Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
PBS Video CollectionThis link opens in a new windowHundreds of the greatest documentary films and series from the history of the Public Broadcasting Service (PBS).
Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowThousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
American History in VideoThis link opens in a new windowEarly newsreels and award-winning documentaries covering U.S. history.
World History in VideoThis link opens in a new windowCritically acclaimed documentaries covering human history from the earliest civilizations to the late 20th century. Global in scope, covering Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.
Black Studies in VideoThis link opens in a new windowAward-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States.
March of Time® Video Collection (1935-1967)This link opens in a new windowFrom 1935-1967, American theatergoers and television watchers were witness to Time Inc's unique and controversial film series, The March of Time. Now, for the first time, this groundbreaking series is available in online streaming video in a single, cross- searchable collection.
Meet the Press Video CollectionThis link opens in a new windowSince its television premiere in 1947, Meet the Press has cemented its position as an institution in broadcast journalism. Access thousands of interviews, panels, and debates, over 1,500 hours of footagethe full surviving broadcast run to date.
Presidential Recordings Digital Edition: The Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House TapesThis link opens in a new windowHundreds of hours of presidential audio recordings (and full text transcripts) from the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon administrations. Covers many major issues, from the Kennedy Assassination and the Civil Rights Movement to the Vietnam War, the War on Poverty, and much more. Also includes photo and video galleries and a linked timeline.
Free Online Video & Audio Collections (SHSU login not required)
Britain on Film: BFI National ArchiveArchive of British film and television recordings, as well as related artifacts (posters, images, publicity material, original scripts, letters and more). (BFI)
European Film GatewayHundreds of thousands of film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.
Have Fun with HistoryHistory-based dramas, documentaries, and news programs. Includes early-20th century footage as well as modern film.
National Press Club: Audio Recordings of Presidents, Prime Ministers, and Other National Press Club Luncheon Speakers, 1954-1989Since 1932, the National Press Club has hosted luncheon gatherings that have allowed presidents, visiting world leaders, and other leading personages to address the press and answer questions about pressing current affairs. Now the Library of Congress has made available online talks by some of its most important luncheon speakers, including eight U.S. presidents, six foreign heads of state, and renowned cultural and political icons. Most of these select speeches from the Library’s National Press Club Collection have not been heard in their entirety since they were initially delivered. (Library of Congress)
Teach Texas: Texas Archive of the Moving Image (TAMI)Over 1,000 streaming videos on topics in the history and culture of Texas. Includes original primary-source video as well as secondary content. Click "Teach Texas" to find coordinated lesson plans, activities, etc.
Vincent Voice LibraryThousands of hours of spoken word recordings, dating back to 1888, including the voices of over 100,000 persons from all walks of life. (Michigan State Univ.)
These require an SHSU username and password, unless noted as a YouTube channel.
Associated Press (AP) Newsreels on YouTubeThis digitised archival footage includes AP coverage of political milestones and historical moments spanning more than a century in sport, fashion, science and entertainment. Up-to-date contemporary footage will continually be added.
British Movietone Newsreels on YouTubeBritish Movietone is one of the world’s largest newsreel archives, the first newsreel to include sound and the first to use colour film. Its entire collection is now available on YouTube.
British Pathe Newsreel Archive on YouTubePathé News was a producer of newsreels, cinemagazines, and documentaries from 1910 until 1976 in the United Kingdom. The Pathé News archive is known today as "British Pathé". Its 85,000 news film and movies (over 3,500 hours of history on film) is fully digitized and available online via YouTube.
American Newsreels in Video, 1929-1946This link opens in a new windowUnited Newsreel: 35+ hours of the American weekly newsreel produced by the U.S. Office of War Information from 1942 to 1946, complete with transcripts. Universal Newsreel: 200+ hours of content with full transcripts from Universal Studios biweekly series, 1929 to 1946.
Dutch Newsreels in Video, 1930s-40sThis link opens in a new windowPolygoon Hollands Nieuws and Polygoon Wereldnieuws newsreels, from The Netherlands, 1930s - 1940s. Note: These newsreels may lack English translations or transcriptions.
French Newsreels in Video, 1940-1946This link opens in a new window75 hours of fully translated and transcribed French newsreels spanning the period of the Second World War, from 1940 to 1946.
Japanese Newsreels in Video, 1940-1948This link opens in a new windowBroadcasts from Nippon News, Japans only newsreel during WWII which was driven by close collaboration between the government and the media. 36 hours of original Japanese newsreels from 1940 to 1948 with English transcripts.
World Newsreels Online, 1929-1966This link opens in a new windowFull runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Key collections include: Universal Newsreels, Universal Studios, Les Actualites Francaises, Nippon News and The March of Time.