Skip to Main Content
A Few Favorites!
Some of the History Librarian's favorite sites for teaching materials!
DocsTeach (from the National Archives)
Find or create teaching activities! DocsTeach is a project of the National Archives to engage the history classroom with primary documents. (National Archives and Records Administration)
National Archives Teachers' Resources
Lesson plans, activities, professional development resources, state and regional resources, etc. (National Archives and Records Administration)
Teaching a People's History: Teaching Materials
"Based on the lens of history highlighted in Howard Zinn’s best-selling book A People’s History of the United States, the website offers free, downloadable lessons and articles organized by theme, time period, and reading level."(Zinn Education Project)
Reading Like a Historian
Collection of 75 lessons designed to engage students in historical inquiry. Each lesson revolves around a central historical question and features sets of primary documents modified for groups of students with diverse reading skills and abilities. (Stanford History Education Group)
Smithsonian Institute Educator's Page
Find lesson plans, professional development tools, and more. Search by subject, grade level, and national or state standards of learning. (Smithsonian Institute)
History Teaching Materials Online
Best of History Web Sites
Award-winning collection of annotated links to history web sites, lesson plans, teacher guides, activities, games, quizzes, and more.
Includes primary sources, multimedia content, learning modules, lesson plans, and other resources for teachers and students. (Univ. of Houston)
Documenting the American South - Classroom Resources
A teacher's toolkit and list of lesson plans will help teachers find ways to teach with the massive, free primary source collection, Documenting the American South. (Univ. of North Carolina-Chapel Hill)
The Flow of History
Numerous periods and topics in global history presented in flowchart form to assist in teaching. (Chris Butler, AHA-award-winning high school history teacher)
Curriculum materials on various topics, and lots more to come. Also provides new instructional tools: Cause & Effect, Investigate, and Timeline. (U. of California-Davis)
History Now Online Journal
Each thematic issue includes articles and lesson plans. (Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History)
Large collection of links to history-related resources for teachers and students.
Humanities and Social Studies Lesson Plans from EDSITEment!
More than 375 lesson plans in history and social studies. Search by grade level, subtopic, or even whether there is an accompanying worksheet. (National Endowment for the Humanities)
Library of Congress Teacher's Page
Find themed content collections, lesson plans, presentations, activities, and more. Also provides professional development tools for teachers. (Library of Congress)
Social Studies Lesson Plans from TeAchnology
Free lesson plans on U.S. History, World History, Native Americans, and more.
Statistics in Schools
Free geography, history, math and sociology activities and resources to bring census bureau statistics into K-12 classrooms. Activities are created by teachers and correspond to relevant education standards. (U.S. Census Bureau)
"TeachArchives.org is an innovative resource for teachers, administrators, librarians, archivists, and museum educators. It offers sample exercises and informative articles based on a new approach to teaching in the archives." (Brooklyn Historical Society, et al.)
Teaching History with Technology
Tips, strategies, tutorials, and more for History classroom use of technology such as video, Twitter, PowerPoint, blogs, wikis, cell phones, social bookmarking, and many others.
Teaching + Learning
Links to a wide array of online teaching modules and primary source collections, plus tips for teaching students to think critically about history. (Center for History and New Media at George Mason Univ.)
Teaching Resources from The History Education Network
Assessment tools, general instructional resources, primary source collections, articles on teaching, and resources for history teaching assistants (TAs). (The History Education Network, Canada)
Teaching with Maps
(State Univ. of New York's Univ. at Buffalo)
Women's History Teaching Resources
Links to numerous Smithsonian collections of photographs, documents, lesson plans, etc. (Smithsonian Institute)
History Information Competencies
Information Literacy Guidelines and Competencies for Undergraduate History Students
Created by the History Section of the Reference User Services Association (RUSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA)
From the RUSA History Section: "It is our hope that the Guidelines will be used by librarians, archivists, and teaching faculty to guide teaching and learning throughout the undergraduate curriculum."
Resources for History TAs
Texas History Teaching Materials Online
Though many of the general sites on the left will include content on Texas history, the sites below are devoted solely to teaching the history of the Lone Star State.
Site for locating resources to teach Texas Studies. Includes primary sources; lesson plans; audio-visual materials; staff development; and a lot more. Site also provides an e-newsletter (free subscription) to publicize teacher and student opportunities and promote effective instruction.
Teacher Resources from the Texas State Historical Association
Includes tools for teaching with the Handbook of Texas Online, online history quizzes, links to other resources, and lesson plans in Texas history. (Texas State Historical Association)
Teach Texas: Texas Archive of the Moving Image (TAMI)
Over 1,000 streaming videos on topics in the history and culture of Texas. Includes original primary-source video as well as secondary content. Click "Teach Texas" to find coordinated lesson plans, activities, etc.
Teaching with Digital History, Data Mining, & Digital Humanities
DH Box is a tool to help integrate digital humanities into the curriculum. From their homepage: "Setting up an environment for digital humanities computational work can be time-consuming and difficult. DH Box addresses this problem by streamlining installation processes and providing a digital humanities laboratory in the cloud through simple sign-in via a web browser."
The History Engine
From the site: "The History Engine project is first and foremost an undergraduate teaching resource that gives students the opportunity to engage in the process of academic research and share their completed work with their fellow students and researchers from around the country. In this section of the Engine, instructors will find all tools necessary to register to use the site, plan a syllabus, and guide students through the project."
"Introduce Data Mining to Your History Course in 2 Minutes" - by James Smithies
Outlines a learning activity for history students to introduce them to data mining, using https://www.mashape.com/.
"The idea is to present students with a purposefully naive example of data mining, working on the assumption it’ll prompt them to critically engage with data mining as a method."
"There's a (Digital) Outcome for That!" - by Cinthya Ippoliti
From the LITA Blog, 6 Sep 2016. A great post on creating information literacy learning outcomes for digitally inflected assignments. How do you measure student learning in these types of digital projects?
"Critical Data Literacy in the Humanities Classroom" - by Brandon Locke
13 Aug 2018 - "Today I want to specifically focus on the use of data in the humanities classroom—I’ll talk about the 'everyday' uses of data we can map data literacy to, and discuss how we can integrate these data skills into a classroom with limited time for hands-on data work."
salty: Turn Clean Data into Messy Data
"When teaching students how to clean data, it helps to have data that isn’t too clean already. salty is a new package that offers functions for 'salting' clean data with problems often found in datasets in the wild..."