Research Guides: Reference Databases: Reference Databases

Reference Databases

A to Z World Culture This link opens in a new window Provides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore.
Biography Index Past and Present This link opens in a new window Biography Index Past and Present is a bibliographic database that cites biographical material appearing in selected periodicals, current books of individual and collective biography, and incidental biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. Periodicals cover all major subject areas. Biographical subjects indexed range from antiquity to the present and represent all fields and nationalities.
Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window Provides online access to both the 16th and 15th editions of the Chicago Manual of Style, plus Style Q&A, a quick-guide of Chicago citation examples, and a variety of helpful citing tools.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
CQ Press Political Reference Suite This link opens in a new window Includes Encyclopedia of Political Science, Encyclopedia of Religion in America, and Encyclopedia of U.S. Political History.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Credo Reference has access to over 3,400,000 entries, from over 675 reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, etc. Subjects covered include art, biography, history, literature, music, religion, and science and technology
- This link opens in a new window
Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) An illustrated collection of specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past since the fourth century BC.
Britannica Academic Edition / Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window Britannica Academic Edition includes the Encyclopedia Britannica (with tens of thousands of articles and biographies), as well as a world atlas; current and past statistics on the countries of the world; a dictionary, thesaurus, and quotation dictionary from Merriam-Webster; daily headlines from the BBC and New York Times; and more.
Encyclopedia of Popular Music This link opens in a new window Authoritative biographical encyclopedia of rock, pop, and jazz artists covers popular music from 1900 to the present, including folk, blues, world music, rock, heavy metal, techno, reggae, and hip hop. Only a limited number of people may use this database at one time. If you cannot connect, please try again later. Please be sure to logout when you have finished.
EndNote Web This link opens in a new window
Introduction & Instructions; Create an account off-campus with PC.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.
Gale Ebooks (*formerly* Gale Virtual Reference Library - GVRL) This link opens in a new window Collection of ebooks (primarily reference) in almost all subjects, which are searchable together or individually. For a list of titles currently available, click on "Title List" at top right.
- This link opens in a new window
Handbook of Texas Online This link opens in a new window Nonpartisan, multidisciplinary encyclopedia from the Texas State Historical Association. Addresses almost every aspect of Texas history, geography, and culture.
JCR: InCites Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window Tool for evaluating and comparing journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers internationally. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in science, technology, and social sciences.
Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Hottest journals in a field
- Leading journals in a field
- Most published articles in a field
JCR is available annually in two editions, Science and Social Sciences.
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window These authoritative guides combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia in these 14 subject areas: American Literature; Art History; Atlantic History; British and Irish Literature; Childhood Studies; Cinema & Media Studies; Criminology; Education; Medieval Studies; Military History; Music; Psychology; Sociology; Victorian Literature.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through millions of quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Comprehensive music research platform providing combined access to Grove Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and the Oxford Companion to Music.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.
Readers' Guide to Periodicals Literature, 1890-present This link opens in a new window Readers' Guide contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window Simultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.

Texas Historic Sites Atlas Provided by the Texas Historic Commission, the Atlas provides descriptions, photographs, and maps of all Official Texas Historical Markers and National Register of Historic Places properties in Texas, as well as courthouses, museums, and sawmills across the state, nearly 300,000 sites in all.

Statista This link opens in a new window Statistic portals integrated data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets, categorized into 21 market sectors.
UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new window UlrichsWeb is a bibliographic database providing detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.