This guide is intended to serve as a starting point for researching topics in East Asian History, especially China and Japan.
To the extent possible, this guide attempts to focus on material in English (including translated primary-source documents). If you find a source listed here that is of very little use to English-speaking users, please report that information to the History Librarian.
This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources on this topic or in related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.
Unless otherwise stated, the books shown below are located in the Reference section on the 2nd floor of the library.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
Berkshire Dictionary of Chinese Biography
Encyclopedia of Modern China
Historical Dictionary of Modern China (1800-1949)
Political Leaders of Modern China: A Biographical Dctionary (19th-20th centuries)
Notable Women of China: Shang Dynasty to the Early Twentieth Century
The New Cultural Atlas of China
Chairman Mao Badges: Symbols and Slogans of the Cultural Revolution
Historical Dictionary of Postwar Japan
Japan: An Illustrated EncyclopediaKodansha Encyclopedia of Japan
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Japan
Dictionary of the Modern Politics of JapanThe National Atlas of JapanAn excellent way to discover resources is to browse for books on the shelf in topical areas.
Books on East Asian history can be found on the 4th floor of the libray in the following areas:
To discover the call number ranges for broader, narrower, or different subjects, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Click the icon in the bottom right corner of the video player to view it in full screen!
Subject headings allow you to find books according to precisely defined topics.
Below are sample subjects. To browse for different, broader, or narrower subjects, go to the library catalog and click "Exact Search." Enter a term and click "subject" to browse a list of subjects.
You can start browsing for a broad subject like China, then look for more specific subjects, such as China History 20th century Communism.
Once you know some subject headings, you can also type them in as keywords during an advanced search, using the subject row.
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System
