Research Guides: History Teaching: Guide to Resources: Related Guides & Other Useful Tools

Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

936-294-4686

Careers, Grad Studies, and Opportunities in History
Provides current news in the History discipline, and provides resources for those interested in pursuing graduate studies or a career in History. (News, Events, Calls for Papers, Awards, Jobs, Professional Organizations, Graduate Programs, Blogs, Listservs, Podcasts, Mobile Apps, Digital Tools)
Complete list of History research guides at SHSU
Find research suggestions, books, databases, primary source collections, and more for a variety of History topics and classes.

Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window Provides online access to both the 16th and 15th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style, plus Style Q&A, a quick-guide of Chicago citation examples, and a variety of helpful citing tools.

SHSU Writing Center Handouts
Many handouts on structuring your essays, editing your writing, and citing your sources.

EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Web-based tool for keeping track of all your sources (export them from many databases). Create formatted citations and bibliographies in just a few clicks.
Introduction / instructions for SHSU users.
Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.

3 Tip in 3 Minutes: History Research Video Series
These short video tutorials, created by the SHSU History Librarian, will teach you tricks to become more efficient and effective in your History research.
Careers, Grad Studies, and Opportunities in History
Are you planning graduate work or a career in History? Take a look at this guide for information on grad schools, awards, job listings, and MORE!