Best-Bet Journal Article Databases
Engine Orange This link opens in a new window
Find books, articles, films, and MORE with a single search, from the SHSU library catalog and a large number of selected databases.
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Provides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Journals in many areas, such as History, African American Studies, Anthropology, etc.(Also historical pamphlets, 17th-19th centuries, most produced by Britain but pertaining to many countries and peoples. To search these, use Advanced Search and check "Pamphlets.")
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Combined catalog for tens of thousands of libraries around the world. Books, journals, musical scores, computer data files, magazines, newspapers, computer programs, manuscript/archive collections, sound recordings, films/slides, maps, video.
WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new window
Alternative interface for WorldCat.
Other Journal Article Databases
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series I This link opens in a new window
U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture, all 50 states, circa 1610-2006. Periodical articles, books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more in full text.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
World's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as key science and social science journals.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
Southwestern Historical Quarterly, 1897-2004
First 100 years of the oldest continuously-published scholarly journal in Texas. Searchable Tables of Contents and links to full articles. IF a certain article is not linked, search for it at the Portal to Texas History.
Dissertations & Theses
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window
Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
