Research Guides: Spanish Resources: Literature Studies

Librarian

she/her/hers

Contact:

hmenendez@shsu.edu
936-294-3195
NGL 223J (Library)

Working Specifically with Early Spanish American Literature?

If you are specifically researching early Spanish American Literature, we have another research guide that might be helpful!

Early Spanish American Literature Research Guide

Introduction to Spanish Literature

Spanish Literature: A Very Short Introduction
Call Number: Read Online
The Cambridge History of Spanish Literature by David T. Gies (Editor)
Call Number: REF PQ6033 .C36 2004
ISBN: 0521806186
Publication Date: 2005-01-13
Essays cover the full range of Spanish poetry, prose, and theatre from the early Middle Ages to the present day. The classics of the canon of eleven centuries of Spanish literature are covered, from Berceo, Cervantes and Calderón to García Lorca and Martín Gaite, but attention is also paid to lesser known writers and works.

Archive of Hispanic Literature on Tape
Archive of recordings, spanning 73+ years, featuring nearly 200 Latin American and Latino authors reading excerpts from or discussing their works. (Library of Congress)

Where to Find Spanish & Spanish-American Literature & Criticism in the Library

Spanish-language literature and translations into English, as well as criticism, analysis, etc. of Spanish literature, is all located in the same general area, in the call numbers PQ6001 - PQ8929. You can locate more specific topics in the call number ranges below:

PQ6001 - PQ6168 - Spanish Literature: History and Criticism
- PQ6001 - PQ6056 - General
- PQ6056 - Moorish-Spanish Literature
- PQ6058 - PQ6060 - Early, to 1500
- PQ6063 - PQ6073 - Modern
- PQ6075 - PQ6098 - Poetry
- PQ6098.7 - PQ6129 - Drama
- PQ6131 - PQ6153 - Prose
- PQ6168 - Juvenile Literature (General)
PQ6170 - PQ6269 - Collections of Spanish Literature
PQ6271 - PQ6498 - Individual authors and works to 1700
PQ6500 - PQ6576 - Individual authors and works, 1700 - ca. 1868
PQ6600 - PQ6647 - Individual authors and works, 1868-1960
PQ6650 - PQ6676 - Individual authors and works, 1961-2000
PQ6700 - PQ6726 - Individual authors and works, 2001 -
PQ7000 - PQ8929 - Spanish Literature: Provincial, Local, Colonial, etc.
- PQ7081 - PQ8560 - Spanish America
  - PQ7471 - PQ7477 - Central America
  - PQ7551 - PQ8550.436 - South America
Works by and about Mexican-American (Chicano) authors writing in English or mixed English-Spanish will be in American literature, call numbers PS1 - PS3626, including areas such as...
- PS3550 - PS3576 - Individual authors, 1961-2000
- PS3600 - PS3626 - Individual authors, 2001-

Biographical Information on Writers

Dictionary of Literary Biography Online
Notable Latino Writers
Call Number: PS153 .H56 N68 2006 vol. 1-3, Reference
Latin American Women Writers
Call Number: PQ7081.3 .L37 2008, Reference
Twentieth-Century Spanish Fiction Writers
Call Number: PS129 .D5 v.322, Reference
Spanish American Authors of the Twentieth Century
Call Number: PQ7081.3 .F57 1992, Reference
Historical Dictionary of Latin American Literature and Theater
Call Number: PQ7081 .Y68 2011, Reference

Search Literary Criticism and Analysis Online

You can search for and read thousands of journal articles, literary criticism essays, and information about authors and literature in these databases. Off-campus users will be asked to login with their SHSU username and password.

Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Contains thousands of plot summaries, synopses, work overviews, literary criticism articles/essays, author biographies and interviews, literary journals, book reviews, classic and contemporary poems and short stories, classic texts, and much more. Also includes a wide range of leading encyclopedias and other works in literary studies.
Literature Criticism Online This link opens in a new window Centuries of literary analysis, including scholarly and popular commentary from broadsheets, pamphlets, encyclopedias, books and periodicals.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.

SciELO - Open-access Literature and Arts Journals from Spain and Latin America

Find even more databases for literary studies...

Arte Público Press

Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series I This link opens in a new window U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture, all 50 states, circa 1610-2006. Periodical articles, books, pamphlets, broadsides, and more in full text.
Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection Series II: Leaders, Writers, and Thinkers This link opens in a new window Provided by the Department of Foreign Languages. Focuses on the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and the growing presence of women writers from the late 19th and 20th centuries. Contains hundreds of rare books, over 3,000 newspaper issues (including rare anarchist newspapers), and over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscripts. Content is mostly Spanish, some English.

Quick-Search: Find More Books on These Topics

We have a lot more than what's on this page!

TIP: When searching for foreign-language book titles in the library catalog, do not include an article (such as "el") which appears at the beginning of the title.