Research Guides: Scholarly Authoring &amp; Presenting Guide: How to Write a Scholarly Article

Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

936-294-4567
eowens@shsu.edu
NGL 223D
ORCID: 0000-0001-9520-9314

I'm Creative Commons Certified! I can advise on CC licenses to reuse, remix, and publish open resources.

Subjects: OER: Open (or Free) Educational Materials, Scholarly Communication

Help Writing Articles - Piece by Piece

Tips for Communicating With, [About], and For LGBTQI+ Communities
"When communicating with, about, or for LGBTQI+ (lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer and/or questioning, intersex, and other) communities, it is important to consider the unique needs and barriers these populations encounter."
Writing Respectfully: Person-First and Identity-First Langauge
"Focus on what will create the most respect in your situation and with your audience."

Inclusive Language in Science
The recorded presentation below by the Technical Editor for Style at The BMJ "explored the role of inclusive language in science, including how thoughtful and deliberate choices in wording can help to promote diversity, reduce bias, and ensure that individuals are valued and respected. Relevant challenges in science editing and publishing were discussed and practical tips and resources were provided to help empower participants to have conversations and make decisions about potentially sensitive topics."

Handbook of Research on Scholarly Publishing and Research Methods
Call Number: Read Online
Publication Date: 2014
Examples of chapter topics include:
- Preparing book proposals for scholarly publishers
- Creating a support structure for academic writing
- Dancing with the data: arts-based qualitative research
- Measurement development and validation in research: statistical techniques and illustrations
- Teachers as researchers: participatory and action research
...and many more!
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper (8th ed.)
Call Number: REF T11 .D33 2016 (2nd floor)
Publication Date: 2016
Provides the tools needed to succeed in the communication aspects of a scientific career.
They Say / I Say: The moves that matter in academic writing
Call Number: PE1431 .G73 2010 (4th floor)
Publication Date: 2010 (2nd edition)
Defines academic writing, identifying its key rhetorical moves, the most important of which is to summarize what others have said ("they say") to set up one's own argument ("I say"). The book also provides templates to help students make these key moves in their own writing. Contains chapters specific to both the sciences and the social sciences.

Elsevier Researcher Academy
Online lectures and interactive tutorials on many topics, including how to write great papers, preparing your manuscript, the journal publishing cycle, Impact Factor & other bibliometrics, publishing ethics and peer review, and even how to get your research noticed more often.
How To... Guides (from Emerald Publishing)
Topics such as how to write a lit review, how to proofread, how to write an abstract, and more.
Author Guides (from Taylor & Francis Publishing)
From Preparation (choosing a journal, publishing ethics, etc.) and Submission (checklist, cover letter, etc.) to Review, Production, Publication, and Beyond Publication.

Writing an Effective Abstract: An Audience-Based Approach By Faye Halpern and James Phelan, for Inside Higher Ed, 23 February 2017
Your essential ‘how-to’ guide to writing good abstracts Suggests a checklist, which offers a structured set of suggestions for what an abstract should include, and what should be kept to a small presence.
The not-always-obvious ‘infrastructure’ of journal articles: Abstracts and textual linkages by Dannelle Stevens, on the TAA's Abstract blog, 2 May 2017 - This short but informative piece focuses on the structure of the abstract and the repetition of key constructs across the title, gap and purpose statement.
TooWrite Abstracts
A method and tool for writing abstracts. Sign up for free.

How to Write the Background of Your Study

Infographic from Editage! - 6 Differences between a study background and literature review

table comparing a study background and a literature review according to a series of six questions

Basics of Literature Reviews (Walden Univ.)
Learn How to Write a Review of the Literature From the University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Center
Writing a Literature Review and Using a Synthesis Matrix By the NC State University Writing and Speaking Tutorial Service Tutors, fall 2006.
How To... Write a Literature Review Guide from Emerald Publishing
Hacking the Literature Review: Opportunities and Innovations to Improve the Research Process By Jennifer Lubke, Virginia G. Britt, Trena M. Paulus, and David P. Atkins, in Reference and User Services Quarterly, summer 2017. Details a proposed "paperless literature review workflow" to help manage online research when conducting and writing a literature review.

How to Write the Methods Section of a Research Paper by Dr. Dhriti Bhattacharyya, 18 Sep 2018, for Editage Insights

How to Write the Conclusion of a Research Paper

A lay summary explains your research for a general audience.

In a Nutshell: How to Write a Lay Summary By Christopher Tancock, 30-Nov-2018. Why “translating” your research for a general audience can bring many benefits – and how to do so.

R Pubsure
Pubsure reviews your uploaded manuscript and identifies language issues, reference problems, and more. Although a paid version is available with more bells and whistles, even the free version can be a great tool to help polish a manuscript before submission.
Paperpal
Free AI tool checks grammar and language in academic writing. A plugin for Microsoft Word is also available.