ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new window
Search the collection descriptions for nearly a million collections of historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. ArchiveGrid does NOT contain the full-text or images of these collections, but it helps researchers identify what material an archive holds and how to contact the archive to request copies or arrange a visit.
Biography Index Past and Present This link opens in a new window
Biography Index Past and Present is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals cover all major subject areas. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to both the 16th and 15th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style, plus Style Q&A, a quick-guide of Chicago citation examples, and a variety of helpful citing tools.
CQ Press Political Reference Suite This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopedia of Political Science, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, and Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History.
Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window
(number of simultaneous users is limited)
An illustrated collection of specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past since the fourth century BC.
Gale Ebooks (*formerly* Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL) This link opens in a new window
Collection of ebooks (primarily reference) in almost all subjects, which are searchable together or individually. For a list of titles currently available, click on "Title List" at top right.
Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window
Nonpartisan, multidisciplinary encyclopedia from the Texas State Historical Association. Addresses almost every aspect of Texas history, geography, and culture.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
New in Spring 2014!Combines the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia in 14 subject areas, including Atlantic History, Medieval Studies, and Military History.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, including meaning, history, usage, and pronunciation of words spanning the last millenium. Also includes the Historical Thesaurus.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Simultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Combined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Source for quantitative facts in American history; statistical tables are also accompanied by source documentation and expert essays to provide historical context. Diverse topics include slavery, migration, health, poverty, crime, and more. Users can customize and download data tables.
International Historical Statistics This link opens in a new window
Statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics. Includes data on the Americas, Europe, Africa, Asia, and Oceania, collected between 1750-2010. Conduct statistical analysis across both time and geopolitical boundaries. Data tables can be downloaded as ePDFs and/or Excel files.
The sources below provide actual sets of raw data, not just aggregated statistics about the data.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files.