Skip to main content
This guide is intended to help you begin research on the French Revolution and the Napoleonic era. It may be especially useful in HIST 3339 or other classes that cover this period.
This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources in U.S. History and related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.
Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, & Other Reference Books
The Encyclopedia of the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars: A political, social, and military history
Call Number: REF DC220 .E53 2006, vol. 1-3
Volume 3 contains primary source documents; volumes 1-2 contain topical essays.
A Critical Dictionary of the French Revolution
Call Number: REF DC148 .D5313 1989
English translation of a French work on the Revolution.
Historical Dictionary of the French Revolution (2nd ed.)
Call Number: REF DC147 .H36 2015, 2nd floor
Historical Dictionary of the Napoleonic Era
Call Number: REF DC147 .N34 2002
A military history and atlas of the Napoleonic Wars
Call Number: G1796.S62E8 1964 - 4th floor, Oversized shelves
Napoleon: A Sample of Biographical Works
The Legend of Napoleon
Call Number: DC203 .H39 2005 - 4th floor
Napoleon: A biography
Call Number: DC203 .M49 2002 - 4th floor
Napoleon: A political life
Call Number: DC203 .E64 2004 - 4th floor
Call Number: DC203 .S36 1997 - 4th floor
Napoleon as a General
Call Number: DC203.9 .R55 2007 - 4th floor
Napoleon in Egypt
Call Number: DC225 .S77 2008 - 4th floor
Napoleon: The path to power
Call Number: DC205 .D95 2008 - 4th floor
Browse the Collection
An excellent way to discover additional resources is to browse for books in relevant call number ranges.
Most books about the French Revolution & Napoleon are on the 4th floor:
DC139 to DC249 (France, Revolutionary and Napoleonic Period, 1789-1815).
To discover the call number ranges for broader, narrower, or different subjects, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Subject headings allow you to find books according to broader and narrower topics.
Below are sample subjects. To browse for different, broader, or narrower subjects, go to the library catalog and click "Exact Search." Enter a term and click "subject."
You can start browsing for a broad subject like Education, then look for more specific subjects, such as Education England History 18th century.
Once you know some subject headings, you can also just use them as keywords during an advanced search, using the subject row.
Search the Library Catalog
Video Refresher: Intro to Searching the Catalog
Books from the Main Collection (A Sampling)
The Coming of the Terror in the French Revolution
Call Number: DC183 .T26 2015 (4th floor)
How and why did the French Revolution's lofty ideals of liberty, equality, and fraternity descend into violence and terror? The Coming of the Terror in the French Revolution offers a new interpretation of this turning point in world history.
In These Times: Living in Britain through Napoleon's Wars, 1793-1815
Call Number: DA520 .U45 2015, 4th floor
"We know the thrilling, terrible stories of the battles of the Napoleonic Wars--but what of those left behind? The people on a Norfolk farm, in a Yorkshire mill, a Welsh iron foundry, an Irish village, a London bank, a Scottish mountain? The aristocrats and paupers, old and young, butchers and bakers and candlestick makers--how did the war touch their lives?"
Stuff and Money in the Time of the French Revolution
Call Number: HG978 .S65 2015, 4th floor
"Restores economics, in the broadest sense, to its rightful place at the heart of the Revolution and hence to that of modern politics."
A Concise History of the French Revolution
Call Number: DC149 .N44 2008 - 4th floor
The End of the Old Order: Napoleon and Europe, 1801-1805
Call Number: DC226.3 .K34 2006 - 4th floor
Fatal Purity: Robespierre and the French Revolution
Call Number: DC146 .R6 S38 2006 - 4th floor
The French Revolution, 1789-1804: Authority, liberty, and the search for stability
Call Number: DC148 .A8 2004 - 4th floor
The King's Trial: Louis XVI vs. the French Revolution
Call Number: DC137.08 .J68 2004 - 4th floor
Napoleon's wars: An international history, 1803-1815
Call Number: DC151 .E83 2008 - 4th floor
The Night the Old Regime Ended: August 4, 1789, and the French Revolution
Call Number: DC168.0804 .F57 2003 - 4th floor
Traumatic Politics: The deputies and the king in the early French Revolution
Call Number: DC165 .S53 2009 - 4th floor
The Wars Against Napoleon: Debunking the myth of the Napoleonic Wars
Call Number: DC202.7 .F7312 2008 - 4th floor
Wondrous Beauty: The life and adventures of Elizabeth Patterson Bonaparte
Call Number: DC216.95 .B629 B47 2014, 4th floor
The remarkable life of Elizabeth Patterson Bonaparte, renowned as the most beautiful woman of nineteenth-century Baltimore, whose marriage in 1803 to Jérôme Bonaparte, the youngest brother of Napoleon Bonaparte, became inextricably bound to the diplomatic and political histories of the United States, France, and England.