Research Guides: Children's & Juvenile Literature Collection: Collection Development

Collecting High Quality, Diverse Titles

To ensure quality and diversity in the Children's & Juvenile Literature Collection, intentional collection development practices are followed.

Collection development guidelines from AASL, TSLAC and TxLA help ensure the development, balance, and maintenance of the collection for currency and appropriateness.

The collection includes board books, wordless books, pop-up or moveable books, picture books for emerging readers, picture books for older (youth) readers, and children's and juvenile fiction, nonfiction, and reference. Titles that are considered more appropriate for a young adult audience are referred to other areas of the library for collection consideration.

The guidelines above are combined with examination of reviews from at least two recognized review sources, award winner lists, and recommendations from other academic professional or research organizations. These additional sources include, but are not limited to, NCTM, NSTA, ASTE, NCET, CLA, NAAE, and the ALA and TLA recommended reading lists.

Further considerations include our attempt to remain cognizant of the needs of researchers of children's literature, thus the chronological span and depth of content represented in the collection.

General collection development guidelines of the Newton Gresham Library are available for review online, as well.

Other Collections to Peruse

Looking for Read-A-Likes?

NoveList K-8 Plus This link opens in a new window NoveList has been helping readers find their next favorite book for more than 20 years, and continues to develop innovative solutions for connecting readers, books, and libraries. The database contains book details and recommendations for librarians, educators, instructional leaders, and all who support the youngest readers in our community. Included in NoveList K-8 Plus are: 1) Fiction and NonFiction (Informational) titles 2) Unique story elements, including appeal, genre, and theme 3) Read-a-like recommendations by title, author, and series 4) Reading level information, by age (0-8, 9-12, and Teen/YA), AR level, and Lexile level 5) Series information (what it’s about and what book comes next) 6) Resources for educators and parents, including books by topic or unit of study, display ideas, etc. 7) Lists! Recommended…, Top 10…, Best of…, Award Winners, I’m in the mood for…., etc.
NoveList Plus This link opens in a new window NoveList Plus is a database of book recommendations for all library workers who do readers' advisory. NoveList’s unique story elements like appeal, genre, and theme help you understand what about a book your readers love, and help them find more that are their style.