewing schedules for scheduled reports. Establishing structure/plan to ensure core operations remain functional in the event of system issues, etc. 

• Games: All unit staff trained in game cataloging. 

• JLF: Accession lists being reviewed for confirmation with JLF. Physical processing is 92%+ completed, with SKS reviewing remaining straggler groups.  

• Genre Heading Enhancement — collaboration with Tech Services and Stacks Maintenance 

• Setting up Cataloging & Metadata library outreach program, which will provide structure to regularly meet with all librarians and discuss catalog & discovery system needs, deficiencies (areas for improvement, etc.), planned enhancements/changes, etc. 

• Faculty TS Search Committees 

• Wrapping up NGLI and Faculty Senate 

Brett 

• Updated library hours 

• CMS  

• Vacation: May 23th –30th  

Lisa 

• Orientation prep (new student & faculty) 

• Welcome Week Resource Fair 

• Searches (CAM, COM, ILS/Copy Rm) 

• NGLI 1101  

Michael 

• Job Searches 

• ER Librarian search 

• Screening Zoom Interviews Set for Friday and Monday 

• Head of Acquisitions and Serials 

• Screening Zoom Interviews Set for Friday 

• TS Staff policy implementation meeting with all TS (or excluding Special Collections & University Archives) in early June. (This will happen!) 

• “Big 4” University Policies have been approved. Department will need to set department's specific performance standards over the next few months. 

• Faculty who have had their “straw vote” will be judged by current policy. Those who have not will be judged by this policy. 

• Sent out Doodle Poll 

• Documentation in the Unit 

• Participated in Microsoft Teams Training 

• Implementation in Units? 

• Art Department Collection 

• Collection Development 

• Gathering usage on Databases 

• Journal and DB purchases. 

• Reaching out to Gamers Grove on Game Purchases 

• Systems 

• Working on Inventory Reports 

• Exploring ILS 

• EDS interface update 

• Working with Teri on knowledge transfer in her work 

Eric 

• Strategic Plan – Group is evaluating the library building 

Summer Time Out 

• Michael Out June 20 – July 1 

• Brett Out - May 23rd –30th 

• Trent Shotwell - conference May 17th – 20th 

• Susan Elkins - Open Repositories June 6 –10 

• Lucy on vacation: May 20-27, (Memorial Day May 30th), return May 31 

•  

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 14 April 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Welcome to Brett as the new Web Services Librarian 

Trent  

• Donations – Wesley Church & Sutton E. Griggs 

• Montgomery County Records – Discussing digitization with Family Search and representatives from Montgomery Co. Clerks office 

• NGL Artwork committee update 

• Book repair update  

• Visiting Researcher – Richard Bush 

• Class instruction with Hannah 

Teri 

• Completed annual staff appraisals for Lucy and Christine (Christine will still need to have a 6-month evaluation in May 2022 for June.) 

• Planning training sessions for Lucy and Christine  

• Journal package renewals 

• Wiley/NERL - received approval from SHSU Procurement and OGC to proceed. Now waiting for NERL to sign with Wiley and for SHSU to sign with NERL. Deadline April 26, 2022 

• Sage Premier – waiting for NERL to decide between 2 options Sage proposed for handling SHSU Procurement participation agreement  

• Elsevier ScienceDirect license still under review by Procurement and OGC 

• Working to record/update procedures for my replacement 

• Vacation: April 25-29, 2022 

Zach 

• Special Projects: Closed Stacks Z-REF Materials & KF Materials (Transitions & Discards) 

• Barcoding/Itemization: Excellent progress being made – many thanks to all contributing departments. Seeing light at the end of the tunnel. 

• Digital Library Work – Highest priority for personal objectives. ETA for end of next week 4/22 to get latest materials accounted for and represented. 

• Original Cataloging: Working through small backlog of items. 

• Committee Work: UFS & Committee on Committee & Surveys taking time – adjusting schedule to work these in. Three search committees 

• Staff Reviews 

• Scholarly Work: Close to completing grant workshop. Wrapping up final peer-review revisions to JMLA article w/ JLF. Possible affiliated presentations. 

Susan 

• 1st quarter download reports for Scholarly Works @ SHSU were sent out 

• Working with Texas Digital Library to work out bug in Vireo 4 

• Developed an Accessibility plan to remediate each page of Alcaldes, need to talk to IT about display and storage of scanned pages 

• Captioning pilot went well. Waiting on Budget to start next stage of project 

• Budget approved! 

• Metadata, Texas Tides Project is almost done as is the Bates Sandford Correspondence. 

• Upcoming meeting to talk about metadata recording process 

• Train Katy Nardone on metadata 

Brett 

Lisa 

• Search updates: CAM R&I librarian & Night Library Assistant I  

• Accreditation support: various 

• Summer orientation prep (first “norm” in 3 years. Also new marketing coordinator in place) 

• Will be other opportunities to assist with Library involvement. Let Lisa and Fabiola know.  

