Research Guides: Research Data Management Guide: Data Management Plans (DMPs)

Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

936-294-4567
eowens@shsu.edu
NGL 223D
ORCID: 0000-0001-9520-9314

I'm Creative Commons Certified! I can advise on CC licenses to reuse, remix, and publish open resources.

Subjects: OER: Open (or Free) Educational Materials, Scholarly Communication

Data Management Plans (DMPs)

If your research involves data collection, you should have a plan for how you will collect, store, describe, and share your data.

The resources below can help you understand when, why, and how to create a plan for managing and sharing your data.

Reviewing the FAIR principles of research data will also help you in developing a good data management plan.

Data Management General Guidance (from DMPTool)
Ten Simple Rules for Creating a Good Data Management Plan
William K. Michener, PLOS, 2015
Writing a DMP - Step by Step with Examples
An excellent step by step walkthrough from Iowa State University Library
Guide to Social Science Data Preparation and Archiving
Section 3 addresses DMPs
Data Management Plan Self-Assessment Tool
Tool to assist researchers in self-assessing a DMP. By Jake Carlson, Purdue University Research Repository.

Protecting Sensitive Data

Primer for Protecting Sensitive Data in Academic Research
"This primer helps individual researchers, managers of research data services, and organizational leaders understand how and why to integrate data protection activities into their practices through the collaborative endeavor of research data management."

DMPTool

DMPTool is a free tool from University of California to help researchers create, review, and share data management plans that meet requirements from institutions and funding agencies such as NIH, NSF, DOD, DOJ, etc. DMPTool includes templates and guidance.

DMPTool
NOTE: Click "Log in" and choose SHSU from the list to login with your SHSU account.
Quick-Start Guide for Using DMPTool
DMPTool Templates

Data Management Plan (DMP) Requirements by Funder

National Science Foundation (NSF) - Various Directorates and Divisions
National Institute of Health (NIH)
Institute of Education Sciences (Department of Education)
Veterans Administration (VA)
See section 4c in particular
National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH)
Jisc Open Policy Finder (formerly Sherpa Romeo / Sherpa Juliet) "Searchable database of publisher's policies regarding the self- archiving of journal articles on the web and in Open Access repositories. Each entry provides a summary of the publisher's policy, including what version of an article can be deposited, where it can be deposited, and any conditions that are attached to that deposit."
SPARC* - Browse Data Sharing Requirements by Federal Agency

Example Data Management Plans (DMPs)

Public DMPs from DMPTool
Example DMPs from the Digital Curation Centre
ICPSR: DMP Guidance and Natural Science Examples
Data Management Plan Database
Open, searchable database of DMPs (U.S and beyond)
Qualitative DMP Competition Winners