Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Academic Video Online: PremiumThis link opens in a new windowThousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Literary Criticism
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Modern Language Association (MLA) International BibliographyThis link opens in a new windowProvides over a million citations for items from thousands of journals and series published worldwide; indexes books, essay collections, working papers, proceedings, dissertations, and bibliographies.
Literary Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowInformation on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Contains thousands of plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, literary criticism articles/essays, author biographies and interviews, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and much more. Also includes a wide range of leading encyclopedias and other works in literary studies.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowFull-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."
Humanities SourceThis link opens in a new windowProvides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Gale Literary SourcesThis link opens in a new windowCross-searches multiple literary research collections: Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism Online, Literature Resource Center, Scribners, Something About the Author, and Twaynes.
Gale Literature Resource CenterThis link opens in a new windowGale literature resource center provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline. Covers novelists, poets, essayists, journalists and other writers, with in-depth coverage of the most-studied authors. Includes essays on the history of specific publishing companies.
This link opens in a new window
Gale Literature: LitFinderThis link opens in a new windowGale Literature: LitFinder contains literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 132,000 full-text poems and 670,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches and plays.
This link opens in a new window
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (part of Web of Science)This link opens in a new windowCovers leading arts and humanities journals and selected articles from social science and science journals. Indexes articles, bibliographies, editorials, letters, reviews, and more in arts, humanities, and related social science and science information.
Literary Reference
Poetry & Short Story Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowSelected works of major and minor American and English poets, along with international poetry from each continent (with English translations, when available). Also includes audio, video, interviews, lesson plans, assignments, and much more.
Includes Plays and Speeches; Short Stories and Classic Books; Biographies; Critical Analyses; Contextual Essays and Explications for important works; Essays on Poetic Forms, Terms, Techniques and Movements; Multimedia / Audio & Video of poets reading their works; and interviews from reputable sources. Also offers supplemental teaching and learning guides featuring specific lesson plans and tips for assignments.
Romanticism: Life, Literature, and LandscapeThis link opens in a new windowNotebooks, manuscripts, correspondence, and other primary documents of major writers and artists in the Romanticism movement. Also includes secondary-source scholarly essays, map, chronology, and more.
Access the working notebooks, verse manuscripts, and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey, as well as works by artists as J.M.W. Turner, John Constable, and Benjamin Robert Haydon. Primary documents include verse manuscripts, printed manuscripts, prose manuscripts, printed verse, correspondence, diaries, travel journals, autograph albums, guide books, fine art, and maps. Also includes secondary-source scholarly essays, interactive map, chronology, and more.
Johns Hopkins Online Guide to Literary Theory and CriticismThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive historical survey of the most important figures, schools, and movements in literary theory and criticism, including the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods.
Oxford BibliographiesThis link opens in a new windowThese authoritative guides combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia in these 14 subject areas: American Literature; Art History; Atlantic History; British and Irish Literature; Childhood Studies; Cinema & Media Studies; Criminology; Education; Medieval Studies; Military History; Music; Psychology; Sociology; Victorian Literature.
About Authors
Something About the Author OnlineThis link opens in a new windowSomething About the Author Online examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete OnlineThis link opens in a new windowComplete online access to all volumes of the Dictionary of Literary Biography, the main series, as well as the Dictionary of Literary Biography Documentary Series and the Dictionary of Literary Biography Yearbook Series. Provides comprehensive literary biographies of past and present authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights, with coverage of lives and careers as well as the critical response to their works.
Gale Literature: Twayne's Authors SeriesThis link opens in a new windowGale Literature: Twayne’s Author Series provides in-depth critical introductions to the lives and works of major writers.
This link opens in a new window
Book Reviews
Choice Reviews OnlineThis link opens in a new windowChoice: Current Reviews for Academic Libraries is the premier source for reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each year, Choice publishes thousands of reviews that are timely, authoritative, concise, and easy to use.
This collection includes a wide range of topics from electricity safety and pollution to skin and lung cancers. Some comics use familiar characters such as Mickey Mouse, Spiderman, and Popeye. Comics included in this collection are mostly American and English-language, but do include comics from Israel and Saudi Arabia.
This journal promotes the academic study of comic books, comic strips, and animated cartoons. The articles are peer-reviewed and freely available online.
Historical Newspapers, Periodicals, and Documents
American Periodicals, 1740-1940This link opens in a new windowU.S. periodicals, including special interest, general, children's, women's, literary, and professional. Includes American independence and Civil War articles.
British Periodicals I & IIThis link opens in a new windowBritish periodicals, late 17th to early 20th centuries. History of Britain and its colonies, as well as a British view of events in America and the world.
C19: The Nineteenth Century IndexThis link opens in a new windowCitations for millions of books, official publications, archival collections, and journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Links out to full text when available (including many items in British Periodicals).
Early English Books Online (EEBO)This link opens in a new windowVirtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere, from 1473-1700.
Eighteenth (18th) Century Collections Online (ECCO)This link opens in a new windowEnglish-language and foreign-language titles printed in the United Kingdom, 1701-1800, and thousands of important works from the Americas. Books, pamphlets, broadsides, and ephemera.
Nineteenth (19th) Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowMonographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Primary collection themes are: - Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange - British Politics and Society - British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture - European Literature 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Dictionary of American Regional English (DARE)This link opens in a new windowFocuses on the regional aspects of our language, documenting words, phrases, and pronunciations that vary from one place to another. Widely viewed as the American equivalent of the Oxford English Dictionary.
OmniFile Full Text, Mega EditionThis link opens in a new windowProvides indexing, abstracts, and full text for journals in almost all subject areas.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through millions of quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford ReferenceThis link opens in a new window(number of simultaneous users is limited) Combines quick reference coverage of the full subject spectrum with the rich resources of the Oxford Companions from ready-reference to comprehensive scholarly articles. See the titles in Oxford Reference.
Reference UniverseThis link opens in a new windowSimultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
EndNote Web is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds. EndNote Web is a free version of EndNote.
This link opens in a new window