Skip to Main Content
Print Sources on Japanese American Confinement
Japanese American Incarceration: Primary Source Collections Online
Densho Digital Archive
Includes historic photographs, documents, newspaper articles, letters, and other primary sources documenting Japanese-American immigration and life before, during, and after World War II. Covers early 1900s-1980s, with a strong focus on the World War II incarceration. (Densho non-profit organization)
FDR and Japanese American Internment
Materials from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum, intended to reflect many sides of the issue.
Japanese American Internment Camp Newspapers
More than 4,600 issues of 29 newspaper titles (in English, Japanese, or both) from camps in seven states, dated primarily 1942-1945. (Library of Congress)
The War Relocation Authority & the Incarceration of Japanese-Americans During World War II
This collection focuses on the internment of Japanese-Americans during World War II. The collection includes 62 documents totaling 911 pages covering the years 1942 through 1962. Supporting materials include oral history transcripts and photographs courtesy of the National Archives. (Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum)
U.S., WWII Japanese Americans Incarcerated in Confinement Sites
Courtesy of the Irei Monument Project, a memorial to all persons of Japanese ancestry incarcerated during WWII in confinement sites run by the Department of Justice, U.S. Army, Wartime Civil Control Administration, and the War Relocation Authority. (Ancestry.com)
