This guide is intended to provide a starting point for researching topics related to the American Revolution.
This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources on this topic or in related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.
Instead of searching Wikipedia, try using Reference Books to find a basic overview and facts about a person, event, or concept. You'll get more accurate, authoritative information. Plus, encyclopedia entries often include citations for other books and articles to help jump-start your research!
The Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War: A political, social, and military history
Encyclopedia of the American Revolution: Library of military history
Encyclopedia of Revolutionary America
Historical Dictionary of the American Revolution
Revolutionary War Almanac
American Revolutionary War Leaders: A biographical dictionary
The Value of a Dollar 1600-1865: Colonial Era to the Civil War
Search a selection of print and electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, and other Reference books.
Find books on the American Revolution located in the Thomason Room Special Collections department.
The Thomason Room is located on the 4th floor of the library. Its hours are 8:00am - 5:00pm, Monday - Friday (or by appointment). All students are welcome to visit the Thomason Room.
You can speak with the staff in the Thomason Room by heading upstairs to see them, or by calling 936-294-1619.
Click the icon in the bottom right corner of the video player to view it in full screen!
An excellent way to discover additional resources is to browse for books in relevant call number ranges. Most books on this topic will be located on the 4th floor in the following call number ranges:
To discover the call number ranges for broader, narrower, or different subjects, consult the Library of Congress Classification Outline.
Subject headings allow you to find books according to broader and narrower topics.
Below are sample subjects. To browse for different, broader, or narrower subjects, go to the library catalog and click "Exact Search." Enter a term and click "subject."
You can start browsing for a broad subject like Education, then look for more specific subjects, such as Education England History 18th century.
Once you know some subject headings, you can also just use them as keywords during an advanced search, using the subject row.
Newton Gresham Library | (936) 294-1614 | (866) NGL-INFO | Ask a Question | Share a Suggestion
Sam Houston State University | Huntsville, Texas 77341 | (936) 294-1111 | (866) BEARKAT
© Copyright Sam Houston State University | All rights reserved. | A Member of The Texas State University System