Michael 

• Job Searches 

• ER Librarian search 

• Posted at SHSU 

• Looking to post more widely 

• Head of Acquisitions and Serials 

• Posted at SHSU 

• Looking to Post more widely 

• TS Staff policy implementation meeting with all TS (or excluding Special Collections & University Archives) in early May. 

• Documentation in the Unit 

• Training time still to be set. 

• Inventory 

• Working with Teri on knowledge transfer in her work 

• Summer Schedules 

• Professional Development  

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: 10 March 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Annual Performance Appraisals 

• Sarah Sellers has been given title of Library Associate  

Susan 

• Starting a new pilot program to add subtitles to the video’s in Dspace.  

• Latest version of Vireo is now live. Working we Leanna from the Graduate Department on testing. 

• Training virtual meeting with Digital Transitions 

• Added first batch of scanned Thesis and Dissertations to Scholarly Works (1930 – 1978) 

• Add link to catalog record 

Trent  

• NGL Artwork – A small committee was formed to rehang the artwork that was taken down on 1st and 2nd floors due to the renovation. 

• Recent Donations – Paintings, Roosevelt books, Huntsville internment camp materials, Wesley Brethren Church letters, Sutton E. Griggs research materials, Glenn Payne donation.   

• Wesley Letters come with digitization request 

• Send Theatre magazines to SC for decision 

• Items on loan to Bob Bullock Museum - Early Spanish Documents  

• Class instruction - Buehler & Pruitt classes 

• Sunday’s catalog training  

• Katy’s training  

• Presentation on the Bats - Huntsville Audubon Society  

• Internships and visiting researchers  

• Spoke to Seth about digital storage 

Teri 

• Waiting for new NERL director to review participant agreement from our Procurement Office for Sage Premier e-journals and then Wiley e-journals. Also waiting on Elsevier to finish reviewing the Procurement terms. 

• Continuing work with Michael on FY2023 materials budget projection 

• Working with Eric, Michael, and Arwen on COM FY22 and FY23 budgets 

• Houston Chronicle newspaper: Erin is amenable to training her staff to checkin the newspaper using the Sirsi Workflows serial control module to expedite access for patrons 

• Bindery: 2 missing books and their KASEboxes found and delivered 3/8/22.  

Zach 

• JLF – Claim and Processing update: Q claim approved; two lists pending review. 

• Barcoding/Itemization Project: making strong progress – 63.5%  

• Barcoding volumes that return from bindery process in place 

• Game Cataloging – Backlog Project Update – group effort 

• C&M and Special Collections collaboration – cataloging workflow training (Tanya/Sunday) 

• CS Z Materials Project: Staff project to sift through and process set 

• Theses & Dissertations Processing 

• New Committees: Faculty Senate and Committee on Committees 

• K materials: Decisions made by Dianna, will begin processing and removing/discarding if applicable. 

Lisa 

• Misc. updates from last meeting  

• https://shsulibraryguides.org/gamecollection 

• Mintel meeting 

• Academic policy revisions 

• CAM librarian search updates 

• Interviews on 3/21 & 3/30 

• Revised library meet & greet format  

Michael 

• Job Searches 

• Web Services Librarian search 

• Interview on 28 March 2022 

• ER Librarian search 

• Search Failed 

• Looking to repost next week 

• Head of Acquisitions and Serials 

• Reviewing Job Description 

• Will be posting as soon as possible to help work to get someone in.  

• Annual Performance Appraisals  

• Plan on reviewing your staff ratings with me at our biweekly meetings.  

• TS Staff policy implementation meeting with all TS (or excluding Special Collections & University Archives) in early April. 

• Documentation in the Unit 

• Encouraging everyone to begin using MS Teams to store documents 

• Michael will arrange training 

• Need to review documentation. Much of what is there is very old. Need to update. 

• Licensing work for Elsevier, Sage, Wiley, Emerald, and IEEE 

• Vendor Relations 

• Working with The Adventure Begins store on game/manga/graphic novel/comic book sourcing 

• Exploring National Theatre package from ProQuest 

• Inventory 

• Stacks maintenance working on actual inventory 

• Snafu with missing books and “missing 2” category. Working to resolve. 

• Recycling 

• Tub designated.  

• Getting a new plastic recycling receptacle  

• Should be very close to starting it. 

• Working with Teri on knowledge transfer in her work 

• Spring Break Schedules 

• Michael out half day on 16, all day on 17. (Don’t forget Energy Conservation Day on the 18) 

Eric 

Tech Services Heads Meeting: February 10, 2022 

ANNOUNCEMENTS/GENERAL ITEMS 

• Welcome to Library Associates  

• Staff appraisals in March 

• Off gassing in the Closed Stacks* 

Trent 

• Archives Space update – ETC? (March?) 

