Access language lessons, pronunciation guides, an accent library, sample phone conversations, cultural orientation modules, online proficiency tests, and MUCH more for a wide array of countries and languages. Most content is publicly available, but is designed for military personnel, so some content may focus on military situations. (Defense Language Institute Foreign Language Center)
Free, "gamified" language lessons.
From their homepage: "Learning with Duolingo is fun and addictive. Earn points for correct answers, race against the clock, and level up. Our bite-sized lessons are effective, and we have a study to prove it."
Acceda NoticiasThis link opens in a new windowSpanish-language news from across the U.S. and Latin America. Current and archived newspapers and other news sources. Part of the larger database, Access World News.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series II: Leaders, Writers, and ThinkersThis link opens in a new windowProvided by the Department of Foreign Languages. Focuses on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains hundreds of rare books, over 3,000 newspaper issues (including rare anarchist newspapers), and over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscripts. Content is mostly Spanish, some English.
Factiva.comThis link opens in a new windowFull-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources.
Fuente Academica PremierThis link opens in a new windowSpanish-language scholarly journals from Latin American and Spanish publishers, including a large amount of full-text PDFs.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980This link opens in a new windowHundreds of Hispanic American newspapers, including both Spanish-language papers and papers published bilingually in Spanish and English. Largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
MedicLatinaThis link opens in a new windowArticles from peer-reviewed Spanish-language medical journals published in Latin America.
Salud en EspanolThis link opens in a new windowTopic-specific evidence-based reports and fact sheets in Spanish, covering all aspects of health and wellness overviews on diseases, conditions, procedures and various treatments.
Periodicals Archive OnlineThis link opens in a new windowJournal articles, 1802-2000, international and in many subject areas. Journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.
Texas Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowTexas history, diversity, gender studies, literature, public health, business, etc. Books, journals, biographies of famous historical and contemporary Texans. Spanish-language newspaper El Sol de Texas, with Texas and national news coverage.
Literature Criticism OnlineThis link opens in a new windowCenturies of literary analysis, including scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete OnlineThis link opens in a new windowComplete online access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Provides comprehensive literary biographies of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights, with coverage of lives and careers as well as the critical response to their works.
Literary Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowInformation on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Contains thousands of plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, literary criticism articles/essays, author biographies and interviews, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and much more. Also includes a wide range of leading encyclopedias and other works in literary studies.
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowThousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
NBC Learn Higher EdThis link opens in a new windowPlease note: The video download feature cannot be used on campus computers.
Large collection of educational streaming videos in many subject areas, including Agriscience, Criminal Justice, Education, Finance, Forensic Science, History, Journalism, Technology, and many more.
ALL videos include closed-captioning and text transcripts; click the CC button found on the right side of the video play controls, or click "Transcript" along the right edge of the video player. Details on NBC Learn Section 508 accessibility.
Reference Databases - Bilingual Dictionaries, Cultural Encyclopedias, etc.
A to Z World CultureThis link opens in a new windowProvides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore.
CountryWatchThis link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
This free public website provides digital access to dictionaries and grammar books in Bengali, Hindi, Panjabi, and other South Asian languages.
Oxford ReferenceThis link opens in a new window(number of simultaneous users is limited)
Combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.
Reference UniverseThis link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
Education SourceThis link opens in a new windowInternational array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse)This link opens in a new windowCovers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowFull-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowProvides full text for thousands of academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multi-cultural journals, along with indexing and abstracts for thousands more.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.