Research Guides: Psychology and Counseling Research Guide: Find Articles

Best-Bet Starting Points

Articles

Most comprehensive database:

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window PsycINFO(R) contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports, as well as citations to dissertations, all in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.

More Journal Databases:

Gale OneFile: Psychology This link opens in a new window Gale OneFile: Psychology supports research in all fields of psychology: abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social, and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.
- This link opens in a new window
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window A source for full-text, peer-reviewed articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences, containing all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from numerous journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprints, and allied organizations.

Books & Manuals

APA Books & Handbooks This link opens in a new window Recently published full-text ebooks from APA, as well as a collection of APA handbooks. Please Note: The Library does not have access to all content on the APA PsycNet platform. You may also want to search the library's separate subscriptions to PsycARTICLES and PsycINFO on the EBSCOhost platform.
Psychiatry Online This link opens in a new window
Note: Click "more" below for mobile instruction.
Featuring the DSM-V psychiatric reference manual, The American Journal of Psychiatry, and additional resources from American Psychiatric Publishing, Inc.
Mobile instruction: First access PsychiatryOnline from a desktop/laptop and create a My POL account. Then follow the instructions in this Device Pairing Guide.

Instrument & Test Information

Please note, many popular tests and psychological instruments are not available for free. Some require confirmation of credentials to purchase.

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window (number of simultaneous users is limited) Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI), produced by Behavioral Measurement Database Services, is a comprehensive bibliographic database providing information about behavioral measurement instruments. Information in the database is abstracted from hundreds of leading journals covering health sciences and psychosocial sciences.

More Psychology Journal Databases:

Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print Internacional This link opens in a new window Information about and reviews of English- and Spanish-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (MMY) contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas.
Pruebas Publicadas en Espaol provides extensive information on hundreds of tests published in Spanish.
Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language, providing vital information on each test and pointing to reviews in the MMY.

More Psychology Resources

Counseling and Psychotherapy Transcripts, Client Narratives, and Reference Works This link opens in a new window Thousands of real transcripts of therapy and counseling sessions and first-person narratives illuminating the experience of mental illness and its treatment, as well as reference works to contextualize the primary material. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) This link opens in a new window The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides data resources, data delivery mechanisms, user support and training in quantitative methods. The data is acquired from individual researchers, governmental agencies, polling agencies and international sources. Provides data in SAS, SPSS and Stata data files.
Social Sciences Citation Index (part of Web of Science) This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database indexing social sciences journals in many disciplines, as well as relevant references from scientific and technical periodicals. International in scope. Because the information about each article includes the article's cited reference list (i.e., the bibliography), you can also search for articles that cite a particular author or work. Searching for cited references often locates relevant articles that cannot be found through traditional searching techniques.
Dissertations and Theses Full Text This link opens in a new window Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Master's theses published from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts (does not include SHSU master's theses). Many are available in native or image PDF formats for immediate download.
Dissertations at Sam Houston State University This link opens in a new window Provides full text of dissertations from Sam Houston State University produced from 1978 to present. Does not include SHSU master's theses. Authorized users from SHSU may download copies free.

Free Online Resources

APA Dictionary of Psychology
From the American Psychological Association. Includes more than 25,000 authoritative entries across 90 subfields of psychology.

Streaming Video

Academic Video Online: Premium This link opens in a new window Thousands of hours of streaming video in most disciplines. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Behavioral and Mental Health Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Behavioral and Mental Health Online provides a comprehensive, rich, and diverse collection of video and text for anyone studying or teaching in the area of mental health. Programs in counseling, social work, nursing, psychology and behavioral health will all benefit from the wide variety of content in this collection, which includes clinical mental health demonstrations, actual therapy sessions, compelling documentaries on the human condition, psychotherapy transcripts, as well client narratives and reference works.
Counseling and Therapy in Video (Volumes I-III) This link opens in a new window Hundreds of hours of video for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling. Many videos include interactive text transcripts.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Read Quick-Start: How to Link to a Film, or Films on Demand: A Guide for SHSU Users
Instant access to thousands of educational films, ranging from almost every academic discipline to life-skills content. Select films include closed-captioning and/or interactive text transcripts. Roll over the video player and click ""CC"" button at upper right for captions.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window This platform provides access to various films which SHSU has individually licensed or purchased, as listed on the homepage. Please Note: Searching or browsing may display other films as "available for request," but they are not immediately accessible at SHSU.
NOTE: There is limited support on Internet Explorer, so we recommend using Chrome or Firefox (Safari or Edge if available) to stream videos on Kanopy.
Psychotherapy.net on Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window More than 150 in-depth training videos created by and for psychotherapists. Provides reliable, detailed instructions for serving diverse populations and therapeutic issues and step-by-step instructions for successfully implementing dozens of therapeutic approaches. Key topics include family and group therapy, dynamic psychotherapy, legal and ethical considerations, working with survivors of abuse, PTSD, and more.
Psychotherapy.net Streaming Video This link opens in a new window A selection of streaming videos for psychotherapists.
Video Journal of Counseling and Therapy This link opens in a new window Provides access to the latest research and best practice methods in the fields of counseling, mental health, and psychology through contemporary presentations, lectures, and workshops from renowned counselors, psychologists, and practitioners.

Additional Related Databases

Annual Reviews Science Collection This link opens in a new window Annual Reviews offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical reviews written by leading scientists. Volumes are published each year for focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics, Psychology, Sociology, and others. There will be new password requirements beginning 1/10/17.
Cambridge Core This link opens in a new window
Criminology Collection This link opens in a new window The Criminology Collection includes the full-text of volume one to the present for select journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Articles cover such subjects as Criminal Justice, Juvenile Delinquency, Juvenile Justice, Corrections, Penology, Policing, and Forensic Psychology.
Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window More than 100 million pages of legal history in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. Comprehensive coverage, from inception, of more than 2,000 law and law-related periodicals, as well as many current and historical government documents.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window Simultaneously search articles in over 50,000 specialized subject encyclopedias and scholarly compendia, both print and digital. This resource gives you full access to the library's authoritative collection of introductory content, helping you to save time and obtain a full grounding in your topic.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science provides cover-to-cover indexing in journals from a full range of disciplines, from 1984 to the present. Made up of Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, each index is a true cited reference index, with citation counts and the ability to trace research forward or backward in time. Links are provided when full-text access is available.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window Westlaw provides access to cases from the courts of all 50 states and the federal courts, statutes from all 50 states and federal statutes. Contains full text of American Law Reports and numerous law reviews. This is the best place to start legal research.

Statistics

Find Health Statistics by Topic
Look at this table to determine which links below provide the statistics you need.
National Center for Health Statistics
MedlinePlus
Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System
State Health Facts
County Health Rankings & Roadmaps
City Health Dashboard
Rural Health Information Hub