• Begin linking online collections into Finding Aids 

• Thomason Destroyer collection needs Finding Aid 

• Part-time Archives Assistant 

• Donations  

• Mexican Masks & Photographs, documentation 

• Portraits from Steamboat House Restaurant 

• County Records digitization with Family Search 

• New Storage area 

• University Archives – Student Assistant working on changing certain resources to LC. Book collection completed. Now looking at departmental books. And then will move to folders (pamphlets).  

• Handling lots of online requests for information. 

• Acaldes (sp?) is all over the internet.  

• A number of donations into UA. 

Teri 

• Lois (Christine) Charles hired and doing well in LAII Acquisitions & Serials position 

• E-journal package renewals  

• Elsevier ScienceDirect TLCUA – license sent to Purchasing for review and orders in Sirsi being revised to  

• Sage Premier All Access – joining NERL consortia agreement for 2022 and EBSCO agreed to not charge a service fee to invoice through them – need to sign authorization for NERL 

• Wiley – joining NERL agreement for 2 years 2022 and 2023 –need to sign authorizations for NERL and Wiley 

• Springer – 2nd year of license renewal – received invoices  

• Bindery – shipment arrived Jan. 24 and next shipment will be week of March 7. Two KASEboxes/books missing—HF Group will pay for replacements. (Looking for true replacements)  

• talk to Bruce about repairs. 

• Work with Michael to update FY22 budget and project budget for FY23 

Zach 

• Training for new staff progressing well. SS fully integrated into ticketing system / error report monitoring. LB now trained and working on all tasks outside of GovDocs; next in queue. 

• JLF - reformatting claims submission reports to adhere to new standard. Once completed, more space will be cleared out of Closed Stacks 

• K Materials: Bibliographers reviewing list of K materials located in Closed Stacks 

• Z Materials: Small section of Z materials in CS being processed for discard and relocation. 

• Original Cataloging: working through backlog of OC work; projecting to finish all in queue in Feb (Lemit?, T&D) 

• Search Committees: Candidate and Ref interviews 

• Scholarly: Approximately halfway through development of research-based diversity training course (grant). 

• Sunday Stewart Training – will be picking back up. 

• Need to update the training documentation (need to get up into a LibGuides and Microsoft Teams)  

• Itemization of Bound Journals Project 

Susan  

• Testing a new version of Vireo (ETD submission software). Hope to have it live soon. 

• Finished the stat report for January and put copy of recent added articles in the Dark Archives.  

• Sarah is teaching the students to work on the new DT Atom for scanning. Encountering some problems during the crop and export. Sarah will contact support for help. The size pictures are causing some policy changes for access and preservation copies. 

• Starting a pilot program using AI generated transcriptions with student corrections to create subtitles for video’s. 

• Working on preservation documentation before Feb 24 Preservation Committee meeting.  

Lisa 

• Searches: CAM Librarian (Art, Mass Comm, Theatre), Night LAI, Lib Assoc.  

• Campus events & collaborations (Poetry Slam, DLC, Costume, Islamic Art) 

• Normal R&I business updates 

• Parental leave coverages 

Michael 

• Job Searches 

• ER – 1 applicant 

• Web – 3 applicants  

• Tech Serv interpretation of Staff policies 

• Licensing 

• Itemization of Bound Journals 

• Inventory of Juvenile collection 

• Access issues 

• Met with EBSCO on Panorama, not yet compatible with Symphony. 

• Experimenting with new EDS interface. EBSCO is allowing for a gradual migration, including turning on aspects of the interface in the “classic” view. Trying to determine what the effect of this move will be on systems.  

• Working closely with Teri in light of her nearing retirement to make sure all institutional practices are understood.  

• Pause on ILS/LMS change until hires and inventory completed. 

Eric 

• At Budget Retreat with administration. 

1. Chart time of Resource Renewal
   1. possible Google calendar?
2. Receiving
3. Ordering/Payment Separation 
4. Banned Publisher List
5. Review Profiles in PDA & AP
6. Print Serials Review

1. Thomason Serials.
2. FlexKey Clean Up.
3. Thomason Locations
4. Analytics
5. Unlinked headings (Blind References)
6. Multiple Copies Project
7. Vireo
8. ILL & OCLC
9. English Genre Headings

1. Statistics 
   1. Gathering
   2. Processing
   3. Use
   4. Print
   5. E-Serial
   6. Database
   7. Music
   8. Price of STL
2. VHS Replacement Project

see ER Projects here: ElectronicResources LibGuide > Projects & Ideas

1. Serials & ILL & MARC holdings.
2. Mobil Circulation.
3. Shelf Read
4. "D" # Project