It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Peterloo Massacre & Romanticism - ENGL 4360: Literary Research
This book provides provocative information on poetry written in response to the most revolutionary set of events seen in Britain since the 1640s: 'Peterloo', a peaceful protest that became a massacre; 'Cato Street', a government scripted rebellion; and the 'Queen Caroline Controversy', when the estranged wife of George IV tried to claim her crown.
Poetry of Witness by Carolyn Forché
Call Number: PN6101 .P544 2014
The 300 poems collected here were composed at an extreme of human endurance--while their authors awaited execution, endured imprisonment, fought on the battlefield, or labored on the brink of breakdown or death. All bear witness to historical events and the irresistibility of their impact. Alongside Shakespeare, Milton, and Wordsworth, this volume includes such writers as ...Samuel Bamford, present at the Peterloo Massacre in 1819...
Language Myths and the History of English by Richard J. Watts
Call Number: PE1098 .W38 2011
Language Myths and the History of English aims to deconstruct the myths that are traditionally reproduced as factual accounts of the historical development of English.
Includes: William Hone, Peterloo and the Chartist movement
England in 1819: the politics of literary culture and the case of romantic historicism by James Chandler
Call Number: PR457 .C39 1998
Many of the writers from 1819, argues James Chandler, were acutely aware not only of their writing's place in history, but also of its place as history.
Poetry & Short Story Reference CenterThis link opens in a new windowSelected works of major and minor American and English poets, along with international poetry from each continent (with English translations, when available). Also includes audio, video, interviews, lesson plans, assignments, and much more.
Includes Plays and Speeches; Short Stories and Classic Books; Biographies; Critical Analyses; Contextual Essays and Explications for important works; Essays on Poetic Forms, Terms, Techniques and Movements; Multimedia / Audio & Video of poets reading their works; and interviews from reputable sources. Also offers supplemental teaching and learning guides featuring specific lesson plans and tips for assignments.
Engine OrangeThis link opens in a new windowFind books, articles, films, and MORE with a single search, from the SHSU library catalog and a large number of selected databases.
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowHuge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Humanities SourceThis link opens in a new windowProvides many of the most important academic journals in the humanities. Includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Project MUSEThis link opens in a new windowFull-text journals in many disciplines across the sciences and humanities. SHSU subscribes to "Project Muse Premium."