SHSU Special Collections Department
Photocopy and Scan Policy
General Policy Points:
- While we are happy to make copies and scans, please be conscientious about the selections you make for your photocopy request.
- Please fill out the online photocopy / scan request form, indicating whether the photocopies are for publication, personal study or for another purpose
- Be sure to capture the bibliographic / citation information for each book or manuscript you are requesting.
- SHSU Special Collections staff reserves the right to deny requests if the item in question has preservation issues.
- Material may be quoted or reproduced for private or educational use without prior permission as long as a proper citation is given. See the citation guides on the Library’s website for tips on forming a proper citation: https://shsulibraryguides.org/archivalcitations.
Any commercial use of material found on this site or found in SHSU Special Collections is prohibited without prior permission from Newton Gresham Library, Sam Houston State University.
- For government information about copyright law please visit: http://www.copyright.gov/
- Newton Gresham Library’s policy is available here: https://shsulibraryguides.org/copyright
- SHSU Special Collections reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.
- A scan or photocopy, even if for a publication, does not indicate a transfer of copyright.
In-house photocopy request:
- For in-house photocopy requests, the first 20 copies per patron are free. Beyond 20, the copies completed in-house are $.10 cents per copy.
- SHSU Special Collections reserves the right to deny a photocopy request based on preservation concerns or limited staff time.
Procedures for mailed photocopy request:
- SHSU Special Collections charges $.10 cents per copy for shipped copy requests as well as a calculated shipping and handling fee. Tax will be applied to the copies total but not for shipping and handling.
Procedures for county record photocopies:
- Copies of Walker and other county materials are subject to the regular fee of $1.00 per page (as per the policies of the Walker County Courthouse) plus tax. This fee is payable to the copy center downstairs. The copy center can provide a receipt for patrons.
- County records patrons are encouraged to photograph (with either cameras or camera phones) the county records they are researching.
Procedures for scanning requests:
- For scanning requests, if the item is for personal use, the request (when 10 or fewer scans) will be processed free of charge.
- When scanning for publication, any charge will be determined by SHSU Special Collections Department Head and Library Administration.
*SHSU community includes SHSU students, faculty and staff.
- Those requesting a scan will be asked to fill out the online photocopy/ scan request form.