It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Research: Business Databases By Name (Alphabetical)
Business Insights: GlobalThis link opens in a new windowBusiness Insights: Global provides company profiles with SWOT analysis, history, and market share; industry profiles and rankings; and articles and case studies from academic journals and magazines.
Business Source CompleteThis link opens in a new windowArticles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, & Journal of Business Communication. Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune. Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.
Cabell's Scholarly AnalyticsThis link opens in a new windowNOTE: Internet Explorer is not supported. The supported browsers are Chrome, Firefox, Microsoft Edge, and Safari.
Provides publication details, including acceptance rates and key metrics, for journals in many disciplines. "Journalytics" list identifies high-quality journals; "Predatory Report" identifies likely predatory journals.
Conference BoardThis link opens in a new windowPublications from the Conference Board, a global, independent research organization. Includes Research Reports on key management and economic topics. Offers Annual Studies on executive compensation and Economic Research on market forecast and economic indicators. Search the Business Management Research collection - please note Economic Datasets are not included in this search.
CountryWatchThis link opens in a new windowUp-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
Economic Literature (EconLit)This link opens in a new window(number of simultaneous users is limited) Includes journal articles, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, book chapters and essays. International in scope. Some articles are available in full-text (click on the "Search For Full Text" link).
Engine OrangeThis link opens in a new windowFind books, articles, films, and MORE with a single search, from the SHSU library catalog and a large number of selected databases.
Emerald InsightThis link opens in a new windowJournal articles covering topics on accounting, management, marketing, international business, organizational management, etc. Good global coverage, especially from the U.K and Western Europe.
EndNote is a Web-based bibliography and database manager that allows users to create their own personal database by importing references from text files or online databases. They can use these references in writing their papers and automatically format the paper and the bibliography in seconds.
Factiva.comThis link opens in a new windowFull-text of leading newspapers, including the Wall Street Journal, as well as numerous other magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts. Offers news and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, especially useful for news from international sources.
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
First ResearchThis link opens in a new windowFirst Research allows users to easily understand the challenges, opportunities, and operations of more than 600 Industry Segments.
JCR: InCites Journal Citation ReportsThis link opens in a new windowTool for evaluating and comparing journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers internationally. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all specialties in science, technology, and social sciences.
Journal Citation Reports can show you the:
- Most frequently cited journals in a field
- Highest impact journals in a field
- Hottest journals in a field
- Leading journals in a field
- Most published articles in a field
JCR is available annually in two editions, Science and Social Sciences.
IBISWorldThis link opens in a new windowReports on hundreds of U.S. industries and market environments, searchable by NAICS and SIC codes. Profiles on major public U.S. companies. Includes Global Industry Reports.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
MarketLine PlusThis link opens in a new windowCompany profiles with detailed information on companies including company overview, key facts, business description, history, major products and services, top competitors and SWOT analysis. Industry profiles with key information on industries by country including market size, competitive landscape, forecast data and market performance.
Mergent OnlineThis link opens in a new window(number of simultaneous users is limited) Extensive profiles on tens of thousands of U.S. and international companies, including financial statements and ratios. Industry Reports by major world regions and country profiles. Most financial data are downloadable to Excel and PDF format. Includes Economics Time Series, providing key U.S. economic data.
Mergent Online - Economics Time SeriesThis link opens in a new windowU.S. economic data collected from primary sources and updated daily. Hundreds of key economic series in daily, weekly, monthly, and quarterly frequencies, up to 10 years.
PrivCoThis link opens in a new windowBusiness and financial data on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies.
ScienceDirectThis link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is the world's largest scientific database. ScienceDirect provides full-text access to journals in various science disciplines. Note: Does not support IE 8 or older versions.
Small Business Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowState-specific resources, supported with demographic data and other local information, on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, how to create business plans, etc. Also includes business videos such as interviews, "lessons learned" features, lectures, and "how-to" videos.
Standard & Poor's (S&P) NetAdvantageThis link opens in a new windowStocks, financials, ratios, and analyst reports for public companies and industries from Standards & Poors. Company profiles, including financial data, top competitors, and extensive stock information. Industry surveys, including trends, key ratios, and how to analyze a given industry. Mutual funds and exchange-traded funds (ETFs) analysis and ranking. Good "Financial Education" section for non-finance majors.
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowStatistic portals integrating data on over 80.000 topics from over 18.000 sources onto a single professional platform. Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets, categorized into 21 market sectors.
Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Available metadata is provided for each statistic, including but not limited to source, release date, number of respondents, and any other relevant details to facilitate verification of all statistical information available on Statista.com.
A to Z World CultureThis link opens in a new windowProvides details on culture, history, geography, business, etc. for 175 countries, including unique sections on Stereotypes, Superstitions, and Folklore.
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowWeb of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Westlaw NEXTThis link opens in a new windowWestlaw provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)This link opens in a new windowData Platform for financial, accounting, banking, economics, and management information, including Compustat (Research Insight), Execucomp, CRSP, and Audit Analytics data.