Research Guides: HIST 3366: Modern European Military History: Find Books

Librarian

Contact:

936-294-1520
kclaunch@shsu.edu
Library (NGL) Room 223G

Purpose

This guide is meant to point the way towards key resources for beginning your research in topics related to Modern European Military History.

This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources on this topic or in related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Other Reference Books

What are reference books good for? A lot!

Verify facts (with more authority than Wikipedia)!
Browse contextual essays for inspiration in finding a research paper topic.
Read topical entries to increase your background knowledge of a topic.
Read essays, topical entries, and bibliographies to refine your topic into a focused research question.
Quickly access timelines of events, maps, key primary documents, extensive bibliographies (that is, lists of key books and articles on focused topics), and more to supplement your research and help you decide what sources to read next.
When you're reading primary sources, use a historical dictionary to find definitions of or context for slang words or unfamiliar cultural references.

The Encyclopedia of Warfare: From earliest time to the present day
Call Number: Read Online
The Encyclopedia of Warfareis a chronological account of the development of warfare since the beginnings of recorded history. The book is organized in 10 chapters, each of which looks at a particular era in warfare from the ancient world to the present. Each chapter includes color maps of key campaigns, as well as commentary on battles, personalities, troops, and equipment.
An Encyclopedia of Battles: Accounts of Over 1,560 Battles from 1479 B.C. to the Present
Call Number: Read Online
Essential details of every major battle in recorded history from the first battle of Megiddo in 1479 B.C. to Grenada in 1984. Includes a list of battle maps and 99 illustrations.
Warfare and Armed Conflicts: A statistical encyclopedia of casualty and other figures, 1494-2007
Call Number: Read Online
Presents a record of casualties from the last five centuries. Arranged roughly by century and then subdivided by world region, the entries proceed chronologically and vary from paragraph to chapter-length. Each entry provides the name and date of the conflict, precursor events, strategies and details, the outcome and its impact.
International Encyclopedia of Military History
Call Number: REF D25 .A2 I58 2006 volumes 1-2 (2nd floor)
From uniforms and military insignia worn by combatants to the brilliant military leaders and tacticians who commanded them, the campaigns and wars to the weapons and equipment used in them, this international and multi-cultural two-volume set is an accessible resource combining the latest scholarship in the field with a world perspective on military history.
The Encyclopedia of the War of 1812: A political, social, and military history
Call Number: REF E354 .E53 2012 volumes 1-3 (2nd floor)
This work is the most comprehensive reference work on the War of 1812 yet published, offering a multidisciplinary treatment of course, causes, effects, and specific details of the War that provides both quick reference and in-depth analysis. Includes over 150 primary-source documents in a separate volume.
The Encyclopedia of World War I
Call Number: REF D510 .E53 2005 volumes 1-5 (2nd floor)
A-Z entries covering military culture and tactics for all engaged armies in unprecedented depth, describing important events (the sinking of the Lusitania, the Arab revolt), cultural and political figures (Ferdinand Foch, Wilfred Owen), geopolitical agreements (the covenant of the League of Nations), social issues (the role of religions), and much more. Includes a separate primary source volume with 195 official documents, diary entries, and letters from all types of people involved in the war, with introductory information to place the documents in historical context.
The Encyclopedia of World War II: A political, social, and military history
Call Number: REF D740 .E516 2005 volumes 1-5 (2nd floor)
Covers the entire scope of the Second World War from its earliest roots to its continuing impact on global politics and human society. Includes a wealth of primary documents, ranging from official documents to personal correspondence, included in a separate volume.

Browse the Collection

An excellent way to discover additional resources is to browse for books in relevant call number ranges.

D205 - D472 - Modern history, 1453--
- D242 - D283.5 - 1601-1715. 17th century
- D284 - D297 - 1715-1789. 18th century
- D299 - D472 - 1789--
  - D301 - D309 - Period of the French Revolution
  - D501 - D680 - World War I (1914-1918)
  - D731 - D838 - World War II (1939-1945)
DA1 - DA995 - History of Great Britain (many sub-topics; see link below)
DC1 - DC947 - History of France (many sub-topics; see link below)
DD1 - DD901 - History of Germany (many sub-topics; see link below)
Additional areas by country; see link below

To discover the call number ranges for broader, narrower, or different subjects, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline.

Subject Headings

Subject headings allow you to find books according to broader and narrower topics.

Below are sample subjects. To browse for different, broader, or narrower subjects, go to the library catalog and click "Exact Search." Enter a term and click "subject."

You can start browsing for a broad subject like Education, then look for more specific subjects, such as Education England History 18th century.

Once you know some subject headings, you can also just use them as keywords during an advanced search, using the subject row.

HIST 3366: Modern European Military History

Librarian

Purpose

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Other Reference Books

Browse the Collection

Subject Headings

Search the Library Catalog