Research Guides: HIST 4399: East Asian History / HIST 4378: Modern China and Japan: Find Primary Sources: China

Librarian

Kristina Claunch

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Primary Sources in Library Databases

China: Culture and Society (1750-1929) This link opens in a new window Full-color primary materials in pamphlet form (mostly English language), ranging from c. 1750-1929, addressing China and the Chinese. Also includes secondary-source scholarly essays, interactive chronology, and more. Click "more" for details of content.
Full-color pamphlets (mostly English language), ranging from c. 1750-1929, addressing China and the Chinese. Also includes secondary-source scholarly essays, interactive chronology, and more.
Types of primary material include: Addresses and speeches; Annual reports; Assessments; Catalogues; Essays; Examinations; Guides and manuals; Inquiries and studies; Journals; Lecture notes; Letters; Magazine articles; Minutes of meetings; Notes and records.
Major themes include the Chinese diaspora, foreign relations and international conflict, religion and philosophy, opium (trade, consumption, policy), revolution, language, art, leisure, literature, science, trade, and much more.
China, America, and the Pacific - 18th-20th centuries This link opens in a new window Archival material connected to the trading and cultural relationships that emerged between China, America and the Pacific region between the 18th and early 20th centuries. Includes manuscript sources, rare printed texts, visual images, objects and maps.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785 to 2014 This link opens in a new window "World's newspaper of record." Covers all major international historical events. Every page of every issue, from 1785 to 2014.
Nineteenth (19th) Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Primary collection themes are: - Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange - British Politics and Society - British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture - European Literature 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Eighteenth (18th) Century Collections Online (ECCO) This link opens in a new window English-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, 1701-1800, and thousands of important works from the Americas. Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.
Factiva.com This link opens in a new window Newspapers, 1969 to present. Search tips: - Always use Advanced Search. - Change "Date" to "All Dates" or specific date range. - Under "Region," click + beside Asia, then + beside Eastern Asia, then click on the names Greater China and Japan to search those regions. - Some papers may be from Asia; others may be U.S./European.
Access World News This link opens in a new window Search current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
World News Connection Archive, 1995-2013 This link opens in a new window Provides access to unfiltered press dispatches from around the world, methodically translated into English by the US Government, for the entire history of the World News Connection (Nov 1995 Dec 31, 2013)
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1974 This link opens in a new window This historical archive provides 30 years of U.S. intelligence on international affairs, covering regions around the world from Asia, Africa, and Europe to Latin America, the Middle East, and the former Soviet Union. These reports include transcribed and translated radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories--often these are first-hand reports of events as they occurred.
JSTOR 19th Century British Pamphlets This link opens in a new window Primary source collection of pamphlets (mostly 19th century, but with some extension into the 17th and 18th centuries), primarily produced in Britain, but pertaining to many countries and peoples.

Primary Sources in the Library

Twentieth Century China: A History in Documents
Call Number: DS773.89 .S36 2011, 4th floor
Topics include Boxer Rebellion, Sun Yat-sen, communism, war, Mao Zedong, Deng Xianping, and the turn of the century. Includes excellent introduction on how to read/interpret a document.
Zhu Rongji on the Record: The Road to Reform, 1991-1997
Call Number: Read Online
Publication Date: 2013
Encyclopedia of Modern China, Vol. 4: Primary Documents
Call Number: DS755 .E63 2009 vol. 4 (2nd floor)
The fourth volume of this encyclopedia set is a collection of primary source documents, spanning 1839-2001.
East Asia: China, Korea, Japan, 1947-50
Call Number: DS503 .D87 1958, 4th floor
Chinese documents span 1947-1950, including topics in constitution, politics, economics, civil war, communism, People's Republic, foreign relations. Some documents are Chinese in origin, other are from the U.S., so read carefully before selecting a document.
The People's Republic of China, 1949-1979: A Documentary Survey
Call Number: DS777.55.P4243 vol. 1-5, Reference
Many papers related to politics, economics, Soviet relations, and broad coverage of other topics in this period.
Communist China 1955-1959: Policy Documents with Analysis
Call Number: DS777.55.C642 C2, 4th floor
A Chinese View of China
Call Number: DS703.G57 1973, 4th floor
Sections 2 and 3 cover topics such as the Opium War, the Boxer Rebellion, Chinese railways in the early 1900s, Sun Yat-sen, the People's Republic of China, Mao Zedong, and the Cultural Revolution. Chinese sources are occasionally supplemented by a Western source or a 1950s journal article, so read document introductions carefully to select an appropriate document.
Workers and Workplaces in Revolutionary China
Call Number: HD8676.5.W67, 4th floor
The Taiping Rebellion: History and Documents (Vol. 2-3)
Call Number: DS759.M57 vol. 2-3, 4th floor
Volume 1 of this set is largely a historical account, but volumes 2 and 3 contain primary documents about the rebellion, spanning 1850-1864.
A Documentary History of Chinese Communism
Call Number: DS775.B7 1952, 4th floor
Documents on Chinese communism, spanning 1921 to 1949.
The Three Principles of the People [by Sun Yat-sen], with two supplementary chapters by Chiang Kai-shek
Call Number: DS777.A55 1925, 4th floor
Various other collections of Sun Yat-sen's writings are available on the shelf beside this volume.
Secret Diary from Red China
Call Number: DS777.55.L496, 4th floor
General Chiang Kai-shek: The Account of the Fortnight in Sian When the Fate of China Hung in the Balance
Call Number: DS778.C55C45 1937A, 4th floor
Written by General and Madame Chaing Kai-shek
Prisoner of the State: The Secret Journal of Zhao Ziyang
Story of Premier Zhao Ziyang, who tried to stop the Tiananmen Square massacre in 1989, and was dethroned for his efforts.
Tiananmen Square
Call Number: DS779.32 .S56 1989A, 4th floor
Eyewitness account at Tiananmen Square.
Life in a Kam Village in Southwest China, 1930-49
Call Number: DS797.35 .L58 O9 2007, 4th floor
Personal account of life in a Chinese village.
The Undaunted Women of Nanking
Call Number: DS797.56 .N365 V38 2010, 4th floor
Excerpts from a diary of a Chinese woman during the Sino-Japanese War, juxtaposed with excerpts from the diary of a missionary woman in China.

