Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business Research: APA Citation

Librarian

Profile Photo
Lisa Shen
she/her/hers
Contact:
936-294-3587
lshen@shsu.edu
  Rm 223F, Library main floor

Ask a Librarian

 

Library@shsu.edu

TEXT 936-229-3764

CALL 936-294-1614 or
1-866-NGL-INFO (645-4636)

Citing Articles & Websites


Articles

Author, A., Author, B., & Author, C. (Date). Title of article. Title of Journal, Volume# (Issue#), page#. doi: (if available)
 

Offstein, E. H., Morwick, J. M., & Koskinen, L. (2010). Making telework work: Leading people and leveraging technology for competitive advantage. Strategic HR Review, 9(2), 32-37. https:/doi.org/10.1108/14754391011022244


Websites

Author, A. (date). Title of document. https://xxxxxxxxx

 

Chipotle Mexican Grill Inc. (2019). Sustainability: Cultivate a better world. https://www.chipotle.com/about-us/sustainability

 

Chipotle issues new sustainability report. (2019, April 30). PR Newswire. https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/chipotle-issues-new-sustainability-report-and-shares-progress-on-waste-diversion-goal-of-50-by-2020-300840403.html


If no publication date - use (n.d.) for "no date"

If no author - put Title of document/webpage first


Citing Specfic Business Resources


Annual Report / 10K

Wells Fargo. (2020). 2019 annual reporthttps://www.wellsfargo.com/downloads/pdf/invest_relations/wf2019annualreport.pdf


AtoZ World Culture

World Trade Press. (n.d.). Canada: The business experience. AtoZ World Culture database.


Books (whole)

Levitt, S. D., & Dubner, S. J. (2005). Freakonomics: A rogue economist explores the hidden side of everything. William Morrow.


Books (chapter)

Paauwe, J., & Dewe, P. (1995). Organizational structure of multinational corporations: Theories and models. In A.W. Harzing & J. Van Ruysseveldt (Eds.), International human resource management: An integrated approach (pp. 51-74). Sage Publishing. 


Business Insights: Global

Gale Group. (2019). Exxon Mobil Corp.: Company profile. Business Insights: Global database.

Nike Inc.: Financial and strategic analysis review. (2018, November 1). Global Market Direct SWOT Reports. Business Insights: Global database.


CountryWatch

Canada: Cultural etiquette .(2018). Retrieved from CountryWatch database.


D&B Key Business Ratios

Dun and Bradstreet. (2018). SIC 5122: Stationary and office supplies. D&B Key Business Ratios database.


First Research

First Research. (2014, January 12). Industry profile: Candy manufacturing. First Research database.


IBISWorld

Le, T. (2019, May). Colleges & universities in the US. IBISWorld database.


MarketLine Plus

MarketLine. (2012, June 28). Google Inc.: Company profile. MarketLine Plus database.


Mergent Online

Mergent. (2019). Ford Motor Co. company financials: Ratios. Mergent Online database.

 

Mergent. (2018, September). Automotive and parts North America: A company and industry analysis. Mergent Online Database


RMA eStatement Studies

Risk Management Association. (2012). NAICS 923110: Administration of education programs. RMA eStatement Studies database.


Standard & Poor’s (S&P) NetAdvantage

Corridore, J. (2012, June 28). Airlines. Standard & Poor’s Industry Surveys. Standard & Poor’s NetAdvantage database.


YouTube / Videos

Sam Houston State University. (2015, December 16). Santa visits Sam Houston State University [Video file]. https://youtu.be/L-EpbSelcOk


 

In-Text Citation


General (Author, Date)   
e.g. (Levitt & Dubner, 2005)

No author ("First part of title," Date)  
e.g. ("Making telework work," 2010)

"Direct quote" (Author, Date, page #)
e.g. (Levitt & Dubner, 2005, p.73)

Direct Quote w/o page # (Author, Date, paragraph #)
e.g. (Levitt & Dubner, 2005, para. 5)

Ordering Ref Entries

First, order entries alphabetically by their 1st citation element (i.e., author's last name or title of work with no author)

  • Use letter spelling to order numbers, e.g., order "2020" under "T"
  • List single author work before mutli-author work

Then, order ascendingly by publication date (i.e., for entries with the same 1st citation element, order by 2nd element)

  • List no date (n.d.) entries first
  • List from earliest to most recent
  • In-press references are last

Example of ref entry order

Smith, A. (n.d.)...
Smith. A, (2011)....
Smith, A., & Smith, B. (2011)...
Smith, A. (2021)...
Smith, B, (2019)...
Smith, B. (in press)...

More APA Help

Evaluating Sources

Other Citation Styles

 

Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion

Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System