Research Guides: Children's & Juvenile Literature Collection: Collection Content

Collections within the C&JL Collection

The Children's & Juvenile Literature Collection contains titles representing a variety of genre and content or subject areas, represented in the smaller collections within the collection. They include:

Picture Books (LSPB .A... or LSPB 000...)
includes board books & books for emerging readers through 2nd grade
Fiction Books (LS .A... to .Z...)
for readers in grades 2 through 9
Non-Fiction & Informational Books (LS 000 - 999)
Reference Books
in LS 000-999 with "Juv Ref" on the spine & discoverable by searching "Juvenile Reference"
eBooks
use: MackinVia, MAS Complete, other platforms (search using "juvenile literature"), or using the list on the "Collection Development" tab in this guide
Periodicals / Magazines
in Print: Stone Soup, Cricket, & Ebony Jr.
Electronic: use Primary Search, Middle Search Plus, or MAS Complete

Special Collections in CJLC:

Juvenile Award Winners
Award winning books are sprinkled throughout the collection. The easiest way to locate award winners: (a) type the name of the award in the search box or (b) type "Ann Jerabek Memorial Collection" in the catalog (OPAC) search box
Ann Jerabek Memorial Collection
(Information available on this page.)
Languages Other Than English
To support the needs of children, students, and educators in and throughout the SHSU community, we actively curate multilingual titles and popular titles that have been translated into other languages. A title's non-English language is indicated in its call number. Languages include: • Chinese (CHI) • Arabic (ARA) • French (FRE) • German (GER) • Hebrew (HEB) • Hindi (HIN) • Japanese (JAP) • Korean (KOR) • Latin (LAT) • Spanish (SPA) • Tagalog (TAG) • Turkish (TUR) • Urdu (URD) • Vietnamese (VIE) • Yoruba (YOR) • indigenous North American dialects (Tlingit, Caddo, Cree, etc.).
Carolyn Goodwin Honorarium Collection
In recognition of Carolyn's service to the library, highly recommended children's books in math and science were purchased and designated for this collection upon her retirement.

The Ann Jerabek Memorial Collection

Established in 2019, the perpetual Ann J. Collection recognizes the service of a beloved SHSU Librarian, her love of a well written, well illustrated book, and her passion for literacy. The Collection includes diverse award-winning books for children, juveniles, and young adults from 2009 to the most recent award year from fifteen book award lists.

Titles are searchable in the library catalog (OPAC) using the collection name. The collection's books include a memorial book plate which was designed by an SHSU alum and former student employee from Ann's department in the Library. Additionally, all award winners are shelf-browsable with a distinctive spine label. The award lists include:

Jane Addams Children's Book Award Recognizes children’s books of literary and aesthetic excellence that effectively engage children in thinking about peace, social justice, global community, and equity for all people.
Mildred L. Batchelder Award Awarded to a United States publisher for a children’s book considered to be the most outstanding of those books originating in a country other than the United States and in a language other than English and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States during the preceding year.
Pura Belpré Award Presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in an outstanding work of literature for children and youth.
Randolph Caldecott Medal Awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Given annually to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers published in English in the United States during the preceding year.
Coretta Scott King Book Awards Award to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values.
John Newbery Medal Awarded to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.
Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in YA Literature Honors the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.
Schneider Family Book Award Honors an author or illustrator for a book that embodies an artistic expression of the disability experience for child and adolescent audiences.
Robert F. Sibert Informational Book Medal Awarded to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book published in the United States in English during the preceding year.
Sydney Taylor Book Award Presented to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience.
Texas Bluebonnet Award The TBA is selected by Texas children in grades 3-6 who have read a minimum of 5 of 20 candidate titles.
Arab American National Museum Book Award Honoring books written by and about Arab Americans, the program generates greater awareness of Arab American scholarship and writing through an annual award competition and educational outreach.
American Indian Youth Literature Award Books selected to receive the award present Indigenous North American peoples in the fullness of their humanity.
Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature This award recognizes the individual work about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, based on literary and artistic merit

Librarian

Brett Porter

Email Me

Contact:

Newton Gresham Library
NGL 125E

936-294-1624

Subjects: Computer Science