Recognizing there is content cross-over between LSSL and ISDT, feel free to peruse the resources in both columns. Additional resources can be found on the LST Research Guide.
The Information Literacy User's Guide by
Good researchers have a host of tools at their disposal that make navigating today's complex information ecosystem much more manageable. Gaining the knowledge, abilities, and self-reflection necessary to be a good researcher helps not only in academic settings, but is invaluable in any career, and throughout one's life. The Information Literacy User's Guide will start you on this route to success.
The Information Literacy User's Guide is based on two current models in information literacy: The 2011 version of The Seven Pillars Model, developed by the Society of College, National and University Libraries in the United Kingdom and the conception of information literacy as a metaliteracy, a model developed by one of this book's authors in conjunction with Thomas Mackey, Dean of the Center for Distance Learning at SUNY Empire State College. These core foundations ensure that the material will be relevant to today's students.
The Information Literacy User's Guide introduces students to critical concepts of information literacy as defined for the information-infused and technology-rich environment in which they find themselves. This book helps students examine their roles as information creators and sharers and enables them to more effectively deploy related skills. This textbook includes relatable case studies and scenarios, many hands-on exercises, and interactive quizzes.
Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers by
This is an unabashedly practical guide for the student fact-checker. It supplements generic information literacy with the specific web-based techniques that can get you closer to the truth on the web more quickly.
Information Literacy by
This collection brings together scholarship and pedagogy from multiple perspectives and disciplines, offering nuanced and complex perspectives on Information Literacy in the second decade of the twenty-first century. Taking as a starting point the concerns that prompted the Association of Research Libraries (ACRL) to review the Information Literacy Standards for Higher Education and develop the Framework for Information Literacy for Higher Education (2015), the chapters in this collection consider six frameworks that place students in the role of both consumer and producer of information within today's collaborative information environments. Contributors respond directly or indirectly to the work of the ACRL, providing a bridge between past/current knowledge and the future and advancing the notion that faculty, librarians, administrators, and external stakeholders share responsibility and accountability for the teaching, learning, and research of Information Literacy.
Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research by
With this free-of-cost guide, students are better equipped to tackle the challenges of developing research questions, evaluating and choosing the right sources, searching for information, avoiding plagiarism, and much more.
With Choosing and Using Sources, you have: Research help through short videos, easy-to-follow explanations, and self-quizzes, designed to help increase your understanding of the research process; A guide with easy-to-navigate chapters and tips to help you figure out what your instructor may be asking for in a writing assignment or research project; and Time savings and increased confidence to successfully carry out research for your class.
Efficacious Technology Management: A Guide for School Leaders by
This book describes efficacious school technology as that which is used for educationally appropriate purposes, is properly configured to be robust and reliable, and is aligned with local expectations, so it is reasonable. This type of school IT emerges from collaborative planning including educators, IT professionals, and school leaders. This book helps educators understand IT and IT professionals understand education, so their collaboration can be efficient and effective.
Teaching Crowds: Learning and Social Media by
In Teaching Crowds, Jon Dron and Terry Anderson introduce anew model for understanding and exploiting the pedagogical potential ofWeb-based technologies, one that rests on connections -- onnetworks and collectives -- rather than on separations.Recognizing that online learning both demands and affords new models ofteaching and learning, the authors show how learners can engage withsocial media platforms to create an unbounded field of emergentconnections. These connections empower learners, allowing them to drawfrom one another's expertise to formulate and fulfill their owneducational goals. In an increasingly networked world, developing suchskills will, they argue, better prepare students to becomeself-directed, lifelong learners
Teaching in a Digital Age: Guidelines for Designing Teaching and Learning by
The book examines the underlying principles that guide effective teaching in an age when all of us, and in particular the students we are teaching, are using technology. A framework for making decisions about your teaching is provided, while understanding that every subject is different, and every instructor has something unique and special to bring to their teaching. The book enables teachers and instructors to help students develop the knowledge and skills they will need in a digital age: not so much the IT skills, but the thinking and attitudes to learning that will bring them success. Book release date (final version): October 10, 2019. For subsequent updates, see Updates and Revisions in the front matter of the book.
Creating Online Learning Experiences by
This book provides an updated look at issues that comprise the online learning experience creation process. As online learning evolves, the lines and distinctions between various classifications of courses has blurred and often vanished. Classic elements of instructional design remain relevant at the same time that newer concepts of learning experience are growing in importance. However, problematic issues new and old still have to be addressed. This handbook explores many of these topics for new and experienced designers alike, whether creating traditional online courses, open learning experiences, or anything in between.
Organizational Behavior by
The text presents the theory, concepts, and applications with particular emphasis on the impact that individuals and groups can have on organizational performance and culture. An array of recurring features engages students in entrepreneurial thinking, managing change, using tools/technology, and responsible management.
Education for a Digital World: Advice, Guidelines and Effective Practice from Around Globe by
Education for a Digital World contains a comprehensive collection of proven strategies and tools for effective online teaching, based on the principles of learning as a social process. It offers practical, contemporary guidance to support e-learning decision-making, instructional choices, as well as program and course planning, and development. Alt link: http://oasis.col.org/handle/11599/52
Responsible Innovation: Ethics, Safety and Technology by
This textbook is based on the MOOC Responsible Innovation offered by the TU Delft. It provides a framework to reflect on the ethics and risks of new technologies. How can we make sure that innovations do justice to social and ethical values? How can we minimize (unknown) risks?
Problem Solving in Teams and Groups by Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research by
With this free-of-cost guide, students are better equipped to tackle the challenges of developing research questions, evaluating and choosing the right sources, searching for information, avoiding plagiarism, and much more.
With Choosing and Using Sources, you have: Research help through short videos, easy-to-follow explanations, and self-quizzes, designed to help increase your understanding of the research process; A guide with easy-to-navigate chapters and tips to help you figure out what your instructor may be asking for in a writing assignment or research project; and Time savings and increased confidence to successfully carry out research for your class.
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System
