France & Brittany
Bretania is a portal to collections documenting the cultural heritage of Britanny (France). The site is available in French, Breton and English (with some limitations). (Bretagne Culture Diversité)
Centre de Données Socio-Politiques CDSP
CDSP is responsible for archiving and storing social science survey data in France, including results of national and local elections in France since 1958, EU surveys and survey data on political attitudes and regionalisation in France. Website provides free access to a catalog of recent surveys. Most information is offered in French only. (Le Centre national de la recherche scientifique)
France-Angleterre : manuscrits médiévaux entre 700 et 1200 - Medieval Manuscripts of England and France, 700-1200
800 manuscripts preserved in equal parts by the BnF and the British Library. The manuscripts have been selected for their historical significance in terms of relations between France and England during the Middle Ages. (Bibliothèque nationale de France and the British Library)
French Digital Diplomatic Archives
Digital library of documents, books, magazines, images, and maps produced since the Middle Ages, from the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs. Interface in French only.
Gallica bibliotheque numerique (from the BNF)
Search engine to thousands of books, documents, maps, manuscripts, images, sound recordings, and more from the Bibliotheque nationale de France and their partners.
Alternative, English-language start page: http://gallica.bnf.fr/?lang=EN
Institut national de la statistique et des études économiques (INSEE)
website of the French National Institute for Statistics and Economic Studies which is responsible for the production and analysis of official statistics in France. It collects and publishes information on the French economy and society, carrying out the periodic national census. Located in Paris, it is the French branch of Eurostat, European Statistical System. The INSEE was created in 1946 as a successor to the National Statistics Service (SNS) created under Vichy during World War II.
L'Enquête postale de 1848 - Postal Survey 1848
Contains the dataset of the postal survey of 1848.
La Statistique Générale de la France
Includes the following historical statistical datasets relating to France:
Les recensements de 1901 à 1921.
Les mouvements de la population de 1836 à 1925.
L’enseignement primaire et secondaire de 1865 à 1906.
La statistique industrielle de 1861 à 1896.
Les recensements de 1851 à 1921.
Les mouvements de la population de 1800 à 1925.
L’enseignement primaire de 1829 à 1897.
Territoire et population de 1800 à 1890.
L’Enquête agricole (1852) - Agricultural Survey 1852
Datasets and questionnaire of the agricultural survey of 1852.
SNCF Rail Archives
Documents, images, audio, and video recordings detailing French rail and transport history, including locomotives and trains, advertising, urban planning, and more. (Société Nationale des Chemins de Fer Français)
Visitors to Versailles Database
"The purpose of this tool is to draw up a list of the personal accounts of foreign visitors to the domain, palace and court of Versailles...from the reign of Louis XIV to the end of the 19th century... The corpus will bring together a variety of texts: memoires, travel accounts, letters and even diaries, written by authors of diverse social and geographical origins." (Centre de recherche du chateau de Versailles)
For Collections Specific to the French Revolution & Napoleon, See Also the Following Guide: