Skip to Main Content
Print Sources on the Holocaust
Jewish Responses to Persecution
Call Number: DS134.255 .M38 2010, volumes 1-4 (4th floor)
Presents documentation that describes the manifestations and meanings of Nazi Germany's "final solution" from the Jewish perspective. Includes numerous period photos, documents, and annotations. v. 1. 1933-1938 -- v. 2. 1938-1940 -- v. 3. 1941-1942
War, Pacification, and Mass Murder 1939: The Einsatzgruppen in Poland
Call Number: D804.3 .M374 2014, 4th floor
Traces the role of the Einsatzgruppen of the Security Police and SD, the core group of Himmler's murder units involved in the Final Solution of the Jewish Question, during and immediately after the German campaign in Poland in 1939. In addition to relevant Einsatzgruppen reports, the book includes key documents from other sources, especially eyewitness accounts from victims or onlookers. Supplemented by maps and photographs.
Children During the Holocaust
Call Number: D804.48 .H43 2011, 4th floor
Tells the story of the Holocaust through the eyes, and fates, of its youngest victims. Includes personal letters, diaries, court testimonies, government documents, military reports, speeches, newspapers, photographs, and artwork.
The Diary of Samuel Golfard and the Holocaust in Galicia
Call Number: DS135 .U43 G634 2011, 4th floor
Examines the contents and context of a rare diary written by a Jewish man from Nazi-occupied Poland. Integrates photographs, newspaper articles, documents, and testimonies to create a more complete picture of Golfard's experiences and writings.
Holocaust in Hungary: Evolution of a genocide
Call Number: DS135 .H9 H587 2013 - 4th floor
Documentary account of one of the most brutal and effective killing campaigns in history. Includes extensive reports, testimonies, and other primary sources of these events accompanied by in-depth commentary.
Dachau 29 April, 1945: The Rainbow Liberation Memoirs
Call Number: D805.5.D33 D33 1998 (4th floor)
The most complete eyewitness account ever available of April 29, 1945, when the Rainbow Division, 42nd infantry, were confronted with the horror of the Dachau concentration camp. Weaves together the soldiers' stories, official reports, other documents, and the reminiscences of several Dachau survivors with whom the Division maintained contact for more than half a century.
Holocaust Sources Online
Arolsen Archives [International Center on Nazi Persecution]
"The Arolsen Archives are the world’s most comprehensive archive on National Socialist persecution. The documents were collected to help clarify the fates of the victims of persecution. They contain information on victims of the Holocaust and concentration camp prisoners, on foreign forced laborers and on the survivors who were trying to rebuild their lives as displaced persons."
Charles Cross Collection of Buchenwald Concentration Camp Photographs, 1945
of black and white photographs taken shortly after the liberation of Buchenwald Concentration Camp. Photographs include images of liberated inmates, a memorial dedicated ot those who died at Buchenwald, and displays of the living conditions of the concentration camp." (College of Charleston)
Experiencing History: Holocaust Sources in Context
"A digital primary source tool that enables college and university students and teachers to study contextualized Jewish primary sources on the Holocaust, and create a customized learning experience. The sources featured in Experiencing History—diaries, letters, testimonies, art, still and moving images and other sources produced by Jews in response to the escalating persecution and genocide—have been carefully selected and introduced by Holocaust scholars from a variety of disciplinary backgrounds." (U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum)
International Tracing Service (ITS) Archives
"The archives of the International Tracing Service (ITS) comprise documents on detention in concentration camps and Gestapo prisons as well as on forced labor and displaced persons." Most documents originate from Nazi record-keepers. Only a portion of the archives are digitized as of 2017, but the digital collection will continue to grow. (International Tracing Service / Service International de Recherches / Internationaler Suchdienst)
Holocaust Documents from Footnote.com
Photos, documents, concentration camp registers, personal accounts, and more. Note: Some documents are free, others may require site subscription. (Footnote.com)
Holocaust Photo and Artefact Collections
Collections includes, for example: photos and film of the seige of Warsaw; photos of Nazi leadership at Auschwitz; WWII and Holocaust film footage; oral histories of Holocaust survivors; a model of the Ludz Ghetto in Poland; and graphic photos from concentration camps (viewers be warned on this particular collection). (U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum)
Holocaust Rescue and Relief: Records of the Unitarian Universalist Service Committee
In response to the humanitarian crisis in Prague in 1939, the Universal Unitarian Service Committee (UUSC) was founded to work on establishing food and clothing distribution centers, hospitals, and homes for children. This digital collection includes approximately 257 boxes worth of UUSC material from 1939-1967. (Andover-Harvard Theological Library, and U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum)
Holocaust Survivor's and Victims Database
From site: "The Holocaust Survivors and Victims Database, one of the largest resources of its kind, centralizes information from the Museum’s collections about individual survivors and victims of the Holocaust and Nazi persecution. The database includes millions of personal records from the Museum’s extensive collections of archival and library materials, oral histories, artifacts, photographs, film and videos and other materials that could assist in researching the fates of individuals during the Holocaust." (U.S. Holocaust Memorial Museum)
Holocaust Visual History Archive
Create a free account to access nearly 52,000 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other genocides, collected in 58 countries and in 34 languages. Includes 1,200 English-language testimony videos from Holocaust survivors and witnesses. (SHOAH Foundation, Univ. of Southern California)
Key Documents of German-Jewish History (17th-21st centuries)
Bilingual (German/English) online source edition. Although the collection is not exclusive to WWII, it does contain many relevant documents. (Institute for the History of German Jews [IGdJ])
Thérèse Bonney Photograph Collection
Approximately 2,100 digital images of World War II era France and Germany taken by Thérèse Bonney and digitized from the archive at the Bancroft Library. The negative files targeted for scanning contain Bonney's work chiefly in France and Germany at the end of the war, approximately from 1944 to 1946. Relief efforts, children, war-torn villages (particularly in Alsace), and liberated prisoners from concentration camps feature prominently. (Univ. of California at Berkeley)
Wisconsin Survivors of the Holocaust: Oral Histories
156 hours of audio and 3,400 transcribed pages of interviews conducted 1974-1981 with 22 survivors and 2 American witnesses. Also provides lesson plans and activities. (Wisconsin Historical Society)