Nineteenth (19th) Century Collections OnlineMonographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Primary collection themes are:
- Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
- British Politics and Society
- British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
- European Literature 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Factiva.comFull-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources.
Access World NewsSearch current and archived state, regional, national and international full-text articles on issues, events, business, education, government, politics and more with thousands of newspapers, news journals, news videos, newswires and web-only content. Includes Acceda Noticias, Access Broadcast Transcripts, Access Business News, Access Military, Government & Defense, and Access Newswires.
World News Connection Archive, 1995-2013Provides access to unfiltered press dispatches from around the world, methodically translated into English by the US Government, for the entire history of the World News Connection (Nov 1995 Dec 31, 2013)
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, 1941-1974This historical archive provides 30 years of U.S. intelligence on international affairs, covering regions around the world from Asia, Africa, and Europe to Latin America, the Middle East, and the former Soviet Union. These reports include transcribed and translated radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories--often these are first-hand reports of events as they occurred.
JSTOR 19th Century British PamphletsPrimary source collection of pamphlets (mostly 19th century, but with some extension into the 17th and 18th centuries), primarily produced in Britain, but pertaining to many countries and peoples.
Primary Sources in the Library
The Documents of Iriki, Illustrative of the Development of the Feudal Institutions of Japan
Call Number: DS840.A8 1974, 4th floor
Most of this book is pre-19th century, but Section 155 contains several 19th-century documents about the regime change.
Modern Japan: A History in Documents
Call Number: DS881.9 .H85 2011, 4th floor
Documents span 1853 to the 1970s, covering topics such as nationalism, expansion, war, occupation, and becoming a world power. Includes excellent introduction on how to read/interpret a document.
East Asia: China, Korea, Japan, 1947-50
Call Number: DS503 .D87 1958, 4th floor
Japanese documents span 1945-1950, covering constitutional, political, and economic topics. Some sources are Japanese in origin, but others are U.S., so read and select a document carefully.
Includes some U.S. documents, but also Japanese political and military documents and diary excerpts, Japanese surrender documents, interrogations of Japanese officials, and statements of Japanese officials on WWII.
Hiroshima and Nagasaki: The Physical, Medical, and Social Effects of the Atomic Bombings
Call Number: D767.25.H6H67 1981, 4th floor
Official report of Japanese committee investigating the effects of the atomic bombs. Warning: contains some graphic images.
Hiroshima Diary: The Journal of a Japanese Physician, August 6-September 30, 1945
Tons of original documents from East Asian history (translated into English!), arranged by country and time period. Be sure to look at source and date carefully to determine whether a document is primary or secondary in relation to your research topic.
Collection of digital documents from the University of Oregon. Not all may qualify as primary-source documents on a topic; examine carefully, or ask the History librarian if you are unsure about a document.