Research Guides: Physics Research Guide: Getting Started

Librarian

Contact:

936-294-1119
shjohnson@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223K

Ask a Librarian

Physics Research Guide Purpose

The purpose of this guide is to assist in locating information about topics within the discipline of Physics in the Library and on the Internet. This guide is not meant to be comprehensive, it does not list all of the resources in the discipline of Physics owned by the Library or that are available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for researching the resources available. Contact the subject librarian for additional assistance.

Pickering's Triangle in the Veil Nebula (NGC 6974) by Martin Heigan/ Flickr.com CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Citation Management Systems

EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.

EndNote Web SHSU Library Research Guide
Mendeley
Zotero

Other Relevant Guides

Research Help

Call SHSU Reference (936) 294-1614

Text your question to (936) 229-3764

Request materials from another library (Interlibrary Loan)

One to One: Personalized help

Recommend materials for purchase
SHSU users may request the library purchase materials for the collection. (Note* NON-subscription materials only. In general, textbooks will also not be purchased using library funds.) Requests will be reviewed by NGL to determine if item meets the criteria for inclusion in the collection.

Reserve a Study Room

Reserve a Study Room
Reserve a study room for up to four hours a day for SHSU account holders.

Course Instruction Requests

Request library instruction
SHSU instructors may request in person or online library instruction here.

Recommend materials

Library Resource Recommendation Form
SHSU users may request the library purchase materials for the collection. (Note* NON-subscription materials only. In general, textbooks will also not be purchased using library funds.) Requests will be reviewed by to determine if item meets the criteria for inclusion in the collection.

Physics Department Contact Information

Department Website

Department Degree Plans Website

Department of Physics
Farrington Building, 204

Box 2267
Huntsville, Texas 77341
Phone: (936) 294-1601
Fax: (936) 294-1585

Email: amw057@shsu.edu