Skip to Main Content
Selected Reference Resources on Gender in Africa
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Women's Issues Worldwide. by
Call Number: REF HQ1115 .G74 2003, volumes 1-6 (2nd floor)
Volume 6 focuses on the various countries of Sub-Saharan Africa
Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa. by
Call Number: REF HQ1787 .S44 2005 (2nd floor)
"The core of the dictionary is the formal entries on nearly 700 topics, individuals, organizations, events, and publications. The book opens with an essay on African women's history, and includes a chronology of African women's history, a list of acronyms, and a country index to facilitate finding entries on particular topics. There is also a bibliography of nearly 2,000 citations that is organized first into historical periods and then into twenty topical categories including art, education, health, human rights, literature, marriage, slavery, and urbanization."
New Slavery, 2nd ed. by
Call Number: REF HT867 .B37 2004 (2nd floor)
"A shocking account of how slavery continues to afflict millions around the world today-from children in the carpet trade in Asia, to immigrants forced into prostitution in Europe, to domestic workers in the United States and other Western countries."
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women. by
Call Number: Ebook, Read Online - Or print is also available: REF HQ1115 .R69 2000 volumes 1-4 (2nd floor)
"Featuring comprehensive global coverage of women's issues and concerns, from violence and sexuality to feminist theory, the Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women brings the field into the new millennium. In over 900 signed A-Z entries from US and Europe, Asia, the Americas, Oceania, and the Middle East, the women who pioneered the field from its inception collaborate with the new scholars who are shaping the future of women's studies to create the new standard work for anyone who needs information on women-related subjects."
Women in Developing Countries by
Call Number: REF HQ1870.9 .K577 2011 (2nd floor)
"Because of improvements in communication technologies, the West has become increasingly aware of horrific examples of ongoing discrimination and violence against individual women in developing countries. As a result, more attention is being paid to the gender bias and hardship that women in developing countries face in their everyday lives, and the importance of these women in economic development and the alleviation of poverty is starting to be recognized. Women in Developing Countries: A Reference Handbook addresses topics like the status of women in developing countries; their access to education, health care, and the political process; their legal status; the extent to which they are considered property; female genital mutilation and other harmful practices; and other timely issues. This book also provides statistical information, data on selected nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) and other organizations set up to improve the lives and advance the status of women, and sources of further information in print and nonprint media."
Women's History in Global Perspective by
Call Number: HQ1121 .W88585 2004 volumes 1-3 (4th floor)
"The three volumes of Women's History in Global Perspective constitute an invaluable resource for anyone interested in a comprehensive overview on the latest in feminist scholarship.
- Volume 1 addresses the comparative themes that the editors and contributors see as central to understanding women's history around the world.
- Volume 2 is concerned with issues that have shaped the history of women in particular places and during particular eras. It examines women in ancient civilizations; including women in China, Japan, and Korea; women and gender in South and South East Asia; Medieval women; women and gender in Colonial Latin America; and the history of women in the US to 1865.
- Volume 3 also discusses current trends in gender and women's history from a regional perspective. It includes essays on sub-Saharan Africa, the Middle East, early and modern Europe, Russian and the Soviet Union, Latin American, and North America after 1865."