Research Guides: A Guide to Understanding Primary Sources: Search Tips

Finding Primary Sources in the Library Databases

To search databases for electronic versions of primary documents, go to the History database list and focus on the tab for "Historical Documents."

CAUTION: Some databases contain both primary and secondary source content. Always pay attention to when and by whom a document was written to distinguish primary sources.

Some Major Published Series of Primary Sources

A starting point with a few of the available library resources. Click to view all volumes in the series.

Bedford Series in History and Culture More than 70 volumes give a brief history and related primary documents on diverse topics in U.S. and World History, such as Jefferson vs. Hamilton, the Dred Scott Decision, the Emancipation Proclamation, the First World War, the influenza pandemic of 1918, U.S. environmentalism since 1945, the end of the Cold War, and MUCH more.
Milestone Documents Series
Volumes cover topics such as African American history, world history, American history, and more.
Historic Documents Series (1972-2013)
Documents Decoded Series
Volumes cover topics such as the Great Depression and New Deal and women's rights.
Defining Documents Series Volumes cover topics such as Manifest Destiny (1803-1859); Reconstruction (1865-1877); the emergence of modern America (1874-1917); World War I (1914-1919); the 1920s; the 1930s; the 1950s; Civil Rights; the Vietnam War; and more.
American Eras Primary Sources Series Volumes cover topics such as colonial and revolutionary eras, early nationhood, Civil War and Reconstruction, and the industrial revolution.
Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents Selected documents, from exploration of the Americas through Bush administration--strongest in more recent documents. Arranged in sections by era, with section and document introductions for historical context.

Finding Primary Sources Online

Many universities, government agencies, and historical associations provide digital libraries of primary sources on the Internet. Ask your professor to confirm, but websites like these are usually allowed.

Library of Congress: American Memory Project
George Mason U.: U.S. primary documents
Texas Treasures: Online exhibit of historical artifacts and documents
Virginia Center for Digital History: U.S. history
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (yale.edu).
National Park Service: browse many exhibits at Exhibits and External links

Check out our list of online, primary-source collections in U.S. History and Texas History, or search for more digital collections with Google Advanced Search (see the tutorial video on this page).

If you are researching a certain city, state, or region, look for major digital collections created by that city or state.

Try web searches for a city or state digital library, such as "Illinois digital library" or "Chicago digital library."
Search for the state library and archives commission (for instance, "Texas State Library and Archives") to look for major state-wide digitization initiatives.
Identify major universities in the area (for instance, the University of Houston if you're studying the greater Houston area) and check out those university websites to look for digital collections that might be helpful (tip: start at their library's page and look for phrases like "digital collections"!) .

A Guide to Understanding Primary Sources

Librarian

Finding Primary Sources in the Library Databases

Some Major Published Series of Primary Sources

Finding Primary Sources Online

Episode 3: Finding Primary Source Collections with Google Advanced Search