Historical Research - Peterloo Massacre & Romanticism - ENGL 4360 - Research Guides at Sam Houston State University

Maps of St. Peter's Field / "Peterloo"

Map of St. Peter's Field from the British Library

Historical and Current Maps from the Peterloo Memorial Campaign

Books in the SHSU Library

Peterloo Massacre - Event overview
5-page encyclopedia overview from the St. James Encyclopedia of Labor History Worldwide, the Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL)
Manchester's Military Legacy by Steven Dickens (Contribution by)
Call Number: Read Online
Publication Date: 2017

Eyewitness Accounts

Eyewitness Account of Samuel Bamford
(Peterloo Memorial Campaign)
Additional eyewitness accounts from the Peterloo Massacre
(Spartacus Educational)

Newspaper Accounts and Other Periodicals

The Times Digital Archive, 1785 to 2014 This link opens in a new window "World's newspaper of record." Covers all major international historical events. Every page of every issue, from 1785 to 2014.
British Periodicals I & II This link opens in a new window British periodicals, late 17th to early 20th centuries. History of Britain and its colonies, as well as a British view of events in America and the world.
Nineteenth (19th) Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window Monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other documents in both Western and non-Western languages. Primary collection themes are: - Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange - British Politics and Society - British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture - European Literature 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window Citations for millions of books, official publications, archival collections, and journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Links out to full text when available (including many items in British Periodicals).

Terminology for Searching

Realize that the name "Peterloo Massacre" didn't appear right away and may not have been used consistently until later.
Try searching for just "Peterloo" without including "massacre."
Try searching for "St. Peter's Field" and limit the Date range to a specific number of weeks, months, or years after the event.

Other Resources

Names of People Present at Peterloo 1819
As compiled from several inquest and trial transcripts by Peter Castree, on the Peterloo Massacre Memorial Campaign website
The Peterloo Massacre - Sources from the British Library
Note: The main text on this site is a secondary source, but images of various primary sources are interspersed throughout.

Your History Librarian

Erin Owens

she/her/hers

Contact:

936-294-4567
eowens@shsu.edu
NGL 223D
ORCID: 0000-0001-9520-9314

I'm Creative Commons Certified! I can advise on CC licenses to reuse, remix, and publish open resources.

Subjects: OER: Open (or Free) Educational Materials, Scholarly Communication