Research Guides: Free Images, Videos, Music, &amp; Texts Instructors Can Legally Use in Courses: Video Resources

Subscription Film Databases from SHSU

Films from these databases require an SHSU username and password to watch off-campus.

Best Bets - Start Here!

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window This platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.

Other Collections

ATLAS (Accomplished Teaching, Learning and Schools) This link opens in a new window This database provides professional teaching videos. Access to more than 1,400 cases covering most subjects, grades and school settings. Indexed to standards and frameworks for teachers and students, ATLAS cases offer a visual representation of these standards providing a clear image of accomplished teaching. All ATLAS cases are from National Board Certified Teachers. Each video case has been validly assessed as accomplished practice, according to National Board Standards.
LWW Health Library This link opens in a new window The LWW Health Library includes commonly required Lippincott textbooks, multimedia assets, and review tools—for use in medical, pharmacy, and other health sciences programs.
MackinVia This link opens in a new window MackinVIA provides easy access to eBooks, audiobooks, educational databases, and videos for K-12 students and teachers. Use MackinVIA on any desktop, laptop, or mobile device with Internet access; content can be embedded into Blackboard or other LMS.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window Unlimited access to more than 500 performances from the Metropolitan Opera. This resource is limited to ten users at a time.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. National Theatre Collection contains access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
Nursing Education in Video This link opens in a new window Nursing Education in Video: Third Edition is an up-to-date collection of demonstration and training videos designed to help students improve their clinical skills. This resource provides access to Medcom's complete collection of 300+ full-length training videos allowing your patrons anytime, anywhere access to the latest resources available for nurse training so they can provide the best possible patient care.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC) This link opens in a new window Library of current event topics, including the facts as well as the arguments of each topic's proponents and detractors. Viewpoint articles allow students to explore each topic's many facets. Also features statistics and government data placed in context.
- This link opens in a new window
PBS Video Collection This link opens in a new window Hundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS).
Psychotherapy.net Streaming Video This link opens in a new window A selection of streaming videos for psychotherapists.

Search Films on Demand

Digitizing DVDs

Sometimes a specific film is desirable, but is not available in a streaming video format, and then SHSU Online or the library receive requests to digitize DVDs. Follow these guidelines:

When possible, try to use video the Library already has online.
Ask your subject librarian for help finding similar online content to replace a long-used DVD.
- Find your subject librarian.
To request streaming video rights for a DVD:
- Submit the Request to Digitize Media form.
- We will try to get streaming video rights: sometimes a request is approved, but sometimes it is not.
- If there is a fee, the requesting department will be responsible for paying it. Sometimes this is cheap, but sometimes it is expensive. You will have a chance to decline if the fee is more than you want to pay.