Research Guides: News & Current Events Research Guide: Library Resources

Ask a Librarian

During normal library hours, research help is available via chat, text, email, or by phone.

https://library.shsu.edu/

Chat: /askalibrarian/

Text/SMS: 936-229-3764

Email: library@shsu.edu

Call: 936-294-1614

Need something the Library doesn't have?
Request it via Interlibrary Loan

Interested in personalized help?
Requests a One to One.

Purpose

This guide is intended to help you begin researching news and current events.

This guide is not comprehensive; it does not list all of the resources on this subject or in related disciplines owned by the Library or available on the Internet. This guide serves merely as a starting point for research.

News Sources

Newsbank / Readex This link opens in a new window The Newsbank portal provides access to a large number of current and historical newspapers, as well as several other collections of historical documents.
Access World News This link opens in a new window Global newspapers, magazines, and broadcast transcripts.
Factiva.com This link opens in a new window News and business information from thousands of sources in many languages, including leading newspapers like the Wall Street Journal, magazines, trade journals, newswires, and television & radio transcripts.
Houston Chronicle Historical and Current, 1901-present This link opens in a new window The Houston Chronicle is the only daily newspaper in the fourth largest city in the United States, and provides local, national and international news, features, sports and opinion for the region.
New York Times Historical, 1851 to 3 years ago This link opens in a new window Every page of every issue of the New York Times, from 1851 until approximately 3 years ago.
New York Times (2008-Recent) - ProQuest Digitized Newspapers This link opens in a new window This digital microfilm collection makes it easier to view specific dates, issues, or pages of the New York Times without requiring a trip to the library or a special microform reader. Articles are provided in PDF format for printing or downloading. Full-page, greyscale images are full-text searchable and offer keyword highlighting. Available issues will be approximately 3 months behind the current date, though sometimes further.
World News Connection Archive, 1995-2013 This link opens in a new window
Provides access to unfiltered press dispatches from around the world, methodically translated into English by the US Government, for the entire history of the World News Connection (Nov 1995 Dec 31, 2013)

Historical Newspapers

Looking for historical newspapers, rather than current events? Check out the Newspaper Databases page.

Current Event Sources

CountryWatch This link opens in a new window Up-to-date news, reviews, and statistics on social, political, cultural, historical, economic, environmental, and demographic intelligence on recognized countries of the world. Includes maps and global guides on emerging international issues.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth reports on controversial or "hot" topics.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (OVIC) This link opens in a new window Pro/con opinion articles and factual articles on controversial topics.
- This link opens in a new window

Reference Books

Facts on File: Weekly World News Digest - D410 .F3, Reference
A weekly digest of world events containing summaries of news reports from U.S. and world newspapers.

CQ Researcher - H35 .E35, Reference (current issues at the Library Service Desk)
In-depth reports with background information, statistics, and viewpoints on "hot" topics.

Reader’s Guide to Periodical Literature - A1 .R34, Reference
An index to articles published in periodicals. Arranged by subject.

News & Current Events Research Guide