Research Guides: MCOM 4366: Social Implications of Media: Finding Articles

Recommended Databases

Engine Orange This link opens in a new window Find books, articles, films, and MORE with a single search, from the SHSU library catalog and a large number of selected databases.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Huge collection of full-text articles in back issues of journals in most subject areas. Review dates and journals included by subject and alphabetically.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Communication & Mass Media Complete provides online access to full-text articles from many communication and mass media journals and indexing and abstracting for hundreds more.
ComAbstracts This link opens in a new window Contains abstracts of articles published in the primary professional literature of the communication(s) field.

Cross-over Databases

SocINDEX This link opens in a new window Comprehensive and high-quality sociology research database containing informative abstracts for "core" journals dating as far back as 1895. Also includes extensive indexing for books/monographs, conference papers, and other non-periodical content sources.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Articles from scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals, including Harvard Business Review, Journal of Management, & Journal of Business Communication. Trade journals and magazines, such as Business Week, The Economist, & Fortune. Datamonitor reports on companies (many with SWOT analysis), industries, and countries. One of the largest business article databases at the Library; most articles are full-text.
ERIC (Educational Resource Information Clearinghouse) This link opens in a new window Covers all areas of education, 1966 to the present, including research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials. Links to many full-text documents since 1993. NOTE: The SHSU Library also owns ERIC on microfiche back to 1963.
Education Source This link opens in a new window International array of English-language journals, monographs, yearbooks and more, covering all levels of educationfrom early childhood to higher educationas well as all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing.

Librarian

Rebecca Yantis

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

NGL 223B

936-294-1629

Welcome!

Welcome MCOM 4366 students!

This guide has been specifically created to assist you in locating scholarly articles for your research paper. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact your librarian, Ashley B. Crane, using the contact information or appointment button in the left-hand column.

Happy Searching!

Search Tutorials

Searching for Articles in Engine Orange

Searching for Articles in Communication & Mass Media Complete

Searching for Articles in JSTOR

Searching for Articles in Google Scholar

Citation Manager(s)

Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh]
A free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research sources.

Prof. Crane's preferred citation manger. Want more info? Send her an email at abc064@shsu.edu
ZoteroBib
A free, open-source tool that helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. Simply find what you’re looking for in another browser tab and copy the page URL to the ZoteroBib search bar or paste or type in an ISBN, DOI, PMID, or arXiv ID.