Education in Video (Volumes I-II)This link opens in a new windowProvides resources for both new and experienced teachers to increase their knowledge and skills and for education faculty to link abstract theories of education to real-world students and classrooms, including emphases on education, emerging teaching approaches, special needs, English as a second language, and the US Common Core standards.
NBC Learn K-12This link opens in a new windowPlease note: The video download feature cannot be used on campus computers.
NBC Learn K-12 offers unique collections of video resources, primary sources, historic footage, images, mini-documentaries and text resources designed for use in the K-12 classroom. Includes the ability to search by Texas TEKS standards.
NBC Learn Higher EdThis link opens in a new windowPlease note: The video download feature cannot be used on campus computers.
Large collection of educational streaming videos in many subject areas, including Agriscience, Criminal Justice, Education, Finance, Forensic Science, History, Journalism, Technology, and many more.
ALL videos include closed-captioning and text transcripts; click the CC button found on the right side of the video play controls, or click "Transcript" along the right edge of the video player. Details on NBC Learn Section 508 accessibility.
Searching for Articles
*Note - The NGL website and Education Research Guide have been updated since this video's filming, but the process and links remain the same.
Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowInternational array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)This link opens in a new windowCovers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993.
NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowPsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials DirectoryThis link opens in a new windowUlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Dissertations and Theses Full TextThis link opens in a new windowDissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.