The IMC is a unique collection of resources designed to assist pre- and in-service educators as they strive to develop into highly effective teachers and generate positive change for schools.
The Collection is divided into two sub-collections:
For ease in developing solid curriculum development practices, the IMC is co-located with the Children's Literature Collection and a large group study instructional space.
The Instructional Materials Collection (IMC) is designed to support:
Educator certification programs at SHSU are offered through the College of Education, College of Science, Engineering & Technology, College of Arts & Media, College of Humanities & Social Sciences, and College of Health Science. Of the 38 certifications offered, the top initial certification areas in the last 10 years have been in EC-6 Core Subjects, Music (EC-12), Special Education (EC-12), Math (4-8) with ESL, Agriculture, Food & Natural Resources (6-12), and Physical Education (EC-12).
The IMC is located on the 3rd floor of the Newton Gresham Library, on the northeast corner of the main staircase. Included in the space is a 48-seat instructional / group study area, reservable for instruction or other events.
Titles in the collection are arranged according to the Library of Congress Classification System (LCC) to match the organization of the Library's main collection. To ease identification, item call numbers include the prefix "IMC", the main designation for the collection, or "IMC-TB" for the textbook collection.
All items follow the library's regular circulation guidelines - with the exception of the IMC-TB (EC-12 Textbooks), which follow a modified circulation.
Visit the CLC / IMC main page for navigation and parking information.