College of Business Administration - Open & Free Materials: Econ. & International Business

Principles of Economics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.

This book is intended for a two-semester course in Economics taught out of the social sciences or business school. Principles of Economics aims to teach considerable range and depth of Economic concepts through an approachable style and methodology. The authors take a three-pronged approach to every chapter: The concept is covered with a “Heads Up” to ward off confusion, a real-world application for that concept, and a “You Try It” section to make sure students are staying on top of the concept.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

This textbook will assist you in increasing students' economic literacy both by developing their aptitude for economic thinking and by presenting key insights about economics that every educated individual should know.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-
  SA
• Read instructor reviews.

This textbook is unique among economics textbooks. It contains many of the same topics as mainstream textbooks, but it includes and takes very seriously heterodox critiques and alternatives to the mainstream approach to economics. It includes a whole range of alternative theories, including Post-Keynesian, Austrian, Marxian, radical, feminist, institutionalist, and other approaches. The purpose is to teach students about alternative schools of economic thought but also to deepen their understanding of the dominant, neoclassical approach to economics.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

Principles of Macroeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory economics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.

Recognizing that a course in economics may seem daunting to some students, we have tried to make the writing clear and engaging. Each content section contains not only an exposition of the material at hand but also learning objectives, summaries, examples, and problems. Each chapter is introduced with a story to motivate the material and each chapter ends with a wrap-up and additional problems. Our goal is to encourage active learning by including many examples and many problems of different types.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

This textbook will assist you in increasing students' economic literacy both by developing their aptitude for economic thinking and by presenting key insights about economics that every educated individual should know.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

Presents a complete and concise examination of introductory macroeconomics theory and policy suitable for a first introductory course. Examples are domestic and international in their subject matter and are of the modern era — financial markets, monetary and fiscal policies aimed at inflation and debt control, globalization and the importance of trade flows in economic structure, and concerns about slow growth and the risk of deflation, are included.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

Principles of Microeconomics 2e covers the scope and sequence of most introductory microeconomics courses. The text includes many current examples, which are handled in a politically equitable way. The outcome is a balanced approach to the theory and application of economics concepts.

• Instructor Resources
• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.

This textbook will assist you in increasing students' economic literacy both by developing their aptitude for economic thinking and by presenting key insights about economics that every educated individual should know.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

takes a pluralistic approach to the standard topics of an introductory microeconomics course. The text builds on the chiefly neoclassical material of the OpenStax Principles of Economics text, adding extensive content from heterodox economic thought. Emphasizing the importance of pluralism and critical thinking, the text presents the method and theory of neoclassical economics alongside critiques thereof and heterodox alternatives in both method and theory. This approach is taken from the outset of the text, where contrasting definitions of economics are discussed in the context of the various ways in which neoclassical and heterodox economists study the subject. The same approach–of theory and method, critique, and alternative theory theory and method–is taken in the study of consumption, production, and market exchange, as well as in the applied theory chapters. Historical and contemporary examples are given throughout, and both theory and application are presented with a balanced approach. This textbook will be of interest especially to instructors and students who wish to go beyond the traditional approach to the fundamentals of microeconomic theory, and explore the wider spectrum of economic thought.

• Open License: CC-BY
• Read instructor reviews.

Provides concise yet complete coverage of introductory microeconomic theory, application and policy in a Canadian and global environment. This adaptation employs methods that use equations sparingly and do not utilize calculus.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

Comprehensive microeconomic theory text that uses real world policy questions to motivate and illustrate the material in each chapter. Intermediate Microeconomics is an approachable yet rigorous textbook that covers the entire scope of traditional microeconomic theory and includes two mathematical approaches, allowing instructors to teach the material with or without calculus.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

This book is different from the many other books that attempt to teach microeconomics in three ways: It explicitly applies the recipe of the economic approach in every example. It uses concrete examples via Microsoft Excel in every application, which enables the reader to manipulate live graphs and learn numerical methods of optimization. The majority of the content is in the Excel workbooks which the reader uses to create meaning. You learn by doing, not by reading.

• Open License: CC-BY-SA
• Read instructor reviews.

This text presents numerous models in some detail, not by employing advanced mathematics, but rather by walking students through a detailed description of how a model’s assumptions influence its conclusions. Second, and perhaps more important, students must learn how the models connect with the real world. We do positive economics to help answer the normative questions; for example, what should a country do about its trade policy or its exchange rate policy? The results from models give us insights that help us answer these questions. Thus this text strives to explain why each model is interesting by connecting its results to some aspect of a current policy issue.

• Open License: CC-BY-NC-SA
• Read instructor reviews.