Research Guides: Theatre / Drama Research Guide: Home

Purpose

This guide should help you start researching in Drama/Theatre/Musical Theatre.

Use the tabs above to find different kinds of sources. For more help, use the chat window on this page to ask questions. You may also contact the Librarian listed in this guide for assistance.

This guide serves as a starting point for research and is not intended to be comprehensive.

Musicals & Scores

Scores, sound recordings, and librettos are located in the Music Listening Room (first floor, room 108). To find out what we have, you can search the catalog for author/title/subject. The call numbers in the MLR where these items are generally located are:

M1500
M1503
M1507
M1508
ML50

More Information

Theatre Databases

Theatre Performance & Design Collection This link opens in a new window
Theatre Performance & Design Collection is a combination of video content types used in theatre education (filmed stage performances, master classes, documentaries, and training material) with previously unpublished production designs, reference texts, and top-of-the-line teaching tools. This database allows users to revisit great performances again and again.
National Theatre Collection This link opens in a new window
Through a collaboration with the U.K.'s National Theatre, the collections offer a range of digital performance resources never previously seen outside of the National Theatre’s archive. National Theatre Collection contains access to high-definition streaming video of world-class productions and unique archival material offering significant insight into theatre and performance studies.
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Fine Arts places millions of articles at the fingertips of serious students of drama, music, art history, and filmmaking.

Playscripts

Playscripts are located on the 3rd floor near the main staircase.

Check them out just like other books (read the FAQs).

Find what we have available in the library catalog: search by play title or playwright (author). That will provide you with the location information. Or select the location "Plays" in the catalog along with entering a keyword, or just select the location itself to browse everything in the playscripts collection.

Theatre Librarian

Rebecca Yantis

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

NGL 223B

936-294-1629

Useful Tools

Citing Sources
Library Tutorials
Copyright & Fair Use
Important information concerning copyright and guidelines for use of materials.
Interlibrary Loan
Borrow items from another library if this library does not own the item you need.