Provides a thorough and engaging reference on all aspects of this field, from the theoretical dimensions of teaching online to the technological aspects of implementing online courses--with a central focus on the effective education of students. Key topics explored through nearly 400 entries.
A volume of scholarly definitions and short discussions of approximately 180 key terms of the field. Each 200-500 word entry includes the salient attributes of the term, any alternative views and interpretations of the term, and future trends. Definition discussions are supported with relevant literature from educational communications and technology and related fields.
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents
Sponsored by the American Educational Research Association, this encyclopaedia provides a critical synthesis and interpretation of reported educational research on various issues from pre-school to post-secondary education for 50 years.
A sampling of dictionaries, from the library collection, that may be of use.
educational technology; instructional technology; computer-assisted instruction; instructional systems; web-based instruction; human-computer interaction; information technology management; information resources management
This dictionary offers succinct, clear, expert explanations of key terms from both method and methodology in social research. Covers the whole range of qualitative, quantitative, and other methods, and it ranges from practical techniques like correlation up to methodological approaches such as ethnography. This wide-ranging approach enables it to cover terms needed by every social science discipline along with business and management, education, health, and other areas that encompass social research within their remit.
This UK-focused Dictionary of Education provides clear and concise definitions for over 1,100 terms, from A* to zero tolerance, that anyone studying education or working in the field is likely to encounter. Coverage includes all sectors of education: pre-school, primary, secondary, further and higher education, special needs, adult and continuing education, and work-based learning. Includes a useful, fully cross-referenced section of comparative terms used in the US, Canada, Australia, and South Africa.
This book defines over 3,000 terms from the field of education to assist those charged with teaching students to become global citizens in a rapidly changing, technological society. * 3,050 A-Z entries, including over 400 new and revised definitions * 128 contributors from a variety of specialized areas related to education * An extensive, updated bibliography of sources that identify and explain terms used within education
EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary)Huge collection of e-books in all subject areas. Books may be read online or downloaded (temporarily) to certain devices. Titles can be found in the library catalog or searched within EBSCO. Create a free, personal MyEBSCOhost account to save bookmarks, notes, highlighting, etc.
Ebook Central (formerly EBL)Huge collection of e-books in all subject areas. Books may be read online or downloaded (temporarily) to certain devices. Titles can be found in the library catalog or searched within Ebook Central.