Research Guides: U.S. History: Primary Source Collections Online: Home

Purpose

This is a topical list of high-quality U.S. History websites selected by the History Bibliographer.

The focus is on primary source collections from government agencies, universities, museums, libraries, and historical organizations.

To get started, click a topic in the menu on the left, then begin browsing the websites that are listed.

Disclaimers:

The library is not responsible for the content of the selected sites.
No endorsement is given to additional sites which are linked to by selected sites.
It is a student's responsibility to accurately cite online materials used in research.

Useful Tools

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window Provides online access to both the 16th and 15th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style, plus Style Q&A, a quick-guide of Chicago citation examples, and a variety of helpful citing tools.

SHSU Writing Center Handouts
Many handouts on structuring your essays, editing your writing, and citing your sources.

EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Web-based tool for keeping track of all your sources (export them from many databases). Create formatted citations and bibliographies in just a few clicks.
Introduction / instructions for SHSU users.
Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.

3 Tip in 3 Minutes: History Research Video Series
These short video tutorials, created by the SHSU History Librarian, will teach you tricks to become more efficient and effective in your History research.
Careers, Grad Studies, and Opportunities in History
Are you planning graduate work or a career in History? Take a look at this guide for information on grad schools, awards, job listings, and MORE!

Librarian

Kristina Claunch

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Originally Curated By

Erin Owens

she/her/hers

Contact:

936-294-4567
eowens@shsu.edu
NGL 223D
ORCID: 0000-0001-9520-9314

I'm Creative Commons Certified! I can advise on CC licenses to reuse, remix, and publish open resources.

Subjects: OER: Open (or Free) Educational Materials, Scholarly Communication