The purpose of this guide is to help you find information about topics within the discipline of Forensic Science available from the Newton Gresham Library and on the Internet. This guide is not meant to be comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources in the discipline of Forensic Science owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for researching the resources available. Please contact the subject librarians for additional assistance.
Photo Credit: "RCSM Mock Crime Scene" by Dean Calma, IAEA Imagebank/Flickr CC-BY 2.0
ASTM Standards Vol.14.02This link opens in a new windowAccess all 130 standards of Volume 14.02, (130 standards). Annual book of ASTM standards. Section 14, General methods and instrumentation.
v.14.02 Particle and Spray Characterization; Forensic Sciences; Accreditation & Certification; Forensic Psycophysiology; Nanotechnology; Forensic Engineering
Biological Abstracts (part of Web of Science)This link opens in a new windowThe premier database for biology, botany, and related topics world-wide. Provides primarily citations, but does have some linking to full text articles.
General Science Full TextThis link opens in a new windowGeneral Science Full Text is a database that provides the full text of selected periodicals. Coverage includes popular science magazines as well as professional journals in the sciences.
MEDLINEThis link opens in a new windowHuge database of bio-medicine, veterinary medicine, nursing, dentistry, pre-clinical sciences, and other allied health science disciplines. Provides some full text via open access titles.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
Science OnlineThis link opens in a new windowScience magazine (1997-current issue), plus ScienceNOW and additional news, multimedia, and other content.
Request a login; you must use your SHSU email account. You will receive instructions by return email.
SciFinder provides access to databases of chemical abstracts; organic and inorganic substances and biosequences; reactions from journal literature and patents; compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists; international commercial suppliers; references from currently published journals; and patent information from active patent-issuing authorities.
SciFinder was developed for academic institutions by the Chemical Abstract Service and provides access to:
- CAplus, the Chemical Abstracts database back to 1900
- CAS Registry, the database of organic and inorganic substances and bio-sequences
- CASREACT, information on reactions from journal literature and patents
- CHEMLIST, database of compounds developed from state, national and international regulatory lists
- CHEMCATS, lists of international commercial suppliers
References to over 9,500 published journals and patent information from over 50 active patent issuing authorities
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowPsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
This is the lite, free web-based version of EndNote.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.
SHSU users may request the library purchase materials for the collection. (Note* NON-subscription materials only. In general, textbooks will also not be purchased using library funds.) Requests will be reviewed by NGL to determine if item meets the criteria for inclusion in the collection.