Primary Source Collections Online

Internet East Asian History Sourcebook
Tons of original documents from East Asian history (translated into English!), arranged by country and time period. Be sure to look at source and date carefully to determine whether a document is primary or secondary in relation to your research topic.
E-Asia Digital Library
Collection of digital documents from the University of Oregon. Not all may qualify as primary-source documents on a topic; examine carefully, or ask the History librarian if you are unsure about a document.
Complete Works of Mao
All 5 volumes of Mao's selected works, plus several unofficial later volumes, from Marxist.org.
Mao Zedong (1893-1976): Report on an Investigation of the Peasant Movement in Hunan, March 1927
Block Prints of the Chinese Revolution
(Princeton Univ.)
Tiananmen Square, 1989: The Declassified History
Documents compiled by the National Security Archive at George Washington University
Tiananmen Square, the Government View: "The Truth About the Turmoil in Beijing"
Edited by the Editorial Board of The Truth about the Beijing Turmoil. Beijing Publishing House, 1990.
Chinese Pamphlets from the Early Period of the People's Republic of China (1947-1954)
Mass education materials published in Hong Kong and in Mainland China, particularly Shanghai, in the years 1947-1954. These cartoon books, pamphlets, postcards and magazines, on topics such as foreign threats to Chinese security, Chinese relations with the Soviet Union, industrial and agricultural production, and marriage reform, were produced by both Kuomintang (Nationalist) and Gongchantang (Communist) supporters.(Center for Research Libraries)
Lian Huan Hua Storybooks, 1920s-1970s, Most Published During the Chinese Cultural Revolution
(Univ. of Hawaii Manoa)
Ling long Women's Magazine
Women's magazine published in Shanghai 1931 - 1937. (Columbia Univ.)
XXth Century Journal, Shanghai, 1941-1945
Publication out of Shanghai, financed by the German Foreign Office. Includes speeches and other materials related to WWII, especially the German-Soviet War. (Univ. of Hawaii at Manoa)
Constitution, People's Republic of China, 1982
Richard Nixon - Zhou Enlai Talks, Feb 1972
(George Washington Univ.)

China: Historical Images

China Photographs by John B. Shackford, 1920s - 1930s
(Univ. of Hawaii Manoa)
Bert A. Krawczyk Collection: 1940s Images of India and China
Photos especially document culture and regional clothing. (Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
Chinese Paper Gods: Folk Religion Woodcuts from the 1930s
(Columbia Univ.)
Mary Jo Read Collection: 1935 Images of China, Japan, Korea, & the Philippines
(Univ. of Wisconsin-Milwaukee)
The East Asian Collection
Images that document early 20th century China. Covers topics like Sino-Japanese Conflict, Buddhism, daily life in urban and rural China, and more. (University of Wisconsin)

Mao & The Cultural Revolution: Primary Sources in the Library

The Chinese Cultural Revolution: Selected Documents
Call Number: DS777.55.F33 1968A, 4th floor
Documents span 1937 to 1967.
Mao Zedong and China's Revolutions: A Brief History with Documents
Call Number: DS778 .M3 C47283 2002, 4th floor
Forgotten Voices of Mao's Great Famine, 1958-1962: An Oral History
Call Number: HC430 .F3 Z467 2013 - 4th floor
Chinese Posters: Art from the Great Proletarian Cultural Revolution
Call Number: DS778.7 .C87 2007, 4th floor
Selected Works of Mao Zedong
Call Number: DS778.M3 A52 1967 vol. 1-4, 4th floor
Four volumes of writings by Mao Zedong.
Selected Military Writings of Mao Tse-tung
Call Number: DS778.M3 A515 1963, 4th floor
Mao Tse-tung on Revolution and War
Call Number: DS777.55.M29, 4th floor
More of Mao's own writings.
Mao's Road to Power
Call Number: DS778.M3 A25 1992, 4th floor
More of Mao's writings.