America: History and LifeThis link opens in a new windowU.S. and Canadian history, from prehistory to the present. Local, state, and international journals (mostly English-language). Links out to many full-text articles from other databases.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowJournals in many areas, such as History, African American Studies, Anthropology, etc.
(Also historical pamphlets, 17th-19th centuries, most produced by Britain but pertaining to many countries and peoples. To search these, use Advanced Search and check "Pamphlets.")
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowJournals in many subjects, ranging from the humanities to sciences.
Military and Government CollectionThis link opens in a new windowHundreds of periodicals, academic journals, pamphlets and other content with current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government.
Publications covered in this database include Air Force Comptroller, Army Reserve Magazine, Defense Studies, Global Security Review, JFQ: Joint Force Quarterly, Military Technology, National Review, Combat Edge, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Foreign Affairs, Naval Forces, and many more.
Additional Databases for Secondary Source Articles
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
This issue of History Now explores in depth the fronts on which dedicated civil rights activists and their allies pressed for racial equality fifty years ago. The issue includes essays from eminent historians and an interactive timeline of key moments in the passing of the Civil Rights act (featuring photographs of the activists, organizers, and others who worked to end racial discrimination). Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History
This special issue of Humanities: The Magazine of the National Endowment for the Humanities focuses on the long civil rights movement and includes in-depth features on topics such as civil rights historiography, the Freedom Rides, the Loving v. Virginia case, the African American forced labor system after the Civil War.